We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BC
Newcastle, Australia

Don’t let the negative reviews dampen your upcoming stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2024via mobile
After reading some of the negative reviews I was stressing out about my stay at Paradise Resort. HOWEVER we had an amazing time and we will definitely be back 😀

All the staff were super helpful and kind the whole stay, even on the first night around 11pm my toddler was sick in the bed and the front of house staff couldn’t be up to our room fast enough to help change bedding.

The food and beverages were great (beware that all drinks are served in plastic cups - even cocktails and wine) but that was fine due to the number of kids running around all the time.

This is a kids resort so it is exactly that. Many reviews complain at the fact there are kids running around and being noisy etc but this is a KIDS RESORT so you need to expect this.

The only downfall was the placement of the soft play ground which was in view from the restaurant. From the other end of the restaurant was view of the toddler water park so this meant my toddler would never eat and wanted to play so my husband and I tag teamed eating so the other could be with our son.

We pre booked parking and had no issues with getting a car park (we did not travel in school holidays so this may have helped). It is clear in the documents when you book your stay, to pre book parking so I called up a few days prior and reserved a space.

I would also recommend to stay in Dusty Digs - spend the money and stay in the newly renovated room. The bedroom and bathroom were stunningly clean and the rooms were quiet. We actually stayed over looking the new construction they’re doing for the adult only area and it was very quiet. Construction was between 9am and 4pm and only 1 or 2 gents working at the time.

Lastly the resort is a great location to walk places. It took us less than 10 minutes every day to walk to Cavill Ave/ the beach and 10 minutes to get to SeaWorld.

We will be back Paradise! I’m glad I didn’t let the negative reviews stress me out too much.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Stay in Dusty Digs (just spend the money and be comfortable especially if you have a longer...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cherie Legget, Guest Services / Front Office at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review
Responded 25 Mar 2024
Thank you for your 5 star rating and great feedback.

We are so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed all we have to offer.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
Two outdoor lagoon swimming pools at Q1 Resort
AU$320
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Free parking
Beachfront
AU$259
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hilton
0.9 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Pool
Beachfront
Retreat suite south
AU$156
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$156
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior view
AU$216
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Pool
Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Swimming Pool
AU$215
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    AU$215
2.7 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Pool
Restaurant
AU$152
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$159
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$230
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$396
  • Expedia.com
    AU$450
2.5 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • all.accor.com
    AU$165
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Room service
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
97
45
14
27
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
45
14
27
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club kids paradise the newly renovated rooms free activities king bunkhouse cruise ship on land water play indoor jungle cake decorating planned activities an ice skating rink resort credit aqua view great resort for kids resort rooms daily buffet breakfast excellent family holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2024 via mobile

We were expecting a fun and relaxing week holiday at paradise resort - it was absolutely not paradise…
Booked a large family room - it was extremely outdated. A small split system in the main room only with a small wall fan in the second room, so watch out for the warmer months. we weren’t able to check in due to waiting for maintenance to fix a broken shelf, after 2pm they let us in if we were ok for maintenance to come pop in - absolutely no issue… and they never came.. the shelf in the kitchen and the cupboard were broken.
On arrival, surprise no parking unless you want to pay $20 a day - there is an option for $6 a day parking down the street but travelling as a family of 5 this was not preferable. Understand there are costs just hate the arrival surprise - this can be simply fixed by emailing or advising when booking.
There are adult only areas ie cardio gym but there is absolutely no governance of these areas - kids all over the gym equipment 3/3 times I visited. The arcade one night had kids trying to tip the machines - and the lack of any staff presence means it is constant chaos.
Food options are ok, coffee is good. Staff in the cafe area were lovely during the day but both nights we ordered received very rude service.
Pool area was out of action for 5 out of the 7 days we stayed here - and obviously a core reason we booked this resort. The blame was on the council for testing but their maintenance and pool management was obviously lacking to have failed the test in the first place.
Complimentary ice skating and laser tag was provided - once the kids have done this once, they weren’t interested in it so for 5 days of no pool access it wasn’t sufficient..

What closed off the whole experience was checking out to both front of house manager and general manager - with no ask of “how was your stay” - this indicates a lack of willingness to understand the experience of their guests and reflective on what you can expect when you stay.

The MVP of the whole stay was the housekeeping - an absolute gem of a women and I can only imagine what she has to clean!!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank S0phsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeet Ghia, Guest Services / Front Office at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're truly sorry to hear that your recent stay fell short of your expectations, especially with the unexpected closure of our water park and pool. We understand how disappointing and frustrating this must have been for you and your family. In response to the unexpected closure, we made every effort to ensure that our guests still had access to enjoyable activities. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2024

4 day trip for a group of 4 families that travelled from all around Oz to celebrate a birthday.
Save your money and get a airbnb.
Waterpark wasn't working for 3 days.
They did offer laser tag session and ice Skating (which we had already paid for) but also had someone with us with high needs so waterpark was the original draw card.
Seem to be constant text of what is not working.
Rooms are ordinary.
Place is dated.
Food wasn't to bad, penguins restaurant was average but the remainder were good.
We did have a ball with the trivia though, and the kids liked the outdoor movie.
Would I go again?.
Nope.
Just dont post any concerns or negative feedback on their posts on Facebook....they delete them 🤣

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeet Ghia, Guest Services / Front Office at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Dear Guest, thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the closure of our pools and water park during your recent stay. In response to the unexpected closure, we made every effort to ensure that our guests still had access to enjoyable activities. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

The staff are great. Extremely helpful and friendly. It's a great place for all ages as they have activities and facilities for everyone. The kid's club and teens club gives the parents time to recharge without any worries. The public transportation and shuttle services are right at the doorstep, which makes it easier to get the family around the Gold Coast without having to spend time driving in unknown traffic conditions, even the parents can relax.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cherie Legget, Guest Services / Front Office at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to offer your valued feedback and 5 out of 5 review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to access all our facilities and enjoy the local attractions also.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

Don't check-in or stay on a Saturday!
My husband, 2 children (2yo +4yo) and I checked into the resort on Saturday to a shock. We walked into a very crowded resort with nearly every second parent drinking either cocktails, champagne or beer.... men lounging on the pool beds with literal 6 packs of beer. I'm all for a drink by the pool, but not excessively whilst being responsible for kids. 7.30pm that night I saw 2 grown men fall into the pool from drunkness Staff told me that alcohol can be taken and consumed anywhere in the resort.

Pools - We booked the resort purely for the kids (5yrs and under) pool area with a slide. Unfortunately it was closed due to high chlorine levels for the duration of our 4night stay - we understand that can't be helped but it was unfortunate. The bigger kids slides area was fun but if you've got little kids then you need to constantly be present with them on the park. My main concern was all the bigger kids pushing little kids out of the way and being irresponsible. There was a staff member with a whistle that occasional came round to tell off any unsafe behaviour which was good but i felt there almost needed to be someone there at all times.
The carpeted pool bed "deck" was covered in mould.

Kids activities - I feel this is what made the trip for us. Yes they come at either a $5 or $10 cost per child per activity but it broke up the day. Staff could've been more interactive however.

Rooms and resort in general need a complete renovation.

Room tip: Don't check in or stay on a Saturday. Watch your kids. Try and bring food supplies with you or go to the supermarket during your stay.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeet Ghia, Guest Services / Front Office at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're truly sorry to hear that your recent stay fell short of your expectations, especially with the unexpected closure of our water park and pool. We understand how disappointing and frustrating this must have been for you and your family. In response to the unexpected closure, we made every effort to ensure that our guests still had access to enjoyable activities. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024

We LOVE Paradise Resort! This was our second stay and this time in their newly refurbished rooms, it felt like luxury compared to the older room we stayed in previously - not that we minded as this stay is all about my kids! The staff are so warm and lovely, they all know how to interact with kids. The facilities are amazing! Spent our day by the waterpark, pool & spa and hit up the ice skating at night which i highly recommend. We are local and LOVE our staycation at the Paradise Resort. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Explorer61957368731
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cherie Legget, Guest Services / Front Office at Paradise Resort Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you for your 5 star rating and valued comments.

So pleased you and your family loved Paradise Resort! Glad you enjoyed all our facilities, rooms and found our staff to warm and helpful.

We do look forward to your next visit. See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews