We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but not 4 star by a long way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place but not 4 star by a long way.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

we have just returned 1 week stay great location large rooms but let down badly by so called kitchen , blown chipboard at the sink very small half size fridge had to turn up to full to keep drinks cold then froze food. Had to buy coffee mugs egg lifter sharp knife to cut fruit very poorly stocked 4 things in drawer !! No toaster either... Reported to reception ! Shame as everything else good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    299
    174
    94
    68
See reviews for
215
340
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

After reading some negative reviews I was very nervous about my booking.

But upon arrival I was very pleased.

A simple foyer showed the excellent pool and restaurant and I was mostly pleased once I entered the room.

Other than the 'old house carpet' smell the rooms are great. Huge sitting room with a kitchenette (no stove) makes way into a large bedroom and spacious bathroom.

The old carpet smell can be annoying for people but having worked on many renovations this smell is easily bearable for me.

We had two rooms and one room had multiple iron and burns on the carpet.

Other than this the rooms were very good, I paid $300 a night for the Grand Hyatt and $135 I can say value for money is this places strong suit.

Also a good spa, sauna, gym (treadmills and weights machines with 4 foxtel screens) mean great facilities.

The rooms are clean and plain with a small hotel foxtel tv and old style couches but like I said for the price you cannot get better than this.

Location is just two blocks north of surfers main beach and just a couple hundred meters walk to the beach.

Conclusion:
If you can get it on the rates I got $135 weekends and $90 weekdays you really cannot get better value in all of gold coast. This accommodation is worth about $220 a night. Anything more than that you could find better.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel is excellent value for money we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 7 nights costing $450. The facilities are great with secure parking in the basement. The pool was clean and the Gymnasium well equiped. Rooms were large but the kitchen could be improved, I would suggest a toaster, small oven and hotplate and a full size fridge. Otherwise graet value.

Room Tip: Book on the internet for best prices and get a room up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canyoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed at the Australis Sovereign Hotel in January 2012. Had a twin room without balcony and for the price it was good value. The furniture was a little dated but everything was clean and in good condition. We booked directly with the hotel and got a great rate of $109.00 per night which included a full breakfast. We enjoyed the swimming pool which was hardly used by other guests during our stay. The food at the restaurant was delicious and well priced. Staff at the hotel and restaurant were friendly and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: This is a weekly serviced holiday rental hotel, thus a trip to the supermarket to buy essentials lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parklane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I was booked to stay at this dicgraceful place from 20th- 22nd January 2011. The room had 2 burn marks in the carpet caused by an iron been placed on the floor, A large hole in the carpet caused by ripping that was under the end of the bed, holes in the bedroom wall and also a large hole in the door between the bedroom and lounge area and also the bath/ shower was cracked and did not drain properly. When I complained to the staff on duty I was told "what do you expect us to do about it??". I said i can stay at many other places for the same price or less per night and not have a single problem like this at all. the reply form the staff member was " Its australia this is what you get!", the duty manager on saturday morning offered after a while to attempt to change room for me after intiially telling me the whole place was booked out. when I asked if this room now offered would be any different and of a proper standard the reply was I have no idea but i would suspect it is exactly the same condition. The room i was in was 103. I let the place on Saturday morning and am still waiting for my money to be refunded which i was promised would be done. I moved to the Sheraton mirage resort and Spa which I am happy to say took care of my every request and had a room ready for my friend and i within half an hour of calling them

Room Tip: waste of time and money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

As you have noted, unfortunately you did not find our particular hotel to your liking and indeed received a full refund for your accommodation and stayed one night for free. We do have many happy guests who enjoy our customer service and value for money and I would be happy to discuss your concerns with you further personally.

Regards,
Vincent Wilson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.6 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.8 km away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
0.3 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
2.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $81 - $241
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing