We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Breakers North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers North
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago, the room itself was large & had a fab ocean view. But I found the customer service a little poor & the cleanliness wasnt up to scratch. Will not be back.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank melc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    48
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
34
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Region, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed for a week in January just after school holidays. When booking the room previously, I requested a really nice room with a view and in good condition. We were coming down from a remote area and wanted to really enjoy the experience. The manager booked our room and said we wouldn't be disappointed. And we weren't! We were in room 14B, corner room, 2nd top floor. Absolutely amazing views from the balconies - front and side. Side balcony was useful when it was too windy for front balcony. We had a couple of sunny days, which the pictures reflect. But unfortunately got a lot of rain. Kids made good use of the tennis courts and would have used the pools had the weather held.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaz2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

i booked in a 2bdroom apartment in July . 3mths well in advanced and rang them to confirm we were booking a room 8 floor or higher.. also selected this place as the web page boast free wifi.

on arrival the room we were given was on the first floor. the noise from the swimming pool was not good and no privacy as people in the tennis court can see the room if windows were open. I asked about our booking being on 8 floor. and reply was. sorry this is the only one available.. the next day i enquired again and was told theres one on the third floor but you have to pay $300 for clean up.
wifi didnt work, reported this 3 times and reply was sorry computer guy didnt come.
i will not stay here again.. and will not recommend any of my overseas friends to stay here.
and I work in the cruise industry and have been around the world.. do yourself a favor, stay away from this place..

Room Tip: there are other better places to stay in the gold coast. dont let the pictures in the internet fool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eugen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

On arrival, there was no fuss. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had booked through Wotif.com and therefore had to take what I got regarding floor and view. My wife, daughter and I were put in 2F, on the Old Burleigh Road side of the building. No ocean view at all, not one bit. This was disappointing. The apartment itself was quite good, and larger than we anticipated, although the paint will need a touch-up soon. All equipment worked fine. Literally everything was there, right down to a potato peeler! It's a pain in the rear-end to have to use your security tag every time you use the lift, but you get used to it. The beach is just out the back of the building--the patrolled section is about 30 metres to the left (north). Very handy. The pool and spa were very good. Didn't use the BBQ, but the area looked quite nice, overlooking the beach. Plenty of those beach recliners to sunbake if you're into skin cancer. Plenty (100's) of tourist brochures in the foyer. Pinball machine, vending-machine kiosk with some food items, as well as soap, etc. During office hours, you can get some toiletries from the counter, cheaper than the machine. Shops and restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk, and it's about 15 mins walk into Broadbeach. The Casino is about 5 mins in a taxi. From our balcony, although there was no ocean, we did get nice sunsets and a look at some of the street life of the area, and the big motels around us. At $240 per night, it might have been all I could expect...who knows? Anyway, the 8 days were very pleasant. The location is great. I might not come back to this place, but only through a desire to do something different next time. I can recommend Breakers North, but you might want to book your room directly through the venue, and specify exactly what you want.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We have stayed here four times over the past several years. The rooms are above average without being secacular. The BBQ area is superb right on the beach and a great area for a steak and beer and to meet oter guests. Pool and spa area good as is tennis court. About 15min walk to main Broadbeach strip. Patrolled beach right outside the hotel. Great location or families with kids

Room Tip: Make re you arrange beach front unit or you will be looking at hotels across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 km away
Ocean Royale
Ocean Royale
#15 of 21 in Broadbeach
171 reviews
0.0 km away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#9 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
286 reviews
0.4 km away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#23 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#22 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
326 reviews
0.2 km away
Beachfront Viscount
Beachfront Viscount
#2 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
141 reviews
0.7 km away
Boulevard North Apartments
Boulevard North Apartments
#24 of 35 in Broadbeach
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers North

Property: Breakers North
Address: 50 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $122 - $419
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers North 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beach front property with own private board walk, no roads to cross. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom fully self contained apartments with free wifi, Foxtel, security access only, free parking, heated pool and spa, sauna , full size tennis court and the best BBQ area on the coast right next to the beach. Located mid way between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach, close to Oasis Centre Casino and Convention Centre, Public transport and Northcliffe SLC & Broadbeach Bowls Club A short walk to Metro Café for your morning coffee We also have free security parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers North Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing