We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
MarriottUSD 283
Hotels.comUSD 283
Booking.comUSD 299
PricelineUSD 284
CheapTicketsUSD 283
eDreamsUSD 299
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
87
50
7
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
50
7
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convection microwave full size fridge salt water lagoon pool bar citrique restaurant mini kitchen spacious bedroom the gold coast star resort king bed great holiday washing machine and dryer short walk to the beach family holiday mvc misono pools
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2019

Many times the staff make (or break) a holiday. The Marriott has benefited from a number of staff achievements this trip. Particularly in the restaurants.

Our 8 and 9 year olds insisted that we return to the Citrique restaurant - upon further enquiry it was because of Claire - a wonderful 20something waitress who engaged with the kids beautifully and made them feel connected to the dinning experience...and of course making it fun. She made a surprise appearance in the breakfast buffet the next morning the kids couldn’t contain their excitement and surprise.

Of course I should say that she did help make the evening with her fun engagement and great service. Good job Claire!

Following on we also ate at Misono and again the staff were incredibly accommodating of our “nuggets and chips” child (Japanese Restaurant) and made what could have been a difficult menu navigation easy. Thanks to CJ and Herman!

Oh and the pools really are deliciously “step in” warm and the kids love the fish!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Johnson2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club At Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Hi Daniel, thank you for your kind words for the team! We appreciate your review and hope to see your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2019

We got a great deal on a studio room with king bed and pull out sofa-bed for 3 nights, as part of a promotion for us to join the Marriot Vacation Club. The small kitchenette was perfect for easy breakfasts and lunches when we didn't feel like eating out. Full size fridge and dishwasher and convection microwave were all put to good use. The bathroom was huge and the only issue we had was the shower- it was terrible. Low pressure and either scalding hot or luke warm. Possibly the worst shower i've experienced in any hotel.
The room decor was very nice and the bed was super comfy. The resort facilities are world class. Great gym, great pools and spas. Get in early to get pool chairs though! The saltwater lagoon pool with live fish was a hit with our daughter as was the water slide. Pool bar was well priced and had great staff. Check-in and out was very easy and onsite parking was great value too though there wasn't many vacant spaces to chose from. As expected all interactions with staff were at a high level. Very courteous and friendly.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjboycee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club At Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Thank you for choosing Marriott Vacation Club at Surfers Paradise! We are glad you had wonderful stay in our studio unit and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019

Just before Christmas, my wife and I plus 2 kids spent 1 week in a Marriott Vaction Club room. We attended a presentation in January, which we declined to join, but were offered the use of a club room at a discounted rate. We accepted and were not disappointed.
They have taken a standard hotel room and coverted it to a lounge room with a small kitchenette and a full sized fridge. The sfa is a double bed which was comfortable enough for my 14 and 16 year old to sleep on for 5 nights. The connecting room is a standard hotel room with a large king sized bed. Seperate balconies were also appreciated.
The best part about what Marriott has done is leaving the 2 bathrooms (one in each room) - there is nothing worse than 4 people trying to share one bathroom for an entire week.
The hotel is top rate but we found the restaurant and bar prices had increased significantly between our visit in January to December. The pool area is amazing - best on the coast with the fish populate lagoon and the whirlpool cave. As it was summer and great weather, chairs and lounges around the pool were a premium - suggest you get in early to secure a good spot or pay the price for a daybed for half a day.
We had to attend another presentation at the end of the holiday and were very interested in joining however there are a few large expenses coming up over the next few years so we had to decline. The Vacation Club staff were understanding and while there was obviously some pressure (after all they are there to make a sale) we didn't feel overly stressed.
In conclusion, if we were offered another chance to holiday in a Marriot Vactation Club room we would jump at it - I only had a single holiday in 2018 and I looking back I wouldn't have wanted to go anywhere else.

Room tip: Only pay for a pool/sea view if it is really important to you - the rest of the views are just as good
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PFontebasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club At Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Thank you for spending a week with us just before the Christmas holiday! We appreciate your review and are happy your family had a wonderful visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

DIRECTOR of Sales (Jon [...]) is a bully, appalling, rude, arrogant, spiteful, childish and of course pushy, which is to be somewhat expected. Jon [...] goes above and beyond his call of duty to agitate and becomes combative when he realises that potential client(s) will not become a statistic of conversion in the second tier phase of sales with regard to the Marriott Vacation Club (not the regular hotel sector). He sadly sets the standards and work culture for his team and makes the negative experience a personal one with potential clients steering us well away from becoming a part of MVC owners and members. He even stooped so low as to retract their $200 hotel vouchers when we declined to sign-on in a bid to spite us, which we gladly handed back without an issue, only for Jon to try and give us back the vouchers but took half and returned $100 after he met our acquaintance at the lifts 10 minutes later - is this the behaviour of DIRECTOR of Sales or a childish man "spitting the dummy?" We are very disappointed and disheartened by his actions. Good news is that there are many other non-Marriot Vacation Club options out there for us to enjoy. The hotel staff (not MVC) were delightful, courteous and accommodating and the Vacation Club upper management were horrific. Don't be fooled by the Marriott Vacation Club's friendly smile at first encounter as they will without a doubt stab you in the back without a second thought. Thank you, Jon [...] for not turning us into one of your statistics - we have definitely dodged a bullet not signing on with Marriott Vacation Club Surfers Paradise. Public reviews says it all- Google it and see for yourself.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Travelingirl-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club At Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to our corporate customer care team. We are happy to have had the chance to speak with you about your review and appreciate the feedback you provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Still at the property and don’t know where to start about the things that are wrong with our stay at the Marriott Surfers Paradise. Two broad complaint issues:

- the service is TERRIBLE
- the staff are rude and unhelpful. Have no knowledge of what is and isn’t available and their attitude - well the less said the better

Let me now explain in detail why 2.5 days into our stay here this has easily been THE WORST Marriott stay we have had:

- I wrote in twice (once as a response to my personal host who specifically asked if we were coming to celebrate an occasion) to inform the property that it is a very special trip for us as it is our tenth wedding anniversary. A little word of congratulations or small gesture of acknowledgment would have been so appreciated but.. NOTHING

- I also wrote in ahead of time, again having been asked, of our arrival time. We indicated we are flying in from Singapore with a toddler and as a platinum member would have priority for early check in (we were literally asking to be checked in at 2 pm rather than 4 pm). The staff kept telling us check in was 4 pm - like we are imbeciles who couldn’t understand the house rules or the English language. Again we reminded them as platinum members we have priority early check in. That itself would have been a great anniversary gesture! Again, NOTHING. So rude and unhelpful. Finally when our toddler had a meltdown I asked to see my “personal host” Carrina. Carrina procured our room key for us in about 5 mins. That was 2:35 pm. So obviously rooms were ready but maybe the staff didn’t like our faces or were just plain difficult so didn’t think they should give us our key before 4 pm

- went down to the kids centre and my kids were told they have to pay to use when actually the kids centre is free for Vacation club members. My disappointed kids came upstairs and we would never have known any better if we hadn’t met Louis who was so lovely to us and told us we were absolutely entitled to use the kids centre for free. Just ridiculous. Who hires these staff? Do you not vet and train them?

- oh and even more amazing - the kid’s club closes at 5 pm??? It’s pelting down cats and dogs and our kids are now cooped up indoors because your staff can’t keep the kids club open just for them to play on their own??

- we also booked in an extra paid service for the second day of our stay (yesterday). Didn’t get done. Called this morning to remind them of it. Still didn’t get done. HOPE YOU ARENT PLANNING TO CHARGE US FOR IT. What’s the point of having us fill in that pre arrival questionnaire anyway? You wasted my time before our arrival and now again during our stay having to write this litany to you.

I hope things get better for the rest of our stay. But rest assured we are NEVER coming back here again. Much as Craig tried to sell us a package for next December

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank PVenkatesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club At Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2018

We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. Our team would be happy to personally follow up with you. Please contact our customer care team at 800 936 6824 or by email at customer.care@vacationclub.com. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews