We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location - disappointing service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location - disappointing service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have stayed at this resort on and off for over the past 12 years. I have stayed in the hotel room, 1 bed apartment and 2 bed apartment. My stays previously have all been very pleasant. Sun City is in a great location. Its about a 10 minute walk to Cavill Ave, a 1 minute walk to the beach. Other than the hotel room I would describe the rooms as spacious. I stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment this time with family for a five night stay. The room was clean and overall I was happy with it. Upon arrival my three requests were not met (floor leve, outlook, check in time). It appeared to me the most important thing to the receptionist was ensuring she had a $200 credit card for any incidentals. As it can be seen by previous comments (requests for a higher floor) one of my requests was for a higher floor. The receptionist was baffled why anyone would request this, asking why. I had to tell her that they property was on a highway and the traffic noise is an issue. I then waited around the pool area unitl my room was ready and then had to back to reception near 3pm and ask for my room as they didn't bother to contact me on my phone and they certainly were not busy. When finally checked in, I was then offered a $50 credit to a 'restaurant' by the manager on duty. Unfortunately it was not explained to me that it was to be used on a Friday or Saturday night, between 8pm-12pm and did not include food. Not much use to a family! My package included the buffet breakfast and I thought this was quite a good deal the food certainly being above satisfactory. If breakfast was not included I would choose a nearby cafe or make the most of your apartment. (There is a supermarket within walking distance). The pool area looks fabulous and there is a choice of three pools and two spas. There are two waterslides. It is a great area for the kids.However, in the amount of time I have been here the two outdoor pools are freezing. I have never seen many adults use the pool. I think this is a great shame. The indoor pool on the other hand needs some air or at least a door left open or open windows. Its very stuffy. On the last day of my stay and having used the waterslide each day I was given a set of instructions to follow by the over zealous 'Tackleberry' water slide attendant who I watched the previous few days read a book near the indoor pool keeping watch. Great if you have young kids and its too cold to go into the pool, however as a middle age woman having someone yelling at you as you go down a waterslide because you are not holding your arms in the required position, I found this quite humourous not even worthy of a reply. Overall Sun City is not a bad place to stay. it does appear to be luck of the draw which room you will get as the majority are privately owned. The staff on shift just made a difference for me this time which was disappointing. Some experience across the road where the fish are would teach them some customer service where my Qld stay was nicely completed.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are small, consider an alternative. Apartments are spacious, higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    460
    249
    120
    123
See reviews for
638
425
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed for five nights over Easter after landing a killer deal prior to Xmas. The two bedroom two bathroom apartment on the 23rd floor had sensational views out to sea, perfect for a few relaxing ones after the kids went to bed, and the included hot breakfasts made for a solid start to each day.
The pool and waterslides kept the kids busy and tired them out, and Wes the lifeguard was great - kept the hooning down, he was great with the littlies and ensured everyone was safe. Plus he was a top bloke as well.
The appliances were all top quality and there was plenty of room for the four of us.
A couple of points for improvement:
Furniture a bit dodgy - cheap, uncomfortable leatherette lounge, chintzy glass dining table, no stereo. Comfortable beds though!
The kitchen utensils were pretty sparse - no veggie peeler, knives as blunt as cardboard. Good quality utensils should be a given in a place like this!
The catering could have been better. Apart from the sit-down restaurant meals, we found the kids options a bit limited at the pool bar, and inflexible "Sorry, chef won't do a plain burger".
And to echo some of the earlier comments, if the hotel has Foxtel, why not offer a whole bunch of channels - it would cost no more and would make the place more family friendly. No Nick Jnr, Cartoon Network or Boomerang.
But overall - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Book early - plenty of deals on offer. Go the Ocean rooms - the place sounds noisy during the day wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville , Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great resort style hotel, we stayed in the one bedroom appartment on the 15th floor which had ocean & river views, the apartment had every thing you need, good size bedroom with walk inrobe, tv had foxtel but only sports channel (yuk) and one kids channel, Tv also in bedroom, cooking facilities.Plenty of underground parking (although this may be different in peak time) .. tip go to basement 2 heaps more parking. Only about 5-10 minute walk to town. King Tutts mini golf is just across the road as well a a good convenience store. Beach is not even a 5 min walk. There is also 2 water slides at this hotel as well a a little beach, Would I stay there again?? Yes definately.

Room Tip: I got a good deal with Mantra on Sale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very happy with our apartment heaps of room had fantastic views of the beach short walk to cavill st and the nite life kids love the pools and waterslides and beach 50mters away staff were very helpfull just a mean location if you have kids lots of things for them to do while you enjoy a cold one.only one thing if you are having a longer stay that could have been better it would have been good to have more towls with out having to pay more $$$ one each is not enough when you have kids swiming all day and showerling at nite.

Room Tip: two bed room spa was the bees nees beach faceing higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Staying in Sun City Resort booked direct with Mantra Staff.

Easter paying $450 per night- dissapointed.

We booked a THREE bedroom apartment, but we have got a 2 bedroom dual key. I.E A 2 bedroom with a 1 bedroom and bathroom studio attached. This is really bad because the three bedrooms which we should have got are three times the size of this dual key.

The leather couches from Super A Mart- SHOCKING! There is a massive sag in each lounge and you feel the metal bar on your behind, we are using pillows to sit on.

No Foxtel or Austar- You have to pay the resort to watch a movie on the TV.

Tv reception shocking, fussy can only watch 2 channels.

The apartment could do with a spring clean. There is no CD or DVD player.

Three bedroom apartment, only 4 cups, 4 plates, 4 glasses etc. Kitchen cupboard has 1 dish server, 1 mixing bowl & 1 chopping board- that's it.

2 Outdoor plastic chairs arms almost snapped off- unusable but ok we used 2 from the other balcony.

No hand soap provided. Bit scabby when your paying $450 per night.

Resort itself stunning, excellent location, facilities, plenty of parking, pool amazing, foyer clean tidy and inviting. Staff are lovely but this particular room a real let down!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SfamilyMleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.5 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
2.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.9 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $116 - $394
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing