We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
536
761
292
100
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
761
292
100
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free popcorn across the road great location beachfront room games room beach view steam room the gold coast down stairs cavill mall amazing views surfers spas facilities ocean accommodation apartment
Filter
Updating list...
1,677 - 1,682 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Thought it was cheap because it was off peak season. No it was cheap because it is cheap. Good location, tiny reception, small lifts, pokey little rooms, minimalist crockery, weather beaten windows and a very challenging shower. Shower head will stay up if the water pressure is high enough and nose dive randomly. Advertised free wifi but not accessible in the higher rooms. $200 out of the credit card is annoying and gives an idea of the clientele it attracts. Not a place to go for a honeymoon. More like a place you go when you don't want to be there. Strictly for business.

Stayed: October 2012
3  Thank Ammolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

From your other TripAdvisor Reviews it seems obvious that you have an issue with all of your accommodations. Your review is not a true reflection of our property and I really did wonder if you had the correct property. Our Reception Area is extremely large and open, our lifts are definitely not pokey (and I confirmed this with Kone Elevators) and our Rooms are large - most Guests and Travellers would readily agree that buildings built 20 years of more ago (which ours is), are much larger than those built in the past 15-20 years. In fact a recent Guest Review highlights the size of our rooms. Our Welcome Letter which is given to all Guests states "if you have any concerns during your stay please let our reception staff know immediately". Had you reported your concerns, our maintenance personnel would have checked your shower rose and water pressure. You forgot to mention that we are located opposite Surfers Paradise Beach, are in the City Centre and have a very large on-site heated pool as well as no-fee on-site parking and many other facilities and services that result in Value for Travellers. We openly state that our accommodations are a minimum 3.5 star, and we know that we offer value for money. The reason for the $200 Security Deposit is discussed in our response to the Guest Review of 27 October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel is one of the most amazing places I have stayed in. It may not be a 5 star hotel but the views and location is more like 10 star. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the facilities were great! There is nothing more you need than what they have to offer. It is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, with a 100 metre walk to Cavill area. It is close to everything - buses, restaurants, shops, etc. The most outstanding feature of this hotel is its view. We were in a studio hotel room on Level 16 and it was just unbelievable. When we first walked in to the place, our breaths were taken away! We had 180 views of the beach and ocean! One whole side of the hotel room was glass. It looked over ALL the beach as well as the city. It was exceptional! I will definitely be staying there again and again and again and again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilyrose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thankyou very much for taking the time to submit your review. It is so very pleasing when Guests enjoy their stay and especially when they have enjoyed all that we offer, including not just our facilities and services but our envious location - opposite a patrolled section of Surfers Paradise Beach, yet in the City Centre.
We now offer Hourly and daily Rental of Laptop Computers and Tablets, which has been introduced since your stay. Our aim is to offer the best value accommodation on the Gold Coast, and reviews such as yours provide much satisfaction to us. Thanks again, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy even more facilities and Guest Services which we intend to introduce in the coming months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Have just returned from another stay at Chateau. Our studio apartment was clean, comfy and with a great view. Came up for the car race and had a wonderful time at this centralized resort. Staff were very friendly and it was great value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thanks for taking the time to submit a Review. We appreciate your positive comments, and look forward to welcoming you again soon. We are currently introducing new Guest Services which we hope will ensure your next stay is even better. Its great to have positive comments, but even better when they are from a previous Guest who chooses our property over the many hundreds available. We think we have a great property - 3.5 star maybe, but unbeatable location, competitive pricing, and excellent facilities..and its great when Guests appreciate it and enjoy it. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

First: Got to the hotel and advised needed to pay 200 dollar security deposit.. advised the staff that no where on the booking did it state that, only stated that you needed to show a valid credit card and id.. was told that thats hotel policy and basically pay it or leave.. when getting to the room the well assume the previous guest stuff was still in the bedside table draws including unused pads and condoms "lovely"... the back of the toilet seat was broken.. when they state that you get a balcony well you dont basically you can open the sliding doors and lean onto the rail but other then that you cant walk out onto it as Ive only got size 7 feet and there were too big to fit onto the balcony thats how small it was.. shower well forget it the water pressure is so bad that an ant would be struggling to feel wet... Then when we checked out, I mention the $200 dollar holding deposit was alot and they should really advise people of the amount before they stay there.. i was informed that " this is to make sure that the credit card is valid and not a fraud card" .. you know how i mention that my booking stated id needed well no one checked my id so that 200 dollars could of been put on anyone card.. then when I asked how long will it be till i get the 200 dollars back, i was told aw just a couple of days... i work for a bank and know that it takes 4 working days for the money to drop off not a couple of days.. stay clear of this joint it is run down the staff are rude and dont believe in customer service there are far nicer places to stay at for the same price... dont let them wreak your gold coast hoilday like there did ours .. 200 dollars is alot to hold from someone on a hoilday!

Room Tip: Tip for a good room, go anywhere but here!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KirraKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

As hard as we try, we know that we cannot or will not please all Guests - and for different reasons. As the Manager, I know that our staff did not say most of the statements you attribute to them. We have a small staff, and all have been here a considerable time, and we have written procedures to prevent inaccurate and ambiguous comments and statements by our staff. Your comments about the room and property are debiberately inaccurate and misleading. All of the On Line Travel Booking Agencies that we sell through, as well as our own website state that a $200 Security Deposit is required. If you booked with us direct, or with Booking.com, your Confirmation Receipt also states very clearly that this deposit needs to be paid at Check-in.Pity you did not get to enjoy our large heated pool, the spa, sauna, steam room, views or the absolute beachfront and city centre location that the majority of our Guests appreciate and enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Not a 5 star, but our room was clean, modern, family-friendly & had absolutely breath taking views of the ocean. Also, being only a couple of blocks from Cavill, was in the perfect position for us as we were able to walk everywhere. Will definately be returning when the we get the oppurtunity!

Room Tip: Definately go for the ocean view option!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thanks for submitting a review on our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our location and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you when you return - and hope that with new and additional facilities and services being introduced that we will again exceed your expectations. And we agree, the Beachfront Rooms are "magical". Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews