We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining dinner... but order fried rice”

KooKoo Teppanyaki and Lounge Bar
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Great food and service. Always good to see your food cooked in front of you- even better when the chefs show off their skills. However, I feel you only get the full show if someone at your table orders fried rice. I have been their previously when no one ordered fried rice and I feel that half the show was missing. Meals are also smallish and portion sizes can be lacking if you select a banquet. But banquets are also good to try a bit of everything.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 162 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2016

All the staff were great and very accommodating to any requests. Two of them even gave chopstick lessons to our group. The chef was highly skilled with a great personality that made the evening fun. Food was great and reasonably priced for teppenyaki. i would highly recommend KooKoo for a great night out.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sm21blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Had a teppanyaki dinner here on a Saturday night recently. The chef's are as good as any teppanyaki place I have ever been. There were great options as well. I have had better food (it was a tad bland), but the way it was cooked was great. Will definitely go again. Location very central, and staff excellent. Would recommend.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cappaman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Pros: very enjoyable experience, loved the show put on by the chef it was entertaining, interactive and exciting! Food was very fresh and delicious, the prawns were the freshest and juiciest I've ever had at a restaurant. The cocktails were affordable and yum!

Cons: being on a date but being sat with people I didnt know was a bit awkward.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Funmummy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Prices have increased but the quality, flavours and quantity are well worth the price! She has kept everything as reasonable as possible. Beef was juicy and tender. Comes with amazing sauces, salad, and miso soup. Great atmosphere with talented chefs!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank 395deniseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed KooKoo Teppanyaki and Lounge Bar also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Benowa, Gold Coast
 

Been to KooKoo Teppanyaki and Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.