We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
USD 88*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 124*
USD 97*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 113*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Robert Towns(Townsville)(Great Value!)
USD 70*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 147*
USD 143*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
USD 121*
USD 74*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Madison Plaza Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
USD 95*
USD 85*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Waters Edge The Strand(North Ward)(Great Value!)
USD 91*
USD 86*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Townsville(Townsville)
USD 109*
USD 106*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
239
67
13
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
67
13
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagnetic islandbedroom apartmentbbq areatennis courtscleveland baypool spamain bedroomthese apartmentsflights of stairsyour doorstepthird floorgreat holidayfabulous locationlarge poolfamily holidaythoroughly enjoyed our stayferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were weary and I just wanted it to be good and it was. I had done my homework (tripadvisor) and had a shortlist of 3 properties. I did not book ahead because with small children a 7 day cancellation policy can be costly.

On arrival we were shown 2 rooms, ground floor and 4th floor, and both were very nice. We took the room on the 4th floor but... in the complex that DID NOT have the elevator.
It was clean (and we do look!) and very well appointed. I believe it was possibly a Standard 2br apartment but for $235pn we were very happy with it. The view was spectacular.

Our 2yr old and 4yr old slept well in the bedroom next to ours (not down the hall or downstairs). We did have our car which we used to get to eateries and the local BiLo but we loved the stroll to the Waterpark and along the Strand.

Our apartment had tiled floors, well catered kitchen, large fridge, TV in both lounge and main bedroom, dishwasher, microwave and stove. Balconies off the lounge and main bedroom, washer dryer in the main bathroom (both bathrooms were a good size). The pool and spa were very nice and not overcrowed. There is also a good size BBQ area and tennis court facing the Strand and all in all is a great place to get into holiday mode quickley.

There was some noise midnight on the Saturday night (possibly the wedding party that arrived that day) and they did raise the noise level a bit but thankfully not all night long.

Yes we will stay again on our next trip to Townsville and we are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegionalQLDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

I am glad we were able to satisfy your requirements RegionalQ. We apologise about the noise late at night, but we do have a strict no party policy & we definitely enforce it when we receive a complaint.

We appreciate your comments on the property.

Regards,

Brett Thompson

Owner Operator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The 5th edition of The Lonely Planet book describes Mariners North (MN) as "Very nice, thank you very much. These large self contained apartments have brilliant balconies overlooking Cleveland Bay and big, clean bathrooms. The living areas are generous in space and there's a salt water pool to frolic in". Whilst we agree with this description, MN is much, much more. Our balcony on the 7th floor had sweeping views from left to right of Castle Hill, The Strand, Cleveland Bay and Magnetic Island. By day and night the views are stunning and all from a balcony that was utilised for breakfast, lunch and dinner. From this vantage point we were entertained by a huge variety of human activity (kayaking, outrigger canoeing, swimmers, fishing enthusiasts, sailing etc.) and a rich tapestry of bird life, not to mention 5 sightings of Green Turtles. MN is ideally located within walking distance of Townsville Centre, the restaurant strips of Gregory and Palmer Streets and the Ferry Terminal to Magnetic Island.
Whilst MN is listed as a 4 star property, Proprietors Maree & Brett Thompson and their reception team (Jo & Megan) provide a 5 star plus welcome and hospitality. They are each a source of great local knowledge (eg. the best seafood shop in town), providing tips and advice on tours and independent sightseeing. Nothing is too much trouble for this terrific team who made our vacation such a great stay. There is free internet, undercover parking, access to a local gym and no extra charge for credit cards. Amongst the perfectly manicured lawn, palms and shrubs there is even a herb garden to choose your freshly cut garnish to accompany your meals or when using the outdoor BBQ. As it does not get much better than this, we have booked our holiday at MN for next year !

Room Tip: In our view, the best views are overlooking The Strand. Check for apartments that have been renovated.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAL008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

We appreciate the comments & feedback from Val008. We will always endeavour to make our guests' stay a memorable one. We also accept we can't please everyone all the time, but we are confident we offer value for money in a great location with spectacular views of Cleveland Bay & the Islands beyond.

Guy & Val stayed with us for a number of weeks. This was their first vist to Townsvile & they were converted to the hidden aspects of Townsville. We look forward to seeing them again next year.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom ground floor apartment over Christmas 2010.
The apartment was very spacious, with good access to the pool which we used frequently.
While the apartment itself was clean, the bed linen needed replacing. Blankets were stained, which was quite off putting, especially given the daily tarrif paid. Another unhygienic practice is that the doonas do not have an actual cover, but 2 sheets which are meant to somehow cover them top and bottom (they don't and move around when you sleep - yuk!)
The complex is well positioned on the Strand, and in walking distance to the ferry (to Magnetic Island) terminal. You will need a car to access shopping centres and supermarkets.
Our day trip to Magnetic was very hot & humid, and the stinger proof enclosure on Horseshoe Bay (north part of magnetic) was closed. We swam in another bay (Alma) where lifeguards were on duty but there was no safe swimming enclosure, so we took our chances as the humidity was unbearable and we needed to cool off. As it turns out, someone was stung by urikanji in Alma Bay an hour or so after we left the water!
Visiting this part of Queensland is much more pleasant between May - October as you don't have the stinger issue or the humidity.
I would consider staying at Mariners North again if they improved the bed linen issue in the apartments.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Further to Lucia's review, we have taken on board her comments regarding the blankets & bed linen. We triple sheet all our bed linen. This method is common practice for most accommodation properties. The method is for a doona to be placed between 2 sheets which overlays a main sheet covering the matress.

We don't have bedspreads. Triple sheetings is a far greter hygienic method than bedspreads which were soiled regularly.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

What a fantastic 5 days we spent here. The 2 bedroom apartment had everything we needed and more! Being on the 8th floor, the view from our balcony was magnificent!!
You couldn't wish for a more centralised location, so we found there was no need for a hire car.
The staff were extremely helpful and we would highly recommend these apartments if you were contemplating a holiday in Townsville.
In the words of Arnie Schwarzengger "We're be back"

Chris & Sylvia Stevenson

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevosylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Stevo was on the money - "Now that's what I call a good View." Yes, you certainly do get a great view at Mariners North. We look forward to welcoming back Stevo.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Prior to my holiday I read Monacofa's review and was a little apprrehensive but after staying 1 week at Mariners North I would totally recommend it to anybody wanting a well presented and central place to stay.
The apartment was clean and modern. Having 2 bathrooms with 2 couples was a definite plus.
These apartments are within an easy stroll to all facilities - a meal or walk on the strand are at your doorstep.
The ocean views over to Magnetic Island make a seat on the balcony a must and Townsville winter weather - just wonderful .
The outdoor spa was heated - which was a bonus - sitting in the spa overlooking the ocean - beautiful.
On my next trip to Townsville I will definitely use Mariners again.

Room Tip: fully self contained
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raesussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thanks for the recommendation. 35% of our guests are return guests or referrals. We must be doing something right? We are always open to candid comments & respect what guests have to say. Upon departure we have a feedback form which allows our guests to make comments on their stay. These comments are then actioned & any issues rectified.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews