We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places to stay in Far North Queensland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Far North Queensland”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Having travelled a lot in FNQ this place is up there with the best. Great location, huge rooms, excellent service and comfy beds - the kids didn't want to leave (having teenagers and 2 bathrooms helped). Good value too given usual prices for 2 bedroom apartments in FNQ.
My one gripe is that the pool needs heating in the winter, but we will definitely go back regardless.
Great place to relax and unwind - our next trip is already planned.

Room Tip: Booked on the net - hopefully all are as good as the 4th floor was to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_Seeker_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
You know how to say all the right things - what a great headline. I tend to agree with your comments, but Iam biased of course. We appreciate your kind remarks about the property.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    60
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
150
57
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were weary and I just wanted it to be good and it was. I had done my homework (tripadvisor) and had a shortlist of 3 properties. I did not book ahead because with small children a 7 day cancellation policy can be costly.

On arrival we were shown 2 rooms, ground floor and 4th floor, and both were very nice. We took the room on the 4th floor but... in the complex that DID NOT have the elevator.
It was clean (and we do look!) and very well appointed. I believe it was possibly a Standard 2br apartment but for $235pn we were very happy with it. The view was spectacular.

Our 2yr old and 4yr old slept well in the bedroom next to ours (not down the hall or downstairs). We did have our car which we used to get to eateries and the local BiLo but we loved the stroll to the Waterpark and along the Strand.

Our apartment had tiled floors, well catered kitchen, large fridge, TV in both lounge and main bedroom, dishwasher, microwave and stove. Balconies off the lounge and main bedroom, washer dryer in the main bathroom (both bathrooms were a good size). The pool and spa were very nice and not overcrowed. There is also a good size BBQ area and tennis court facing the Strand and all in all is a great place to get into holiday mode quickley.

There was some noise midnight on the Saturday night (possibly the wedding party that arrived that day) and they did raise the noise level a bit but thankfully not all night long.

Yes we will stay again on our next trip to Townsville and we are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegionalQLDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
I am glad we were able to satisfy your requirements RegionalQ. We apologise about the noise late at night, but we do have a strict no party policy & we definitely enforce it when we receive a complaint.

We appreciate your comments on the property.

Regards,

Brett Thompson

Owner Operator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The 5th edition of The Lonely Planet book describes Mariners North (MN) as "Very nice, thank you very much. These large self contained apartments have brilliant balconies overlooking Cleveland Bay and big, clean bathrooms. The living areas are generous in space and there's a salt water pool to frolic in". Whilst we agree with this description, MN is much, much more. Our balcony on the 7th floor had sweeping views from left to right of Castle Hill, The Strand, Cleveland Bay and Magnetic Island. By day and night the views are stunning and all from a balcony that was utilised for breakfast, lunch and dinner. From this vantage point we were entertained by a huge variety of human activity (kayaking, outrigger canoeing, swimmers, fishing enthusiasts, sailing etc.) and a rich tapestry of bird life, not to mention 5 sightings of Green Turtles. MN is ideally located within walking distance of Townsville Centre, the restaurant strips of Gregory and Palmer Streets and the Ferry Terminal to Magnetic Island.
Whilst MN is listed as a 4 star property, Proprietors Maree & Brett Thompson and their reception team (Jo & Megan) provide a 5 star plus welcome and hospitality. They are each a source of great local knowledge (eg. the best seafood shop in town), providing tips and advice on tours and independent sightseeing. Nothing is too much trouble for this terrific team who made our vacation such a great stay. There is free internet, undercover parking, access to a local gym and no extra charge for credit cards. Amongst the perfectly manicured lawn, palms and shrubs there is even a herb garden to choose your freshly cut garnish to accompany your meals or when using the outdoor BBQ. As it does not get much better than this, we have booked our holiday at MN for next year !

Room Tip: In our view, the best views are overlooking The Strand. Check for apartments that have been renovate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAL008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
We appreciate the comments & feedback from Val008. We will always endeavour to make our guests' stay a memorable one. We also accept we can't please everyone all the time, but we are confident we offer value for money in a great location with spectacular views of Cleveland Bay & the Islands beyond.

Guy & Val stayed with us for a number of weeks. This was their first vist to Townsvile & they were converted to the hidden aspects of Townsville. We look forward to seeing them again next year.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom ground floor apartment over Christmas 2010.
The apartment was very spacious, with good access to the pool which we used frequently.
While the apartment itself was clean, the bed linen needed replacing. Blankets were stained, which was quite off putting, especially given the daily tarrif paid. Another unhygienic practice is that the doonas do not have an actual cover, but 2 sheets which are meant to somehow cover them top and bottom (they don't and move around when you sleep - yuk!)
The complex is well positioned on the Strand, and in walking distance to the ferry (to Magnetic Island) terminal. You will need a car to access shopping centres and supermarkets.
Our day trip to Magnetic was very hot & humid, and the stinger proof enclosure on Horseshoe Bay (north part of magnetic) was closed. We swam in another bay (Alma) where lifeguards were on duty but there was no safe swimming enclosure, so we took our chances as the humidity was unbearable and we needed to cool off. As it turns out, someone was stung by urikanji in Alma Bay an hour or so after we left the water!
Visiting this part of Queensland is much more pleasant between May - October as you don't have the stinger issue or the humidity.
I would consider staying at Mariners North again if they improved the bed linen issue in the apartments.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Further to Lucia's review, we have taken on board her comments regarding the blankets & bed linen. We triple sheet all our bed linen. This method is common practice for most accommodation properties. The method is for a doona to be placed between 2 sheets which overlays a main sheet covering the matress.

We don't have bedspreads. Triple sheetings is a far greter hygienic method than bedspreads which were soiled regularly.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2011

What a fantastic 5 days we spent here. The 2 bedroom apartment had everything we needed and more! Being on the 8th floor, the view from our balcony was magnificent!!
You couldn't wish for a more centralised location, so we found there was no need for a hire car.
The staff were extremely helpful and we would highly recommend these apartments if you were contemplating a holiday in Townsville.
In the words of Arnie Schwarzengger "We're be back"

Chris & Sylvia Stevenson

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevosylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Stevo was on the money - "Now that's what I call a good View." Yes, you certainly do get a great view at Mariners North. We look forward to welcoming back Stevo.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.8 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.5 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#1 of 2 in North Ward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.8 km away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners North Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners North Holiday Apartments

Property: Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Address: 7 Mariners Dr | The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Townsville
Price range (per night): $224 - $392
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners North Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners North Holiday Apartments offer Absolute Ocean Front accommodation in Townsville. Every apartment is fully self-contained , with two full sized bathrooms, a spacious open plan living area and a generous private balcony with stunning ocean views. They come complete with air-conditioning, large modern kitchen, laundry, Austar TV, DVD, security access and secure undercover parking. Venture outside your apartment and enjoy a range of resort style facilities including a saltwater pool, spa and full size tennis court, all set within tranquil tropical gardens. The Strand is right at your door step offering the Waterpark, Childrens Playground, patrolled beaches; BBQ area,Rockpool, Cafes, Restaurants, cycling & walking tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Mariners North Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners North Holiday Apartments Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing