We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfers Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfers Aquarius
Certificate of Excellence
wodonga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We had saved up for six months for our family vaction, everything was going to plan until we got to the resort. The first apartment we were in was disgusting. The tiles in the kitchen were all chipped, there was marks on EVER wall and the tiles were lifted in the lounge room, the where you went out onto the balcony and the furniture was very outdated. VERY VERY Tired looking apartment. We complained and were given another apartment it was better but still very tired looking. The facilities were great but BE CAREFUL when booking, the Ocean views are amazing but the rooms are very average and are not that clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    51
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
88
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment on wotif at a discounted rate so were unsure of what we would get. I phoned beforehand and requested a ocean view if possible and what we got was AMAZING!! We were on the 39th floor with incredible views overlooking surfers paradise and the ocean, I didn't want to leave the room! Although it is an older Hotel is has been refurbished nicely and the apartment was spacious. Its a great location as so close to the heart of Surfers Paradise without being right in the middle of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Iv been going here for the past 17 years. (I am 17) and I love it. My grandfather owns 2 apartments in his building (most of them are privately owned) and even tho they are not modern I love them. I'd rather a family-home vibe (rooms are huuuge!) then a small modern room. I love the pools the spas the close beach the tennis courts the views. This has been my home away from home my whole life and I love it here!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloemeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed at the Surfers Aquarius and were delighted with the help from the staff and the accommodation. We had requested a 1 bed, however there are a very limited number of these so were offered a 2 bed at no additional cost (we locked the second bed). The apartment was very sizeable with fantastic views of the ocean and surrounding areas.

The hotel was within easy walking distance of the main strip for Surfers but also to the main shopping Pacific Fair etc.

The hotel had an indoor pool and spa and free underground parking.

Some fixtures are old in style but we would return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pomsbythepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and booked a two bedroom apartment which we were very pleasantly surprised to find was near the very top of the highrise with a brilliant view the full length of Surfers Paradise and Main Beach. Having spent so long travelling around UK and Europe it was brilliant to be back in Oz were you get 'proper' sized rooms!

Room was very nice. Only minor complaint was the lack of attention to the cleaning, I found an empty pack of cigarettes and a bottle full of the used butts sitting on the balcony. Not a big deal by any stretch but evidence of the slight lack of attention that the whole building suffered a little from. As they say though, it is 40 years old so don't expect Hilton standards (mind you they aren't up to that standard themselves these days IMHO). I did laugh though when my Father-In-Law who has run resorts all over the world said he sacked staff if a customer didn't have a full jug/bottle of water in the fridge and ice in the freezer on check-in. We didn't but I wouldn't consider that a hanging offence anymore.

The pool area was lovely and access to the beach easy and convenient. Brilliant picnic and BBQ areas and tennis courts etc all in great shape. A bit of construction underway o the driveway and surrounds but at all times the guys were very corteous and helpful in letting cars and guests through.

An absolute pleasure to back in Oz were service is of such a high level.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryTEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 km away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#29 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
131 reviews
0.4 km away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#6 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
276 reviews
0.0 km away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#26 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Penthouses
The Penthouses
#54 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
62 reviews
0.6 km away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,319 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#3 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Aquarius

Property: Surfers Aquarius
Address: 4-12 Old Burleigh Road, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $186 - $267
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Aquarius 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Surfers Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Aquarius Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Aquarius Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing