We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast
whakatane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have stayed here twice now and have enjoyed both times. The apartment had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. The outdoor pool is nice but the indoor is great, the gym a bit small but theres the beach very close for walks. The buses are easy to catch with just a walk out the gate turn right then right again and you will see the bus shelter just there. The kitchen was well stocked with all the cooking utensils, pots, fryingpans e.t.c.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhakataneKiwi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    45
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
79
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here in November 2011 & enjoyed it. The apartment had exellent views & would have been stunning when it was lat refurbished in 1985. That said everything worked & was clean & I have no complaints. The indoor pool was great, with children its the only time you dont have to worry about sunburn!
Its a long walk to brodbeach & we ended up hiring a car which took care of that little problem. The beach is only a very short walk & there is a bus stop right outside.
There are a lot of alternatives around here to stay at so I might try somewhere else next time, but we did not have any problems and the staff were friendy & helpful.

Room Tip: need to be high up (above 21st floor) to get decent ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiB_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This was our first trip to the Gold Coast and we had a great time staying in the most ideal place on the Gold Coast. The Biarritz apartments have everything for a family holiday (or for a couple). We stayed in apartment number 26 which was very modern, very clean and extremely spacious for a family. A great sized lounge area with ocean views plus a separate TV/lounge area so the TV doesn't interfere with the more "grown up" area is a great idea.
Having 2 bathrooms plus a laundry makes life very easy and there was plenty of storage in both bedrooms too. Kitchen is a very good size and modern and clean though there is no need to cook too much as it is a short walk along the esplanade to the restaurants plus the BBQ area next to the pool is great after a busy day at the theme parks.
The staff are also extremely helpful and we made full use of the indoor pool when it rained and the table tennis & pool tables - v handy when you have children and its raining!
We look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: Room 26 is in a good spot as it is on the 6th floor with ocean views and a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I have been coming to the Gold Coast for years & love staying between Broadbeach & Surfers Paradise. I love staying at the Biarritz apartments as it's a short walking distance to fantastic restaurants & entertainment plus you are only a stone's throw away from the surf beach. Biarritz apartments are all fully self contained & they have a indoor & outdoor swimming pools, spa, gym, sauna, bbq areas & tennis court. I always request an ocean view on a high level. The apartment I was given was fantastic as it was on the 21st floor (apt 87) & the ocean veiws were spectecular. From the whole apartment I had views looking down the coast as well as the lights at night of Surfes Paradise. The apartment was very confortable & spacious with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, seperate laundry, fully contained kitchen a large living/dining area & most importantly airconditioned.
I would highly recommend staying at Biarritz apartments, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: South/Eastly 2 bedroom aparments above the 20th level have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was our second stay at the Biarritz, and I was a little disappointed this time.

I see that they’ve now split rooms into the following categories: "Superior”, “Standard” and “Basic”, I would say that the room that we had during August 2011 was at the low end of the "Basic” level (described as “showing some signs of ageing gracefully”). This was most disappointing as on our previous stay, we were guaranteed a better room next time, and I would have said our first room was high basic to standard.

The apartment we had was 71, on the 17th floor, a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the beach, towards Coolangatta, and our stay was for 16 days. The layout was identical to our first apartment, however in this case the décor was a little dark and made the room feel cold, not helped by the tiling throughout. The view was also not as good as we were a little lower down. However, it was mostly the facilities, cleanliness (or lack of) and second bedroom that led us to be disappointed.

Cleanliness:- The tile flooring and rug in the lounge area were filthy, the sheets didn’t fit the bed, and there was hair on the walls in the main shared bathroom. In the kitchen, there was a 3 inch gap above the dishwasher that was full of dust. Every single wall and corner had huge scuffs or chunks missing.

Facilities:- The shower in the shared bathroom leaked and you had to stop the hole to get the shower to work. The shower door was off its track and swung in and out dangerously. The toilet did not flush fully. The sliding door from the lounge onto the deck was off kilter, leaving a 1-2” gap at the bottom when it was closed. The plates in the kitchen were too big for the cupboard they were in so you couldn’t shut the door. There was a lot of renovation work going on, while the work on the windows was restricted to working hours, the apartment two doors down was being renovated and they worked at all hours in our second week, meaning a constant smell of paint, ripped up carpet, dust etc. and power tools early in the morning including weekends.

Second bedroom:- This was where the majority of problems were. There is no light switch in that room, at all; the light is controlled from the hallway. There was no lamp in the room, no bedside table, nothing except a huge metal bunk bed, king single on top and double on the bottom. The bunk bed was extremely uncomfortable, not helped by the poor fitting sheets and lack of headboard so pillows constantly fell off (due to the metal piping the lower bed was always a minimum 1ft from the wall). After pulling up the mattress while trying to make the bed up better, I also found that the slats were all out of place leaving a 3ft gap, but even after fixing this there wasn’t much improvement. After finding there was no lamp or light switch in the room or any surface at all to put a book, cup of tea etc. I seconded furniture from the lounge, everything fit OK so I’m not sure why at least a lamp isn’t in there. The worst part however was the door to the room which was an ancient slider, hung on a rail. It was extremely difficult to open and shut and doing so involved either lifting the door off the rail and ‘carrying’ it over, or bracing your back against the wall so you could push with both arms and get some traction to lift and push. For a child this would have been impossible and you could see the hundreds of handprints from people who had done exactly the same thing in the past. Also, the door couldn’t close completely so at all times there was a 1” gap on one side, and was also not flush to the wall so as well as the side gap, there was a huge gap all around – this meant that all noise and light travelled into the room in the evening; you may as well be sleeping in the lounge.

In all, if not for the terrible second bedroom, my opinion would have continued to be high as I do believe that the Biarritz provides great value on a budget and I do not expect the Hilton (just for everything to function and for basics like a light switch or lamp). The majority of the apartment was nicely fitted, if very basic and budget, the master bedroom was well laid out (although suffered the same sheet problem), but sadly the various problems in the apartment overwhelmed all the positives. I would consider staying again, and love the location, but it would no longer be my first choice and I would specifically ask to not be placed in this apartment in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeViIIe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiarritzApartments, Manager at Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
While it’s disappointing to receive such a review, all feedback is appreciated. Thankyou for clarifying in the last paragraph that if not for one bedroom in this particular apartment your opinion of Biarritz would have continued to be high.

We are actively working through the comments made in an effort to ensure future guests aren’t similarly disappointed with this apartment.

Our recent initiative to classify apartments so that guests can choose the standard of accommodation they desire recognises that apartment presentation varies according to the tastes of the individual owner. This feedback strengthens our resolve to not only present our apartments as clean, comfortable and fully functional, but to give our guests the most accurate indication possible of what they can expect when they arrive. As always, if any problem develops during a stay advise our staff immediately so we can attend to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 km away
La Grande Apartments
La Grande Apartments
#14 of 21 in Broadbeach
83 reviews
0.1 km away
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
0.1 km away
Beachfront Viscount
Beachfront Viscount
#2 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#17 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
323 reviews
0.2 km away
Breakers North
Breakers North
#52 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
120 reviews
0.1 km away
Surfers Beach Resort 2
Surfers Beach Resort 2
#62 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast

Property: Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast
Address: 85 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $127 - $262
Hotel Class:4 star — Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing