We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 star star experience all round ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐”

Chapter & Verse Bar and Lounge
Reserve a table
2
Tue., 7/12
20:00
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 27
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Description: Chapter & Verse raises the bar by bringing together interest and energy with experience, drawing people into a welcoming open plan space featured at the heart of JW Marriott Resort & Spa's lobby and outdoor pool area. Accommodating a variety of modes and customers through the day and night, the all-day bar serving share plates and an exquisite drinks menu, is designed as an intimate experience for guests to enjoy time together. Here guests can sip on uniquely crafted cocktails that support local initiatives, integrating purpose and experience. In-house infusions will also be available, with unique flavours on offer created using local, native flowers and herbs. Personalised infusions for guests will be available on request. The signature High Tea experience in Chapter & Verse is a tradition that has been elevated using local ingredients sourced from the base of the Hinterland up to Mount Tamborine.
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

Came into Chapter and verse for pre drinks before dining in citrique for my dad's birthday.
As someone who has over 10 years experience in the industry I was very impressed!
Received 5 star table service from Imogen and Jiri - right down to the finest details, everything was absolutely spot on.
Big shout out to Oliver and James in the bar for our delicious cocktails too!
Most certainly a 5 star experience all round.
Thanks so much for having us, we will be back!

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Belle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn C, Marketing at Chapter & Verse Bar and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Belle,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us and for taking the time to review your experience so positively! We value your feedback and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Chapter & Verse celebrating your dad’s birthday.

I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Imogen, Jiri, Oliver and James, as I am sure that they will be very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
JW Marriott Gold Coast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Ordered two tap beers, both served in a warm glass, resulting in flat beer. Then wanted to settle the account, this took 15 minutes, with multiple staff avoiding eye contact. 5 star prices, in a 5 star hotel equated to a 1 start outcome.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Frog4114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2021

We stayed at the JW Marriott for a week and I only dropped into this bar once.

Its a cosy small bar located in the hotel lobby near Citrique Restaurant. Staff were friendly.

I enjoyed a beer whilst waiting for my wife to get ready for us to go out for dinner. Prices were not expensive for a 5 star hotel but they disappointingly don't offer a happy hour.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katelyn C, Owner at Chapter & Verse Bar and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear tommomelbourne,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us and for taking the time to review your experience. We value your feedback and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Chapter & Verse.

We also thank you for providing your feedback regarding happy hour. Please be assured that this will be passed along to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
JW Marriott Gold Coast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2021

Great spot for an afternoon cocktail or casual lunch, we found the staff to be friendly but very slow and incompetent at their jobs. Staff seemed more interested in chatting amongst themselves rather then following up with tables and being proactive in the roles. For a luxury hotel brand, this was very disappointing to see.

Date of visit: February 2021
3  Thank ItalianAlexP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2021

Went there for an impromptu lunch with friends. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and food was fabulous. Highly recommend and the renovations to the hotel are also really well done...

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimnhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Chapter & Verse Bar and Lounge also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Chapter & Verse Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.