We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
146
241
94
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
241
94
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magnetic island great location watermark restaurant high rise small balcony refurbished room seaview hotel a bit tired good size view from the balcony within walking distance across the road car park queen bed beach front bars and restaurants off street parking
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The hotel is perfectly located on the Strand and very close to a number of restaurants and cafes, including the Seaview Hotel. There was plenty of free parking out the back as well.

The hotel itself is a bit tired, we had one of the refurbed rooms but still it was a bit lacking. The furniture was worn (the coffee table was heavily scuffed) and the pull out sofa bed was lacking padding - when in sofa mode. We could also clearly hear the folks in the next room watching tv and talking, the walls may be a bit thin.

However, even with those observations, the hotel offers very good value for money as it is not overly expensive and the location is a big plus.

Room tip: All rooms face the water and have a balcony, the higher ones obviously have a better view although they come at a small price premium.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestopinions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Well,this was my second time staying here...I stayed first time about 13 years ago...We stayed in room 406 and altho' the room was closer to the road,hence road noise...We closed the doors before we slept cutting noise down to a whisper...Our a/c was also very quiet and worked excellently(Is that a word?)We had a fab view of the Strand,Maggy island,the traffic and people walking,skating,riding along the Strand...We bought rolls,prawns,mayo,lettuce,wine & avacadoes from Coles just up the road and that was our dinner out on the balcony...We said we had the best restaurant with the best view in town...Of course,our room was perfectly fitted with cutlery,crockery,microwave & fridge...Friday night Strand markets are quite large and a mere 2-3 minutes walk...We bought our $20 for 2 vegetarian dinner(cheap)@ the markets,took it back to our room and again had dinner on our balcony...Friday night was extremely busy with more than usual traffic and lotsa people..Great for just watching...

Room tip: Room 406 was perfect for us...!!
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cocotang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquariustsv, General Manager at Aquarius on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

We'll look forward to seeing you for number three cocotang. But don't leave it another 13 years. Sound like the restaurant in your room was superb. We should pop up for a wine on the balcony with you next time you stay. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

We chose a suite to have extra space but they are still a little on the small side but a clean room, comfortable bed and no noise from other rooms. Good price as well. The sound of the ocean waves were so relaxing and the pool was inviting.
Walking distance to restaurants, clubs and specialty boutiques. There is also a supermarket close by.

Room tip: All rooms have sea views. We were on the 10 th floor with fantastic veiws of magnetic island.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this centrally located hotel. Great position with fantastic views of the ocean and Magnetic Island. We found this hotel to have very helpful staff and be competitively priced for its great location.
The rooms are adequate albeit a bit tired. Parking is pretty good (outdoors) at the rear of the building. We would recommend this hotel for your next stay in Townsville.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank flatchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquariustsv, General Manager at Aquarius on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks flatchange. Please consider our Executive Deluxe room range on your next stay. They've had a more recent renovation and may be more to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Spent the weekend here recently. Great views out to Magnetic Island and the water from the balcony. Good to just sit and people watch! Bed and pillows were comfy and room well equipped. Not far to great food on The Strand.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DmBtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquariustsv, General Manager at Aquarius on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks DmBtraveler22. There's always something happening along the beautiful Strand promenade. We think it's better than T.V.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews