We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find, in a town with not much good accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We had a party of 6, so the three bedroom apartment worked treat. I travel for a living and have never found any accommodation on Townsville that I would stay twice at. Mostly small room places with old worn out fitting. This place was a nice change. It was a few years old, but had room for 6 of us to stay and not fall over each other. The apartment we had, had a view from every room which made the place light, airy and refreshingly enjoyable. It is a hike from the city centre if you are walking, but we found lots of nice places to shop and eat not all that far. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Mariners North Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 293 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2008

Stayed here 2 nights before flying off to the Gold Coast. Drove to townsville from cairns, we decided to take the scenic route through Atherton and arrived way past check in time but the manageress was waiting for us. The reception does not run 24hrs and you need to arrive early evening at least. good base to explore Magnetic island. But townsville on the whole is Boring!

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RyanColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Our original accommodation fell through on arrival and Mariners North was one of the options the hotel suggested to us as having a comparable arrangement available. We viewed a couple of 2 bed apartments before settling on one. The location is towards the southern end of the Strand near Tobruk Baths and a short walk to "the bucket" which is a large and impressive water play area. It's a comfortable level walk up the beautiful Strand to Gregory St - approx 10 - 15 mins (?) and about 20 mins to the fishing pier and basketball court etc. Gregory St is where most of the nearby eating places seem to be located and importantly this includes CBar which is a very nice good value eating spot on Gregory St Headland. I would also consider it walking distance to Reef HQ and that area to the south via the old Strand.
The apartments we looked at both had large airy living areas, laundry and full kitchen. We were very impressed with the design of the one we took as it facilitates cross ventilation so most of the time air con wasn't required in our apartment even in February, if anything it tended to be bit too cool and we would keep one balcony door shut. There were two balconies one on the northern side giving views across the beautful gardens to the islands and up the Strand, the second south towards the old Strand across what is currently a construction site. Each balcony was provided with seating. The northern facing balcony had a table and four comfortable chairs. The southern balcony had two cushioned chairs and a small table between them. Our apartment had 1 main bedroom with queen and ensuite bathroom and access to the southern balcony. . There was a second bathroom and another bedroom with two single beds. Some apartments also have a sofa bed. There was a seprate laundry. 2 TVs and pay TV also provided. All floors were tiled. All this for the very reasonable price of $AUS 185 a night over a four night stay for 4 people.
Some apartments have stair access and others are accessible by elevator our apartment was off the lift lobby as we were travelling with my mum who is mobility impaired. You might need to be specific about access if this is important to you. The stairs were quite steep we felt and even the lower level apartments have one flight of stairs.
The pool is lovely and right on the water. The gardens are also beautifully maintained. Tiny frogs live around the pool. Only about 2 cms long they have an impressively loud croak. If you're swimming at night keep your eyes open for them. We were lucky enough to spot one on the edge of the pool and watched him croaking for quite a while. His little body puffing up to work his very impressive vocal sac. SOOOO cool. There is also a tennis court, however I'm not sure about supply of raquets and so on. Might be worth asking if you want to play while onsite. There is a small bbq area near the pool.
Much of the furniture was new in our apartment, however the main bed's attachment to the bedhead was distressingly wobbly. Not particularly a problem on my own in that room but I don't think I'd have been happy if I was travelling as a couple. There was also a strange faint high pitched whine when someone flushed one of the toilets, but that was fine once we figured out what it was.
On the whole we were extremely happy with this accommodation for the price we thought it was excellent value. We would definitely stay here again.
Sorry I didn't think to photgraph the interior, but I have attached one of the view.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjola94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve and Sandr... S, Manager at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.8 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
454 reviews
0.5 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
781 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
211 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.8 km away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Townsville

Been to Mariners North Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners North Holiday Apartments

Address: 7 Mariners Dr | The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: $194 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners North Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners North Holiday Apartments offer Absolute Ocean Front accommodation in Townsville. Every apartment is fully self-contained , with two full sized bathrooms, a spacious open plan living area and a generous private balcony with stunning ocean views. They come complete with air-conditioning, large modern kitchen, laundry, Austar TV, DVD, security access and secure undercover parking. Venture outside your apartment and enjoy a range of resort style facilities including a saltwater pool, spa and full size tennis court, all set within tranquil tropical gardens. The Strand is right at your door step offering the Waterpark, Childrens Playground, patrolled beaches; BBQ area,Rockpool, Cafes, Restaurants, cycling & walking tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mariners North Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners North Holiday Apartments Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing