We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trendy and funky for the under 40's”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have visited the QT many times but this is the first time since the reno. It has really come a long way since it was the dated goldcoast international. Their marketed audiance is definantly for the young or young at heart, so I wouldnt be planning any 80th boring birthday parties their. Our only gripe is that the pool bar needs to be opened more regularly. We visited on the weekend, It was a little overcast but there were heaps of people in the pool area and it was rather annoying having to use the phone at the pool to organise drinks as the young girl at the other end, didn't always understand the order, and we'd have to wait 10-20 minutes for the drinks to arrive, so it was more of a hassel, so there were times when we wanted a drink but decided to go with out. PLEASE PLEASE for our next visit. OPEN THE POOL BAR. The make your own lemonade is a fantastic Idea and It really sets a point of difference to other hotels in the area. keep it up.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms arnt worth the extra money, as the hotel is not right on the beach. you have to pee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveller1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear familytraveller1984,

A QT regular! That's what I love to hear. Even better that you see us getting prettier and prettier each time you stay. There's nothing better than knowing we are improving!

Sonds like you make full use of the hotel and it's services and that we are hitting the mark on most of them.

The Pool Bar - yes, this one is a very contentious issue, even amongst the QT management team! We were opening the pool bar all day 7 days a week, and the poor darlings would often stand out there by themselves in the sun all day without a single customer (overcast weather usually means everyone is at the shops or the amusement parks). I completely agree with you that we need to sort out a system where poolside guests can order through the pool bar. I promise we will look into this and have a solution by the next time you stay with us.

Thanks again for the lovely review.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,497 - 2,501 of 2,779 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Firstly I chose this hotel after lots of research as I love design hotels. This hotel lived up to my expectations and more, it is very well done out. I think out of all the hotels in Surfers, only the new Sea temple residences look slightly better but are 2-3 times the price.

We got a great deal here by joining the Rydges hotel scheme. i think we paid 200 a night which included breakfast each day in the amazing buffet style eatery Bazaar. One of the best breakfasts I have experienced on my travels, definite 5 star quality. I could write a 500 word review on it alone. Also in the package was a meal in the evening at bazaar on one of our nights stay which come to the value of 70 dollars per person. Plus a 50 dollar tab in the stingray bar. So all in all for 200 odd dollars it was an absolute steal in my opinion.

The service in this hotel is very good, some other reviews have complained about the poor customer service. God knows what hotel they have been staying at ! i would say it is almost too friendly USA style but in a good way and a lot more genuine. The reception girls were great and the lovely lady who carried our bags from our car to the room was also very friendly ! I almost felt guilty letting her carry our bags in a non sexist way *they were heavy bags". As for the Brazilian bar girl in Stingray, she was great !! She kept coming out to the pool area where we were relaxing to bring us new drinks as the pool bar was not open as it was a Tuesday. Good service again !!

The rooms were great and looked the part and the bathrooms looked great too, good size rooms as well with a nice balcony and great views.

You are probably thinking why am i not giving it 5 stars.... Well the first thing that is annoying is that they charge for everything !! Yes the internet !! (Come on OZ, sort it out) The rest of the world stopped charging for the internet years ago. I am surprised they dont charge for the electricity you use or the air con. For a 5 star hotel I am shocked that they charge for water in the room, and they place the bottles right by your bedside as if to tempt you in the middle of the night. Then they charge for the coffee you use !! What 5 star hotel in the WORLD charges for coffee or tea? Jesus that is tight ! I mean they do give you a welcome lemonade which was a nice novelty but to charge for coffee and water is a joke. The next major problem is that the shower floods the bathroom, there is no way you can avoid soaking the floor. And one other last gripe....The bathrooms were a little dirty and for a new bathroom i was a little surprised by this. Although in their favour as I walked past someone elses room i did notice a cleaner on her hands and knees scrubbing the floor, so maybe it was a one off. Also the air freshner they use or some cleaning product makes the bedrooms and hallways smell like an old peoples home (Granny flat scent ).

I would stay here again as it is so cheap but if they want to step it to 5 star they should make basic stuff like water free and maybe think about valet parking as well ?

Room Tip: Get the package that includes amazing breakfast, free dinner in Bazaar and 50 dollars in Stingray ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phukdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

What a great hotel. We were there on the 23rd and 24th of March. It is such an interesting retro concept and is a surprisingly funky hotel (their refurb is phenomenal). We heard about it on trip advisor and it lived up to every expectation. Stingray, the bar, was an amazing bar with some really funky people. It does close at midnight though so be warned time goes quick.

On top of this the bazzar, their restaurant, is another awesome experience. I won't go into it too much here as you have to experience it. It was simply the best smorgasboard we have ever had, with their choice and quality of food presented like a market. Simply amazing. It's got to be seen to be believed.

The staff were sensational. They were all proud to be working there and this really showed with their care and attention.

The only thing I would say is after experiencing all the best of the hotel we tried the Japanese restaurant and we were expecting something amazing after the high standard everything else delivered on. Sorry but it didn't deliver to the same level. No music and the staff were not of the same level. Just not as attentive with the food or service.

Another small point is that after looking through the bill, we noticed we were charged for our dinner which was included in our package, although it almost seems unfair to say given our wonderful experience.

Don't hesitate in booking here. You wont regret it. It is simply an example of how a guest should be treated. I hope they can keep it up.

Room Tip: get a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear cosmocouple,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know that you had a wonderful time at QT. Sounds like you really got in and experienced everything that the property has to offer.

Stingray and Bazaar are really fantastic experiences. Stingray has consistently out performed our expectations, and Bazaar is number one on trip advisor which is wonderful after having only been open a year!

So sorry about the bill mix up. I have seen two of those over the past couple of weeks that have been noted on TripAdvisor, so it's time for a refresher for our staff! I promise we will do a full procedural run through with them this week and make sure they are on top of it.

Thanks again for sharing the QT love.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

From the time we arrived at the newly refurbed QT I was amazed with the gorgeous furnishings, the funky decor and the vibrant atmosphere. The QT staff went over and beyond with ensuring we were welcomed and relaxed as soon as we walked through the doors.

Reception staff were speedy and loves the retro themed outfits, snazzy! Concierge were insistent upon us enjoying our stay and would not hear of us taking our own bags to our room, perfect! As soon as we went up to our room we were super excited with the luxurious feel and ooze of class in our room.

Loved the bed, plush and comfy. Loved the tub, loves the nespresso, and overall loved our stay. Ate at Fixx, great sandwiches and coffee.

Beautiful stay, excellent service and fantastic hotel. Will be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Hotelle11,

Now that is a perfect review! From the decor, to the staff, to the rooms. We just adore reading notes like this, and it makes every second spent at work all the more worthwhile.

We are such a house-proud little group, there's nothing better than seeing that we are delivering a perfect stay to our guests.

Just got to make it happen every time so every review on here is like yours!

We hope to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My partner and i stayed at this hotel from 18 - 25 March 2012 for a holiday. We arrived at approx. 2:30pm. Concierge was helpful taking our bags and later bringing them up to our room promptly.

Check in was quick however we were disappointed when given an ocean view room on the 3rd floor (this is actually the lowest) as we had requested a high level when booking months earlier and re confirmed this request approx. a week before. Reception staff were unhelpful and stated that the hotel was booked and to come back over the next two days to see if another room had become available on a higher floor. We were also informed that guests only staying for a short amount of time were allocated higher floors rather than guests staying for longer periods of time. This amazes me given that we were spending significantly more on accommodation than someone only staying overnight on a Saturday. I also think that there could be a security issue on this level as you could easily get from balcony to balcony on this level and the balcony doors do not appear to be overly secure.

The lemonade arrived promptly and was a nice touch. The hotel has obviously addressed the previous issue of this arriving late or not at all in some cases.

Our room was clean, neat and tidy. The renovation to the bathroom was nice and so was the room's decor. The bed was large however too soft for our liking. It felt like you were sinking in it and the pillows were much the same. We are used to a medium bed. If you prefer firm, these are not for you. Our ocean view from the 3rd floor was disappointing and not worth the price we were paying. It was obstructed by numerous buildings in front of us. In addition to this, the noise heard on this level at night was unbearable from street noise to the air conditioner unit just below.

The following day my partner and i attended reception late afternoon and informed the girl there of our situation. She was helpful who then spoke to someone else on reception in the back office (possibly a manager). She was helpful and swapped our room to the 20th floor. She explained to us that there would be painters who may be going up and down past the balcony throughout the day as they were re painting. It turned out that the painters were not even on our side of the building and we only saw them once painting the entire time. We were much happier given the amount of time we were spending here and the amount of money we were spending on accommodation.

The view from the 20th floor was amazing. It was nice sitting on the balcony in the afternoons. I would recommend requesting a high floor if you are paying for an ocean view room. I would think that anywhere from the 15th floor and up would be good.

The buffet breakfast at Bazaar was fantastic. The food was fresh and there was a great variety of selections to suit everyone's tastes from bacon and eggs, made to order omelettes, fresh fruits, yoghurts, danishes and pastries as well as European options too. I really liked the drinks selection as there was a variety of juices, milks and smoothies. The staff at Bazaar were always polite. A special mention to Rachel who was friendly every morning.

The buffet dinner at Bazaar was also fantastic. Our waiter Braydon was informative and attentive and deserved our tip. The price for the buffet was $69 per person which we thought was more than reasonable given the quality of food on offer and the fact that you would be paying this or more for a 3 course meal anywhere else. Wine list was also good and reasonably priced. Make sure you make a reservation if dining on a Friday or Saturday night as it is very busy.

The pool and spa was nice which we used one afternoon. As the weather was nice, there were a number of people there and not enough pool chairs / lounges. I can imagine during peak periods this would not be sufficient enough. The swim up bar was open too. The bar tender was friendly and the cocktails were nice and reasonably priced. We also ordered wedges which took over 30 mins to get to us. After asking where they were once we were told that they would be out in 2 minutes but it was at least another 15 before they actually arrived. We didn't want to be annoying and ask again though as the bar tender was quite busy at the bar.

The bar Stingray was also good. We had a drink there before dinner on Saturday night. What was strange was that we were asked for ID at the "door" despite the fact that we are both clearly over 18 (late 20's) and were hotel guests. I think the bar is trying to be more of a nightclub on a Friday and Saturday night. It was extremely noisy and could be heard throughout the ground floor as we discovered when we were trying to checkout that night after dinner as we had an early flight.

Upon checkout we encountered the same girl on reception as we checked in. She could not explain the itemising of services on our invoice and had to get assistance to do this from another girl on reception. This was frustrating, time consuming and made all the harder by the loud noise coming from the bar. It was finally rectified after some time but what was interesting was that the other girl on reception could also not explain what some of the charges were and negatives on the invoice either! The invoice was a little odd.

Overall Pro's:

* Location (close to shops, restaurants, beach, attractions, walking distance to Cavill Ave yet not too close as night time noise is a factor to consider on a Friday and a Saturday)
* Staff (most encountered were polite, informative and helpful. They appeared happy to be at work and of service)
* Ocean views from high floor
* Daily maid service (efficient)
* Towels were nice and soft
* Buffet breakfast and buffet dinner (definitely best we have had)
* Full size hair dryer
* Umbrellas
* Ironing board with good iron
* Bar fridge can be used to store own food / drink items (although not a large amount)
* Safe

Overall Con's:

* Hotel still feels a little unfinished (painting still continuing, balcony gardens on 3rd floor need landscaping / cleaning as they were full of old cigarette butts, and there is currently temporary fencing surrounding the hotel)
* Shower leaked water onto the floor excessively (required mopping up after each shower with additional towels)
* Curtains appeared old and worn (I don't think these were replaced during the renovation. Ours had stains on them and what appeared to be cigarette burns)
* Beds and pillows are very soft
* Not enough pool chairs / lounges
* Bar is noisy on a Friday and Saturday night and is trying to be a night club (felt sorry for older guests there)

Would i stay here again: Yes as i would like to see some small improvements made and experience the changes
I would recommend this hotel to: Couples, business people, anyone aged between 18 and 40.
I would not recommend this hotel to: Families (doesn't seem to cater for them, has a younger feel / vibe, staff are quite young, can be noisy also)

Room Tip: If staying in an ocean view room, request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djk085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear djk085,

Wow! What a comprehensive review. I won't run through the entire reviews responses here, however I will let you know that all pro's and con's will be suitable celebrated or addressed.

Our painting work is almost finished which is a relief. The outside of the building looks so fresh and beautiful now which has made it all worth it for us. I am so glad that you didn't have any inconvenience associated with them being near your window.

We have had a few comments about the number of sun loungers on here now, and we are working on a solution to optimise the space by the pool more economically, so next time you come to QT there may be a new concept out there!

We would love to take care of you again, and we really appreciate the time taken to post this review. It's just as valuable to us as it is to fellow TA users.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,370 reviews
0.8 km away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,443 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
0.7 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,523 reviews
1.3 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $178 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing