We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
18
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billabong sanctuary bruce highway comfortable room air con stopover kettle noise
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2015

After staying at the Sunbird Motel Townsville, in March we were very surprised at how friendly the staff were, the room was very clean and fresh.. Nothing was too much to ask and the meals were lovely.. Cooked to perfection... Would recommend anyone to stay here

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014

This place is a little gem! The new owners, Mat and Deb, are both friendly, and went to no end of trouble to make us feel welcome. Rooms are airy, comfortable, and very clean. The gardens are well kept, as is the BBQ area out the back. There’s even a possum to keep you company while you cook your dinner. We didn’t feel like cooking so got a home cooked meal delivered to our room. We had the spaghetti bolognaise which was absolutely delicious. It’s only about 10 mins to Townsville CBD form here, and only 1km up the road to Billabong Sanctuary. We definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to stay away from the noise of the CBD.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Kev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We stopped in at Sunbird about 20.30, unannounced, heading south from Mareeba to Gladstone.. The welcome was warm and friendly. Service with a genuine smile. These people bend over backwards to help make your stay comfortable. It is not the newest and flashest motel in town, but it is certainly best value. Comfortable beds with excellent wholesome meals prepared to your liking. Like mum used to cook.

We were concerned that being right on the highway it might be noisy. I am a light sleeper, but we were pleasantly surprised. Sunbird is on a ridge above the road and the noise must be deflected because I was not disturbed once during the night.

Needless to say, we stayed there on the return trip. We phoned in from Bowen, ordered meals, and again arrived about 20.30. We just had time to shower and the meals were on our table. We will be staying there again. You can bet on that.

Thanks very much Debbie and Matt. We really appreciated your hospitality. See you again next trip.

Room tip: All rooms seem pretty equal to me. Room one is closest to the reception. Room 10 furthest. If you are a late sleeper you might consider asking for 9 or 10 so you are not disturbed by early risers, like me.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My 2nd stopover here, and not disappointed ... in fact Tony (the owner) is re-painting and re-decorating so my room was revamped, spotlessly clean and the comfiest bed with lovely crisp linen. I love the fact there is a microwave, fridge, toaster and kettle in the room as the motel is a few kms from CBD so easy to make a light meal / snack (although the BP service station just down the road does great truckie sized cooked meals in the evening). There is (Bruce H'way) road noise but that quietens down ~ 8-9pm until 6am so you get a good nights sleep.

for those looking for a motel on the highway I highly recommend - you will be surprised, it is very clean and comfortable and the price is super realistic (affordable).

Tony welcomes well behaved clean dogs and responsible dog owners.

Thanks Tony for a very comfortable two nights

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We needed something close to the Billabong sanctuary since we were going there first thing in the morning. The Sunbird motel was perfect - just down the street (highway). Our late arrival was not a problem, and we even ordered a full cooked breakfast which was delivered to our room the next morning
Room was clean and quiet, bed was comfortable and big enough for the 4 of us (kids slept on a bunkbed).

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews