We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views - uncomfortable beds”
Review of Q1 Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Q1 Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Views - uncomfortable beds”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Q1 is a stunning building with amazing views and offers cheap accommodation on the Gold Coast but I wouldn't recommend this place if you want to feel refreshed. My Husband and I requested a 'queen / king' bed, and like in most hotels we received a bedding configuration of two king singles pushed together however the bed was so uncomfortable and lumpy and actually angled inwards. We woke up in the morning overtired and cranky and provided feedback to the manager, and we were simply advised was that this was the bedding configuration throughout the entire building...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBahBahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear the BahsBahs,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Q1Resort and Spa. We genuinely appreciate all feedback and all Management staff are made aware of feedback so that we may continuously improve upon the product and services that we offer.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the stunning views, the great value accommodation and the Q1 building. I do regret that you found the bedding to be uncomfortable and I am sorry that you did not have a restful evening. Although this is not typical of the sleeping experience that our guests have, we have taken steps to ensure the apartments that do have customisable bedding will have padded bed toppers installed so that our valued guests will sleep well. This action will take place very shortly. Although this is a common bedding configuration in the Resort, it is certainly not the case in all apartments.

I sincerely do trust that you will be staying again with us again and would like to assure you that you will sleep like a log on your next visit.


Kind Regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    692
    302
    153
    128
See reviews for
960
697
42
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Q1 is known to be the tallest residential building in the world. Further to this, it is a very good option for families traveling in Australia's Gold Coast. I was there with wife and two teens. The location is perfect, walking distance to everything, several restaurants around. The apartment in which we were (two bedroom, two bathrooms) was in perfect shape, and was very nice and spacious, with a fully furnished kitchen, quite clean and everything was working well.

Q1 is like the very common kind of accommodation available in Australia, residential buildings ruined by hotel operators. The bad is that there is not any service other than room maid. There is no room service, but the have in the apartment a list with several restaurants that deliver at your door.

The fitness is basic, the sauna is good, and the pool is good. There is an spa that could be better placed and a bit bigger.

Some tips to families: 1) they do not have wi-fi (unbelievable but true). Buy a pocket wifi at any Vodafone store and it will work throughout Australia - at the end you'll save money with wifi at hotels; 2) If you plan to go to the theme parks and do not have a car, be prepared to pay AUD$140 return on a cab. The tip is to rent a car which costed me AUD$85 for one day with unlimited km and insurance.

All in all we liked Q1 very much, and would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srg_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Srg_Brazil,

Thankyou so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your most recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. We certainly do appreciate all feedback and ensure it is used by Management to improve upon the products and services that we offer.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be back again. We are indeed very popular with families due to our ideal location, great facilities and spacious apartments with excellent views. Although we do not have internal room service for meals, we provide a menu for a company that does deliver to your room. There are also many nearby restaurants that provide takeaway and delivery. We also have a poolside Cafe that is open for breakfast everyday and lunch friday till Sunday. Although we do not yet have WiFi internet, we do provide Braodband cable internet in all our apartments. The good news is that Q1 Resort and Spa is currently planning to have Wi Fi internet installed soon. We have a Tour Desk at reception that can arrange other theme park transfer options which is less expensive than a taxi or car rental.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 Resort and Spa in the furure and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Kind Regards,


Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Location of the Q1 is fantastic, walking distance to the heart of Surfers, and close to the beach.
Apartment was modern, clean and felt roomy.
Check in was easy, car parking was straight forward and no problems encountered.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Rachel C,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your most recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. We genuinely appreciate all reviews and use them to proactively improve on the product and services that we offer.

I am very pleased that you loved all aspects of your stay at Q1. We certainly are famous for our location and fantastic views. I am happy that you found your apartment to be clean, modern and spacious. We endevour to make checkin as simple and pleasant as possible and our convenient, complimentary undercover parking is also appreciated by many of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 Resort and Spa in the near future and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Kind Regards,


Melissa Papp
Front Office Manger
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I travelled to GC with a group of girlfriends and stayed for 3 nights in room 2701. the resort is amazing! our 2br had panoramic views of the beach and also the city. the room was spacious, modern, and very fresh!

we had booked this room through Stays., and maybe because the room was privately rented through an agent other than Q1 itself (not too sure) the service was poor. we arrived early, to find our room still unclean with the cleaners still doing their job. seriously, if it's not ready, dont let us in! and maybe because we were lingering around, they rushed their job and didnt clean properly.

we utilised the sauna, spa, indoor and outdoor pools, enjoying the facilities of the resort. it has close proximity to the beach and shops. we dined in Hanazomo Teppanyaki, at the entrance of the resort, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. its slightly annoying having to use our swipe key to enter/exit any doors, but i guess this is for security reasons.

i would definitely come back here, but probably with my Hubby, and book through Q1, as the ensuite bedroom looks very inviting and romantic (due to the see-through glass separating the bedroom and bathroom - which was an issue when we had a bunch of girls walk in and out accidently seeing each other lol!) This place looks more suited to couples, than families/friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jum253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Jum253,

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review about your recent Q1 experience. Whilst I am pleased you enjoyed the location, views and facilities I regret to advise you that you did not stay at Q1 Resort and Spa but through a private agent. The apartment number you supplied is not one that we manage.

Our housekeeping department does not service apartments that are not managed by us and we certainly would not have let our resort guests into and apartment that was not ready and cleaned around them. This is contrary to our policies, procedures and principles. Many of our apartments have blinds between the ensuite bathroom window and the bedroom, unlike the apartment you stayed in.

Once again, thankyou for you review, I urge you book direct with us next time so you may enjoy the benefits of bieng exclusively a Q1 resort and Spa guest.

Kind Regards,



Melissa Papp
Q1 Resort and Spa
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Great location away from Surfers Paradise. The beach is very close and the swimming pool excellent. We were in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 39th floor. Generally very clean and comfortable. A little soulless but with that view............ A few small niggles but generally fine ..... the dishwasher didn't work (there was a note inside when we opened it saying so) and there was no sponge to wash up as an alternative. We were only given 2 sets of keys which is odd for a 3 bedroom apartment that supposedly sleeps 8 people. We'd have to coordinate keys if we went out separately. There was a little grime around the edge of the stove top and shower door but this was minor. The blinds don't block out the light and with solid glass door into the lounge area from the bedroom we were woken about 6:00. New furnishings which were decent quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-Sydney_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippers101, Front Office Manager at Q1 Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear David-Sydney_Aust,

Thankyou so much for writing a review about your recent stay at Q1 Resort and Spa. We certainly do take all reviews very seriously and ensure that they are used to improve our quality assurance for improving all that Q1 has to offer.

I am pleased that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay. It is often said that Q1 is number 1 for views, facilities and location and bieng that Q1 is such a famous and iconic building, we never get tired of the amazing views. I am sorry that one of the two dishwashers in your apartment was not operational. We endevour to get these items repaired as soon as possible. I regret that there was a small amount of grime in the kitchen area. Our housekeeping department has very high standards and this is a rare oversight indeed. Two keys are the standard issue for a 3 bedroom apartment, more are generally available upon request &/or keys can be left at our 24-hour reception for anyone registered to the apartment to pick up. We find that this saves guests having to worry about coordinating who has the keys.

Once again, thankyou for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Q1 again in the future and trust that your next stay will be even better.

Kind regards,

Melissa Papp
Front Office Manager
Q1 Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.3 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
0.6 km away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,053 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,204 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,055 reviews
0.0 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q1 Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q1 Resort and Spa

Property: Q1 Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Hamilton Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $159 - $571
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Q1 Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Australia’s Tallest Residential Tower’ ... Q1 Resort & Spa Surfers Paradise offers 1,2,3Bed & Sub Penthouse Luxury Apartments with unique glass enclosed Balconies & Spa Baths, 24 hour reception & security, unparalleled resort facilities on a beach front location & set amid one hectare of landscaped grounds. Q1 Resort & Spa features two lagoon swimming pools, heated indoor lap pool & spa, alfresco poolside Cafe & Bar & our famous "Seventy 7 Buffet Breakfast" located level 77 floor above ground with viewing platform. A world class gymnasium, saunas & steam rooms, private theatrette, conferencing & wedding facilities, children’s games room & our award winning Q1 Day Spa await you. The Q1 tower also hosts Australia’s only beach side External Tower Adventure Climb from level 77 to 80 ... Q1 Resort & Spa towers over the Gold Coast with views to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Q1 Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q1 Hotel Surfers Paradise
q1 Resort Surfers Paradise
Q1 Resort And Spa Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing