We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Stay *** got 5 stars from me for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karana Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2015

i travel to gold coast very often. and have stayed at a lot of places. Really for $75 per night for 7 nights this apartment was a great place to stay. people working there were informative and very helpful. the unit was clean. i could just walk up to the shops, the beach and clubs. i don't see what these people are complaining about below, realistically when you stay at a budget accommodation you should not expect a 5 start treatment. i have stayed at other places where i payed lot more and was not even worth it. i would defiantly be staying here every time i visit the coast for sure.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartment is what we stayed in and was clean and self contained
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jeannie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh Amy S, Manager at Karana Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honest feedback and are happy that you had a great time and enjoyed your holiday. We try to do our best to ensure our gust have a pleasant stay at Karana palms during their holiday , hope you had a safe trip back home and looking forward to see you again. : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Karana Palms Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2015

We have just left the Karana Palms hotel after a great 7 days holiday(3/2/2015) the owners were very helpful the rooms and all facility's the pool ,lounge chairs etc all great,short walk to the shops and beach would return for another holiday as it was great

Room Tip: Ground floor for the oldies as there isn't a lift
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh Amy S, Manager at Karana Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honest feedback and are happy that you had a great time and enjoyed your holiday. We try to do our best to ensure our gust have a pleasant stay at Karana palms during their holiday , hope you had a safe trip back home and looking forward to see you again. : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015 via mobile

I would never stay here again. Where do I start, oh at the beginning I guess. We arrive at 2pm and our room isn't ready. We are told it's almost ready and put our bags inside the room. Then wait and wait and wait. Almost an hour later it's finally ready. Then our friends travelling with us try to turn on the air con , as their level three apartment is stinking hot. It doesn't work. They go to see management and are told this will cost $5 per day, $35 for the week. They had to pay as the room was so hot. They had their one year old son with them, who was booked as a guest. They asked for a sheet for him as the pull out couch bed has plastic on it and no sheet. Management tell them that will cost another five dollars per day, $35 for the week. They walked off in disgust. Management approaches them later and says they will now charge them $5 for the week. They also didn't get a towel for their son and the reasoning from management was that it's up to the parents to provide these themselves. But none of this is on their website.The apartments were not appropriately clean. I had to scrub the basin in the bathroom and wash the cups before I could use them. The pullout bed in our apartment had dirty sheets on it, and blood stains that went through the underlay to the mattress. The Venetian blinds in the bedroom were all broken and very dusty and grimy. We also brought some bleach and gave the shower a good scrub. There was also a foul odour coming from the drain in our bathroom. Wi-do is not free, they charge extra for it. I didn't like the location, it was too far from the beach, 20 minutes walk approximately. The only good thing was the pool and parking and balcony!!!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh Amy S, Manager at Karana Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Hello we did have one room ready for you for check in ,we do apologise, your second unit was not ready by 2 pm we did have a lot of unit to clean and was a busy day but cleaners did try there best to get your room ready soon as possible , you have booked 2 x 1 bed room self contain appartment in surfers paradise for $79 per night with free car park and all our extra prices our mentioned online and you should have looked at them or enquired about it before doing the booking. you did book with a infant who stays for free and no linen is provided , we did offer you to hire the baby cot which you denied and could not pay , we do our best to provide the good service to our guest at a budget price and our unit are clean well up to good standard.

If you talking about the room was not cleaned properly the unit 314 was left in a complete mess rubbish every where and dirty baby nappies were left in the room and the room stunk.. you should be happy we didn't charge you for extra exit cleaning which we payed cleaners for.

Both reviews you have given are for one booking and looks like we been targeted and hope people who read this will understand .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

It was more then I wanted, big 1 bed room unit will all I could ask for , some place cross the bridge ware double the price and small rooms . Got a full size fridge washing machine and dryer free car park mangers were very friendly and help full prefer holiday

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gagzi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh Amy S, Manager at Karana Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honest feedback and are happy that you had a great time and enjoyed your holiday. We try to do our best to ensure our gust have a pleasant stay at Karana palms during their holiday , hope you had a safe trip back home and looking forward to see you again. : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015 via mobile

Awesomely located on chevron island a 5 min stroll to cavil mall and beach, perfectly hidden away from the city traffic.
I suggest bringing your own loo paper and soap as only 1 roll is provided.
The apartment is clean and tidy, I suggest asking for a top floor apartment as I could hear the toilets above me being used (the only down fall).
The staff are awesomely friendly and helpful. Even fit us is last minute during peak season at a really good price. Parking is provided free and is located underneath. Pool area was clean and tidy also has small bbq area.
Will come back to stay again!!!!

Stayed: January 2015
Thank Sammy_s88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singh Amy S, Manager at Karana Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honest feedback and are happy that you had a great time and enjoyed your holiday. We have changed few thing after your review we give free toilet paper to guest for the stay now and is available at reception, We try to do our best to ensure our gust have a pleasant stay at Karana palms during their holiday , hope you had a safe trip back home and looking forward to see you again. : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.6 km away
Paradise Isles
Paradise Isles
#33 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
164 reviews
0.4 km away
Spectrum Holiday Apartments
Spectrum Holiday Apartments
#6 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
113 reviews
0.2 km away
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
#73 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Paradise Island Resort
Paradise Island Resort
#108 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
124 reviews
0.6 km away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
355 reviews
1.3 km away
Baronnet Apartments
Baronnet Apartments
#14 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karana Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karana Palms Resort

Address: 40-42 Tarcoola Cres | Chevron Island, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $89 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karana Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC and Agoda so you can book your Karana Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karana Palms Hotel Surfers Paradise
Karana Palms Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing