We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Received What We Paid For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Received What We Paid For”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Moroccan for 3 nights from 10 December 2011. I received a good rate for this stay by booking directly through the Breakfree website. When we first arrived at Reception, we were greeted rather gruffly by one of the two Receptionists. By my continuing to be polite to her, her attitude did come around and good service was received (I can understand the comments from other reviewers about receiving poor service so the tip here is remain courteous yourself and you will receive courtesy back in return - mind you it should be the other way around). The check-in process was smooth and after realising that I had requested as high a room as possible, we were moved from the 6th floor to the 13th.

We then parked and started to take luggage upstairs. There were no luggage trolleys so we asked a maintenance guy where they were. We were told that they have been taken out of service for repairs/maintenance. I am not sure why they would take all of them at once. This would have been more annoying except for the maintenance guy lending us the one that he uses for carrying his tools etc on which was great.

The room - well I refer to the title of this review. It is an older establishment and the rooms have been renovated. The living area was nicely tiled and they have done what they could with the kitchen: the fridge was new but the oven looked as though it was the original one but that did not bother us as were had no intention of cooking while there. The downside was the decor - the single lounge chair had a very large tear in it which was unsightly rather than uncomfortable while the fabric on the 3 seater chair was old and again feral looking but not impacting on its comfort. The bedrooms were carpeted with what appears to be the original carpet which looked and felt rather ordinary with a number of stains on it (some stains were red and looked repulsive but that is probably due to my imagination). The ensuite was very nice but unfortunately the shower door provided inadequate splash protection and resulted in the tiles in the wider ensuite becoming very wet and slippery (our 2 year old had an accident but fortunately we didn't).

The balcony was disgusting - you could not go onto the balcony without shoes on. To walk out barefoot would result in them turning dark black from dirt so it is obvious that it has not been mopped in a very very long time. All of the windows in the place were also filthy and impossible to see out of (this includes the accessible balcony doors and windows, not just the inaccessible windows). Now I know that it is hard to keep them clean due to the ocean spray but it again looks as though they haven't even tried to clean them for a loooong time. Also, being the original windows, the winders were rusted and close to impossible to open which didn't help in the bedrooms which were not air-conditioned. We didn't complain about the cleanliness during out stay (I decided not to aggravate myself for such a short stay) so I cannot report on the response of the establishment in this area.

The outside pool was nice, clean and a pleasant area to relax in - it is obvious (and a credit to) the work the groundskeeper does. The inside pool was a good temperature and was also nice. Unfortunately, it was closed part-way through our stay. We are not sure why it was closed though.

One night when we returned from dinner, one of the elevators was broken down. This was repaired by around midday the next day which was a good response from the Moroccan but you could really notice the impact on waiting times with only one lift operational. Little breakdowns, repairs etc do need to be expected when you stay in an older place and the price we paid does count for a lot of my tolerance of these events.

Overall, the stay was adequate for its purpose. I have tried to write this as a balanced view of our experience. I certainly am not trying to suggest readers to not stay here but you will need to have some tolerance of the shortcomings. However, if you get a great deal, this goes a long way to making the stay good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bendman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Bendman,
Thanks for your review it is always good to receive feedback from our guests. Your comments help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

We note your comments regarding the service and the housekeeping service of your room and do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope your stay was relaxing and although there are cheap special rates out in the market I must say there is no excuse for poor customer service.

Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope you will allow us to demonstrate the true spirit of the Moroccan Resorts hospitality when you next decide to holiday.

Kind Regards

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    145
    81
    53
    49
See reviews for
291
74
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed in the Moroccan for 7 nights in Dec 11. It was a great, wonderful, fun-filled and awesome experience for us as this is the first time that we stayed in an apartment. Generally, the room was clean and spacious and met our expectations. We also have a good view of sunrise every morning. The location of the resort is really very strategic and near to the Coles and Woolworth supermarkets which is convenient to purchase daily groceries. Overall, it was an enjoyable holiday for my family and look forward to visit Gold Coast again in the future should opportunity arises. We will not hesitate to stay in the Moroccan again.

Room Tip: Ask for refurnishment room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teoh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Teoh S,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

we stayed in the moroccan for 1 week. we had a 2 bedroom in the view tower. Had a good view of the ocean even though we didnt pay extra for the 'ocean view' rooms. we loved the amenities and the location as well as the modern decore in our rooms and the king size bed was really comfortable. I would have given this property a 5 star rating if it wasnt for the not so clean ensuite. The moment we stepped into the ensuite we could smell mould. The mould was in and around the shower and soap scum on the shower recess and glass. Its a pity the housekeeping let this place down.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Sbgilly,

Thanks for your feed back it is alway good to be reassured by receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

the complications started as soon as we arrived. when we went to check in we were told that we could not do so unless we had a credit card. they basically told us that we would have to leave and we would not be able to get our $600 refund. The lady at reception was very rude, and tried to explain to us that she was the manager and there was nothing she could do except ask us to leave, and we later found out that she was not actually a manager. After much negotiation they finally checked us in. as soon as we step out of the elevator, it was absolute filth, the hallways smelled like urine (not exaggeration by the way). The rooms were filthy, there were cockroaches running over the kitchen bench tops, cigarettes all over the balcony floor and walls, coffee table had not been cleaned, bathrooms were mouldy. I will never be staying here again and i will be telling everyone about how filthy this place was. I am actually embarrassed to tell people where i stayed. there is absolutely no excuse for how we were treated and the standard of the rooms, this company really needs to pick their act up, as their reputation so far is very poor.

Room Tip: you guys want a tip to choose a good room? go down the road to a decent hotel, and speak to people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moroccan-gm, General Manager at Breakfree Moroccan Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Anthony s,

Thanks for your review it is always good to receive feedback from our guests. Your comments help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.
We are regretful that these issues were not brought to our attention during your stay we could have sorted them out immediately however I appologise for any short commings you received.

Angela was the Manager on Duty that day, we do have a policy of a credit card being presented on check in.

We note your comments regarding the housekeeping service of your room and do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Due to the high standards required of our cleaners, issues such as these are very rare occurrences. We have forwarded your comments onto our housekeeping department to ensure that our required standards of cleanliness are being met at all times.

Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope you will allow us to demonstrate the true spirit of the Moroccan Resorts hospitality when you next decide to holiday.

Kind Regards

Brett Hohn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at the Breakfree Moroccan in November 2011. The 2 beedroom apartment in the View Tower was not clean, floors not mopped, mould in the bathrooms, stains on the sofas and and pullout bed removed from the sofa then which made sitting on them hard as you would fall though. Outside windows not cleaned at all. Marks of the walls and dodgy fit ups on the walls. reception staff took note of our problems/complaints but however did not say sorry or offer another room or upgrade as it took 5 days for the cleaning staff to fix the problems. i do recommend the hotel manager goes and visits the rooms and sees if he was a customer staying here would he be okay with it. Great location, just a short stroll to Cavil Av. I would stay here again but i would be damm making sure all our requests were met.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine_Kazakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
0.2 km away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#9 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 km away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#26 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#12 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.4 km away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.0 km away
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
#11 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Moroccan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Moroccan Resort

Property: Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Address: 14 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Moroccan Resort Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $114 - $372
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Moroccan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the road from a patrolled beach, BreakFree Moroccan's convenient location allows you to easily walk to Cavill Avenue for great shopping, cafes, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The resort offers fully self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. There are two choices of two bedroom apartments, standard and ocean premium which includes guaranteed ocean views. All apartments include full kitchen, laundry facilities, TV, cable TV and balcony with ocean or hinterland views. The resort's onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, spa, BBQ area, games room and secure undercover parking. For guests that want to experience the Gold Coast's theme parks, Dreamworld, SeaWorld, Movie World or Wet'n'Wild, they are all within easy reach with bus stops near the resort. If adrenalin is what you are after then head for the centre of Surfers Paradise for the Banzai Bungey, Sling Shot or Flycoaster. When night falls, the vibrant nightlife Surfers Paradise is famous for takes over. Bars and nightclubs come alive and the streets fill with people. If you want to enjoy a spot of shopping, Surfers Paradise offers everything from top-end designers to outlet bargain shops and beachfront markets. BreakFree Moroccan Resort is a great accommodation choice for families and couples right in the heart of Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakfree Moroccan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Resort Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Moroccan Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing