We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A not so good start ends well.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Regency Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surf Regency Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A not so good start ends well.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I had a wonderful stay at this propery. We had a 2brm apartment on the 9th floor on the south side of the building. A balcony facing the front to the wonderful ocean views, as well as a balcony facing out the back was a treat. When the sea breeze picks up out the front, the back is nicely sheltered. Basically the apartment was the length of one side of the building so we had views on 3 sides. The bathrooms were both newly reno'd and fresh and clean. The carpet was new-ish and clean as were the bedspreads and sheets. The pillows were comfortable and there was plenty of seating (we had a number of guests). The kitchen was a little tired but overall not too bad. I would have liked a vegetable steamer, a few plastic containers and a large salad bowl, but it certainly wasn't going to ruin my day.
As with many of the apartments for rent on the coast, these are individually owned within the one building. I guess there is some sort of minimum standard but is the owner of the individual apartment who decorates and renovates. One apartment in the block may be fabulous and another, well, not so fabulous. I have experienced this before and did initally experience it at Surf Regency.
We arrived after hours and collected the key from the safe. Having spoken to the manager a few days before I knew my request for a high floor was noted and I was on the 11th. However I looked at my key and noticed the room number - 204!!!! The frst night we stayed in 204 and were moved to 901 on day 2. There was a mix up I won't bother explaining. Suffice to say I was 'not happy Jan'.
204 was not very nice. A reno'd kitchen but one of the bathrooms was mouldy and not the sort of mould a cleaner can remove. Old non flat screen tellie, hideous decor and a pool view with an ocean glimpse. It was a bit depressing and I was glad to get out.
Cavill Mall is 3 blocks away if the kids fancy a look at that scene, the pool is a reasonable size and heated, the public areas are tidy and the beach is pretty much across the road!
Walking a couple of blocks in the opposite direction from the beach there are plenty of casual restaurants, an IGA supermarket and Q1 is a block away. The Uni Games were on so I did use ear plugs at night!
It's not flashest joint on the coast, but is in a fabulous location with great views, (9th floor and above are best as there is a low rise building in front). It is a 3 star property with 3 star facilities, but for our needs on this particular trip, that was fine. I'd stay there again but I would want to know about the apartment I was being allocated.

Room Tip: 9th floor and above. Revovated. South or north side facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    42
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
43
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed at Surf Regency for ten nights in September 2011.
We were greeted by the phone at the door and stood outside at 8pm waiting for them to find our booking (knowing that we were arriving at this time on this date). After discussing our booking for 20 minutes, they relised that they had made an error and someone came down to let us in.
We got our key and proceeded up to our room. There were two rooms, in which one had an ensuite.
*First of all the fan/light in the second room had no switch and would not work at all. This is an issue as you cant see anything with the bedside lamp!! After telling receition of this the following day was told that there is a switch and its on the wall... No there is no switch at all.
*The sheets seemed clean although the top blanket was horrable, stained and old (in both rooms).
*We had a rather uncomforable bed as requested two doubbles and one bed was two singles pushed together.
*The blinds were mouldy and right beside my pillow so was not impressed.
*Slider door in room was broken and unable to be moved or closed (yay no privacy)
*6 out of 13 light bulbs where blown in the appartment, not inlcuding the bedroom main light that didnt work at all.
*No goodmorning or general hello from receiption ever.
*One towel provided per person per stay, and extras can be purchased from receiption for 5 dollars a towel.
We were very unhappy with out stay. Good location, although everything else is a big let down.

We will be sorting other accommodation in the future. Steer clear of Surf Regency.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the photo. Or dont stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The accommodation was nicely presented with well manicured gardens and clean accommodation. The views were great and the managers were very hospitable. It is close to everything making shops, entertainment and restaurants very accessible. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return very soon.

Room Tip: If you want good, well priced accommodation in a great location then this one is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
collingwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

the one bedroom apartment was as advertised and more with stupendous ocean views! the apartment was very clean and well maintained as well. it was close to the main shopping stretch with many restaurants nearby. absolutely great value!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012collingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

A group of friends and I stayed at the Surf Regency over the weekend of the All Stars game in 2011, it was in a reall handy spot close to everything on the GC and the view from our room was amazing.
The pool and spa was great on the ground level and there was also a fantastic spa, sauna & BBQ area on the roof.
We had 10 in our group and had 2 rooms between us, is was a great place to stay for a great price.
Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaYa_Peto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 km away
Aloha Apartments
Aloha Apartments
#100 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 km away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#20 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.7 km away
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartm...
#3 of 12 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#69 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 km away
Breakfree Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula
#23 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 km away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#54 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Regency Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Regency Apartments

Property: Surf Regency Apartments
Address: Surf Regency Apartments 9 Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $148 - $211
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf Regency Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Regency Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Regency Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Regency Surfers Paradise
Regency Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surf Regency Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing