We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”
Review of Shoredrive Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shoredrive Motel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Ayr
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hard to find a room on the strand for Easter Sunday so decided to book into the Shoredrive.
What a disappointment.Rooms were clean but very dated, new flat screen TV's that were smaller than a laptop screen, the noisy little box air-conditioner that shook the front wall when running and the door on our room was so warped that the safety catch would not engage.Worst of all was the big , open rubbish skip full of building waste and rotting garbage located in the car park not 10 metres from our door. The owner did tell me they were new to the industry, and in my opinion they will not last long if the don't lift their game

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjlAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We only stayed one night. Whilst the room was very tired and needed a revamp we did find it clean. As they say you get what you pay for. It is on The Strand, but up the very far end. It is quiet so we had a good sleep. The bed was reasonably comfortable. We did need to have the fan on as well as the air con did not work that well.I think you could find better accomodation for the price. I don't think I would return to this motel again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Really people.... it is well and truely time for you to update these ancient rooms....the facilities are downright unacceptable.

Yes its true some travellers want a cheap stay however, cheap should not mean that travellers should endure musty, outdated and downright unhealthy facilities. The aircon was rusty and barely cooled, the fan was also needed to cool the room and was ancient and very noisy. The mildew on the walls (and not just in the bathroom) meant the room was perpetually smelly and of questionable hygiene. Lack of coathangers, no ironing board, ancient showers that barely delivered a trickle of water that changed temp constantly, and appauling austar choices and poor tv reception were all contributors to make us vow never to return.

The only positives were that the staff were pleasant and it was conveniently located right on the strand. Overall the cheap cost does not make up for the negatives that you put up with. There are more modern rooms available also however after staying in one of these once before I dont believe they are worth the money.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to see the room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diannasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here for a week...rooms are somewhat dated but exceptionaly clean...will deffinately come back. :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v_minter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Stayed here for one night & never again.
Pubic hair found in the master bed, bathroom was disgusting - we refused to enter without shoes. Carpet had mystery stains - I didn't want to walk barefoot across it nor put my belongings on it.
Housekeeping staff were rude & front desk staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
1.2 km away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
206 reviews
2.0 km away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#22 of 41 in Townsville
88 reviews
2.7 km away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beach House Motel
Beach House Motel
#1 of 2 in North Ward
123 reviews
1.4 km away
The Strand Motel
The Strand Motel
#34 of 41 in Townsville
61 reviews
0.6 km away
Castle Crest Motel
Castle Crest Motel
#1 of 41 in Townsville
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Townsville

Been to Shoredrive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoredrive Motel

Property: Shoredrive Motel
Address: 117 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Townsville
Price range (per night): $101 - $145
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoredrive Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shoredrive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoredrive Motel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing