We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Service at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hilton Service at its best!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I, free of children for the first time in many years, decided to stay at the newly opened Hilton in Surfers Paradise over Easter 2012. Brand new hotel, excellent weather forecast and a quick journey from our Brisbane home. Tick, tick, tick. We arrived early (by 8.30am) having taken our 18 year old daughter to Brisbane Airport en route. We had a bit of a laugh about the time we would reasonably expect to check. I was the most cautiously optimistic with 2 pm. The husband (generally less optimistic) offered 4pm. How pleased were we with our welcome. We have (on many occasions) been berated for arriving so early, but this was not the case at the Hilton. Our charming check in lady was pleased to advise that, whilst the room was not quite ready, the occupants had checked out and would we like to have breakfast in the lounge whilst our room was cleaned? Thank you...yes. The lounge on level 15 offered the most beautiful views of one of the most spectacular beaches on the planet. We were happy to while away 1 hour whilst our room was prepared. We were in our room by 9.30 am! The room was great, we were on level 12 with some views to the north. This hotel with its obviously well trained staff ( we could not fault anyone who looked after us, from the lounge staff who were struggling with full occupancy to reception and the lovely staff in the restaurant) is flawed only by its location. Thank goodness for double or triple glazing. The hotel is located on Orchid Avenue which is a mish mash of nightclubs, bars and eateries which comes into its own after midnight! Suffice to say Orchid Avenue has its own police station and lockup! Loved the hotel and the staff, hated the location in by far the sleaziest part of the Gold Coast! Of course, we are not there for clubbing just a spot of r and r! Our overall feeling was that this is a hotel, not a resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower levels may suffer from "nightclub noise"...Of course, a room on the eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyfunBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear FamilyfunBrisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am really glad to hear that your Easter break was so enjoyable and we were able to accommodate you with an early check in and you found the breakfast in the lounge to your liking.

We get many comments on the location of the hotel, some really enjoy the proximity to the clubs, others the beach and as we do try and cater for all travellers I am glad that you found the facilities in the hotel to your liking and really enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your feedback to our fantastic team member and I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on your stay.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,263
    894
    529
    301
    179
See reviews for
1,085
1,031
103
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It was dissappointing to stay at this hotel, if you are after more of the luxurious feel. This is more of a business hotel with the decor designd to look minimalist but failed miserably. The design was lifeless and had no soul and looked dated and tired despite being fairly new. The staff uniform tried to be too cool with silly bandannas for the ladies and could look quite tacky on some of the satff. The mens uniform definitely looked better than the ladies and almost achieved the miami coolness but not quite there.
The front office staff we experienced was not pleasant (she happened to be the assistant manager) and she pretty much set the tone of how our stay was going to be. We had booked via Expedia but our booking did nt reach the Hilton in time so we had to try to email her the confimaton via our phone without success. The staff did call Expedia and was able to confirm our booking but had to enter the booking manually. she didint seem too pleased about this. She seemed quite inpatient with us when both my husband and i asked her a question which surprised me. Other Front office staff were more helpful and pleasant so possibly this might have been out of the norm.
When we finally checked into our room, the design was very basic and boring, as i mentioned had no soul. There wasnt any out door furniture on the balcony either. It seems there were other design flaws to the hotel. The pool did not have much sun unless you used it in the morning which is a shame as it was one of the better features of the hotel. The noise of the seedy nightclubs woke us up at 3am and was very difficult to block out. The worse part of the stay was whenever the rooms next to us closed their doors, our bed and room would shake. The next morning we asked to be transferred to another room and we were happy to pay for it as the noise and vibrations was unbearable. The Front office staff this time, was understanding and helpful and she seemed to be aware of the noise and the problems of the room shaking. I dont understand why Hilton wont fix the doors if they are aware of the problem.
When we moved to the 1 bedroom apartment in the tower, we were greeted with the smell of rotting garbage on the floor! They have a rubbish shute on every floor which was where the smell was comig from. My husband asked the cleaners to fix the smell which they did the best they could despite not being able to completely mask the smell. the balcony did have some furniture but needed a good clean.
Some positives of our stay was the in room dining- food is delicious. we ordered the club sandwhich and the fried rice and that was great. Also, the salt grill restaurant is fabulous. its such a shame the hotel does not reflect the same standard.
Some other negatives- the front office promised us a bottle of wine to apologise for the check in process we had to endure but this never turned up, tomato sauce and salt and pepper not turning up when we requested for in room dining, the in house paid dvd on entetainment system had some issues and when we asked for help they said they couldnt do much as IT was not in on a public holiday.
Overall- for a luxurious , pamperng hotel do not stay here. stay at the palazzo versace or mirage hotel at southport instead.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children aged 5 and 3) together with another relative of ours checked in at the serviced apartment section (room 22603) of this hotel on Apr 16. We have been quite disappointed with this hotel because:

1. the housekeeping service was poor - e.g. it took them 7 hours from request to finally deliver a cot for our infant - by that time he was really cranky as it already passed his usual sleep time;

2. the reception never ever answered our calls - instead an answering machine was always turned on, particularly afterhours. Even when we left a message, no one tried to call back and on multiple occasions I had to personally visit the reception desk 26 floors down from where we were staying - is it the kind of service we should expect from a 5-star residence?

3. Internet - in the same apartment there were 3 adults. One was using a laptop, the other 2 were using iPads - and astonishingly we were billed 4 (four) internet usage packages per 24 hours!!! After negotiation they were 'happy' to reduce it to 2 but I have never experienced anything like this - we have been to 5-6 star hotels all over the world and only one internet usage package was charged per room per 24 hours!.

Well, at least the people who I was dealing with regarding the above issues were not rude - but not particularly helpful either. The only positive about our stay was the location of this residence.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kev_the_wombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here last week with my wife and family. Great, brand new facility. The staff in the hotel and in the cafe (near reception) were great. Friendly and offered us everything we asked for, which was much as the apartment was well appointed. The couches were a little firm but I guess that means they'll last. Can't blame an owner for choosing that.
The beds were comfy and as is always the case in Hiltons, the linen was excellent.
The location, while the coast is a mixed bag for most people, we like it. The specific location of the hotel, being in the heart of "stomach" of Surgers, while not great, is central. You can walk to the beach or any number of restaurants and cafe's. Mind you, be careful and specific because some charge as tho they don't care whether you return.
The hotel was lovely and we will return.

Room Tip: We found this on wotif via one of their deals. Good value. Ask for a view of the ocean either befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iPJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the Hilton for only one night - but from what I saw of it - it was fantastic.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartment booked through WOTIF.

NEGATIVES:

The only negative I would have about the experience was that the car park entrance is really hard to find. We had to drive the block twice to try and find the entrance. We are from Brisbane so know the Gold Coast quite well, so I would think it would be twice as hard for a tourist to the area. It may need to be better sign posted so people at least know which street to turn in to.

POSITIVES:

- The location is sensational... right in the heart of surfers so you step out and you are literally steps from the main drag of Cavill Avenue and a walk to a large selection of restaurants.
- The check-in staff were great. We arrived 4 hours prior to the standard check in time but fortunately for us were let straight in to our rooms. Working in Tourism I know this isn't always possible but it was great that we were able to do this
- The apartment we stayed in was a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom. Although it was compact it served its purpose. The kitchen was galley style but had everything a young family might need (microwave, dishwasher, fridge, stove top, ample cuttlery/glasses etc etc). There were 2 televisions (one in the living room / one in the main bedroom) so if the kids were asleep in the second bedroom parents could retreat to the main bedroom and not keep the kids awake as the living room adjoined the second room.
- The pool area was amazing. Beautiful comfortable lounges, a choice of pools (one with a bar beside it), and indoor pool, spa and sauna which is great for when the weather is against you.

All in all it was a great experience and we would consider returning to the Hilton for a longer stay on our next visit without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell76Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
0.7 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
0.2 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.6 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
1.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel

Property: Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): $188 - $360
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location. The new signature restaurant at Hilton Surfers Paradise, Catch, offers a coastal atmosphere, and a menu focusing on fresh, sustainable seafood. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing