We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
AU$180
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
AU$180
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
AU$180
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Roz W
Singapore, Singapore

Mostly brilliant!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
First, let's get the negative out of the way. We stayed a week, and were excited to be staying in one of the tallest buildings on the GC, even if it was with a street view rather than sea view. Maybe the staff decided we weren't really Meriton worthy, because we were stuck in room 102, right near the giant janitors room with a permanent slick of water from all the mopping equipment. Once we decided to close the blinds for the duration of our stay, the view of a dodgy two level building opposite wasn't so much of an issue, and hey, the lifts took hardly any time at all from the first floor to ground level. So, pluses and minuses.
My other gripe is that housekeeping came on day six of seven. I wouldn't care if housekeeping didn't come at all, but it would have been nice to have more than one toilet roll provided for the week (to be fair to housekeeping, they did make the bed on day three or four, and provided fresh towels, but not toilet paper or extra coffee/tea). We purchased toilet paper from the nearby Coles on day four and did the walk of shame back to the Meriton in preference to calling the front desk.
The information sheet also said that rubbish shutes were provided on each level. We searched, but could not find one on the first floor.
Now, to the great parts of the Meriton Surfers Paradise. The inside and outside pools were both absolutely fabulous, with huge spas attached. The view from the inside pool was stunning. Fresh towels were constantly being brought in, and it was all impeccably clean, as was the gym.
The one bedroom apartment that we had was spacious and well laid out, and the king bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in. Could somebody tell me what brand the bed is, and how I can buy one?
Location wise, this Meriton can't be beaten. We walked twice to Seaworld, a flat, beautiful walk of around five kilometres. The Esplanade is metres away, so getting anywhere from Main Beach to Broadbeach is a delightful walk (or it is just as easy to hire a bike). There is a nearby park with peacocks, geese and ducks, and along the Esplanade there are night markets that are run on weekends. And if you do need to run to Coles for toilet paper, or anything else, it is only a couple of blocks away. As are a dazzling array of restaurants. The tram/light rail is literally across the road.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this Meriton again. I just hope that we look worthy enough for a room a bit higher up. Maybe the second floor?
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda S, Marketing at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello RozW735

Thank you for the time taken to share your review. It's great to hear there were many brilliants during your stay in apartment style accommodation at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise. Different categories of suites are located on different levels with varying views throughout the building, on the lower levels with very limited view are our Standard Suites, which is the room category that your booking fell under. Should you prefer to be on higher levels with a view we do have our Studio Coast Suites. Members of our Guest Service team are available onsite 24/7 to make sure your stay is comfortable, please don’t hesitate to contact them during your stay for any assistance required. We value your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Online Marketing Coordinator
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Large Heated Pool and Surrounds
Booking.com
AU$127
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Agoda.com
    AU$106
  • Vio.com
    AU$114
0.3 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$269
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$269
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
  • Priceline
    AU$269
0.5 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Pool
Beachfront
Retreat suite south
vocoHotels
AU$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Booking.com
    AU$159
1.0 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$365
  • Hotels.com
    AU$365
  • Expedia.com
    AU$364
  • Priceline
    AU$365
2.1 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
Novotel
AU$198
  • Booking.com
    AU$198
  • Algotels
    AU$153
  • Priceline
    AU$198
0.7 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$312
  • Agoda.com
    AU$200
  • Priceline
    AU$222
0.6 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$242
  • Priceline
    AU$287
  • Hotels.com
    AU$287
0.3 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Free Wifi
Pool
Two outdoor lagoon swimming pools at Q1 Resort
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$295
  • Agoda.com
    AU$251
  • Hotels.com
    AU$295
1.1 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Free parking
Beachfront
The Pool at the Australis Sovereign Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$174
  • Agoda.com
    AU$115
  • Priceline
    AU$124
0.5 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • CrownePlaza.com
    AU$199
  • Booking.com
    AU$199
  • Priceline
    AU$199
2.4 km from Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
753
303
168
127
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
753
303
168
127
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool beautiful room across the road ocean view amazing views tram stop gold coast late check a great stay light rail great facilities bedroom apartment onsite balcony level surfers sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2024 via mobile

First the positives - we had an amazing view of part of the beach and a lot of the southern end of the Gold Coast city (but for $800 pn we would have expected literal oceanfront, plus a bigger balcony). The Gold Coast beach itself is also beautiful, unbeatable for walks and there is a patrolled area almost directly in front of the hotel.
Now the negatives- $800 pn for 2 bed sky suite with side view is excessive, no housekeeping, half open sugar wrapper left in kitchen, broken glass in dishwasher, 1 dishwasher tablet for 2 night stay, 2 toilet rolls total between two bathrooms, carparking was extra on top. No rubbish removal nor anywhere to remove rubbish to. No clothes airer for wet towels or swimwear. The car pull in area at front of hotel is hopelessly inadequate, how did the council ever approve this? Clogged with unattended cars. The paid parking area under the hotel is ridiculously tight, good thing we just parked and left the car. Blood stains on stairs from level 3 of carpark into hotel, maybe one day the cleaning staff might find this and remove it. The building is a mix of residential plus holiday, so expect to ride the lift with people permanently living there including their dogs, some of which jump up. You’d also have no idea what’s the source of wet areas in the lifts - drips from people swimming at pool or beach, or dog urine, who could tell - why aren’t these people in their own dedicated lift? Paid extra for later 1pm checkout, but it didn’t occur to reception staff to ensure our key access worked until 1pm, which took 2 trips to reception to rectify and nil apologies for the inconvenience.
While the beach itself is fabulous, the adjoining streets are not fabulous. Having visited the area for over 40yrs, we are shocked. Many vacant shops, rubbish, lack of upkeep and grime, shady characters everywhere. Sorry, this is no longer a family friendly area. Restaurants are now all ethnic, every third shop is a massage shop, various drug affected people easy to be seen, no police or security to be seen. Council and govt have dropped the ball entirely. We’ll try a different area next time.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Renee1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda S, Marketing at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Hello Renee1901

Thank you for the time taken to share your feedback. We're sincerely sorry for the shortfalls mentioned. Please reach out to the Property Team direct on fb.qld5@meritonsuites.com.au so that they can investigate the matter further. We value your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Online Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Great location and great service. I would personally like to thank Erena for assisting us in our stay from 11/03/24 - 15/03/24 and providing us exceptional service when needed. The view was fantastic and it was very clean. We will be returning when we come back.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda S, Marketing at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Hello 657simony

Thank you for the time taken to share your review. We love nothing more than hearing that you received exceptional service from our team member, Erena when staying in apartment style accommodation with a fantastic view at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise. At Meriton Suites we're dedicated to ensuring our guests have comfortable and memorable stays. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Online Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

Check in takes for ever. Longest question and was told we could not check in till 3pm. Definitely do not stay here. Worst check in experience ever. We have a funeral that stars at 4pm and will be lucky to make it Happen by one person on desk and the check in question is put the door

Room tip: Do check in to this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank psimpson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda S, Marketing at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Hello psimpson67

It saddens us when we receive reviews such as yours as we pride ourselves on offering exceptional experiences to our guests. We understand our guests may arrive earlier than when our check in time begins. Should your suite not be ready to occupy our Guest Service Team is more than happy to store any luggage for you safely so you can attend meetings or events and not be late. We value your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Online Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Spend a night in Meritons 2 Bedroom Ocean Sky Suite, had incredible uninterupted views of the ocean, amazing spacious apartment, great facilities and pool area and friendly staff that assisted me with all of my requests. Will return to stay.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda S, Marketing at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Hello joesZ598NF

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise. We're thrilled that you had an amazing night staying in spacious apartment style accommodation with uninterrupted views of the ocean and friendly service from the team. At Meriton Suites we're dedicated to ensuring our guests have comfortable and memorable stays. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Online Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Came up to gold coast for a family reunion, stayed for 4 days. Lady vidhi at the front desk was lovely. The pool on level 5 was clean with a great view. The kids loved the pool. Room was clean and perfect. Our room was absolutely beautiful. We loved our stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Yangchris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda S, Marketing at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Hello Yangchris123

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise for such a special occassion. It's fabulous that you had an enjoyable stay in absolutely beautiful apartment style accommodation and loved the view and indoor pool. At Meriton Suites comfortable accommodation matched with exceptional service is our goal for all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards,
Amanda
Online Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews