We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Castle Hill
from USD 130.41
More Info
from USD 69.21
More Info
from USD 40.07
More Info
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveller rating
1,090
502
52
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,090
502
52
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goat track great view walk up degree view magnetic island great workout car park worth the effort walking trails late afternoon visiting townsville townsville city great walk great spot walkers lookout fit
Filter
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Castle Hill, is the central hill overlooking Townsville city and Magnetic Island, we drove to the top around sunset and enjoyed the view from the different viewing areas I'd recommend a night visit as it is cooler and the city lights put on a great show...

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank technocv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If your looking for some exercise and to lift the heart rate, this is the place. Plus you will get one of the best views in Townsville.
Doesn't matter if your a local or visiting, this hill is a must do.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank matt094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A great look out and a bit of military history. I took Jen up there for a sight seeing visit and to point out Magnetic Island. The Hill is only 7 metres short of being a mountain and as it is in the middle of Townsville is a magnet for the healthy and want to be fitness fans. Most follow the road but the more adventurous go the goat track. We'll worth the trip up if only once. We'll worth the daily slug if you so like the challenge

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank GlynandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

There is a road and carpark at the top but if you walk up you get so much more satisfaction when you finally reach the top and see the amazing views! I went late afternoon and loved watching the sunset over Townsville and Magnetic island. This is a must do!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank katrina021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Castle Hill, the central hill overlooking Townsville and Magnetic Island is definitely worth the climb. After going up the quite huge amount of stairs you are rewarded with a great view which you can enjoy from different angles (different outlooks). I would recommend you go in the morning or afternoon because otherwise you’re walking in the sun only as there are no shadows. Alternatively you can go by car, of course.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank nikdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews