We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A tranquil place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henderson Park Farm Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Henderson Park Farm Retreat
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We happened across the magic of Henderson Park almost by accident, searching for a pet friendly place to stay. Waking to the most beautiful view the next morning was incredible. The lovely, rustic style cabins sit on the banks of Hedlow Creek and early morning was just beautiful. There are kayaks provided for a peaceful paddle. There are 2 cabins well spaced apart, and a lodge which sleeps up to 16 people. They are spotless and well stocked with provisions provided for breakfast on the first day. Nikki was very welcoming. Henderson Park is about 15km from Rockhampton and incredibly peaceful. Our little dog Zoe loved it too! We are already planning a return visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The moment one drives off the highway onto a country road, the hustle and bustle of city life is forgotten. Hidden from most in a secluded, Australian outback setting lies Henderson Park, a relaxing farm retreat only a short drive from suburbia. My wife and I arrived in a two wheel drive buzz box car, a city car; 'easy access', to say no more. Henderson Park's atmosphere hits you immediately, relaxed, friendly staff and management greet you with that calm, bush folk nature. You enter the realm of a lifestyle that graziers and farmers have lived for generations and in this case are willing to share some of those secrets with you.
The property lies amidst some wetalnds, a water catchment in the wet season draws a large variety of birds among a myriad of grasslands. A small number of cabins and a lodge fringe the waters of Hedlow Creek creating a tranquil setting in a low key form with just you, your friends and family to enjoy. The creek itself is mystical, sharing stories of the past with ghostly figures of large trees and stunning sillouhettes at dawn and dusk. All this while nature's chorus sets you at ease. Barramundi are stocked into the creek and are a lucky catch while paddling a canoe- supplied- you walk about 15m to launch. Australian history pops to my mind as the creek scene before your eyes could easily be used in any Aussie outback movie. It talks of an era, of droving.
We chose to eat dinner at a nearby pub, a place called 'The Caves'. This pub entertained us with the good service, food and the characters on display. We'd planned our overnight trip under the livening essence of a full moon and the clear night sky allowed the big white light to do its thing. Out bush under a full moon is a pleasant experience.
The farm tour did more than enough to connect you with the location and the lifestyle. Free roaming quiet cattle up to about 900kilograms can be hand patted under the guidance of your tour operator. Kangaroos dot the centre of the property and creek system- and in reality, who knows what other secrets Henderson Park has to offer. Your own persona will draw what it will from the pleasant and relaxing experience. We'll be back for sure. Good books get read more than once!
Johnny Mitchell

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My family and I (2 adults, 2 kids age 13 and 10) visited Henderson Park for two nights. I had previously been with a group and enjoyed it so much I brought back the family!
We stayed in a motel room. It was so very comfortable, clean and modern. Perfect. The kitchens are well stocked and clean. It was lovely to sit out on the deck overlooking the creek to have our meals. The use of free canoes whenever we wanted was a definite highlight. It's a great place if you have a family or friends gathering for a special occasion. Highly recommend to everyone. Very relaxing and peaceful. Excellent service too. For photos see my blog:
http://naturalnewagemum.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/our-trip-to-henderson-park-farm-retreat/

Room Tip: Choose a cabin over a motel room if you want complete privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We did a 1-1/2 month self-drive tour of Austrailia and NewZealand in Feb/March of this year. One of our most memorable accommodations was The Henderson Park Farm Retreat. We stayed in a room in their Hedlow lodge. It's a recently constructed building with 4 ensuited rooms and two separate Euro-style kitchens. The rooms and grounds are tastefully decorated and immaculate. We went for a peaceful canoe ride on the Hedlow Creek which is on the property. We could see and hear many types of birds and were watched on the shore by a wallaby. (We saw a lot more wildlife on this creek than we did at the Kuranda Army Duck Rainforest Tour.) Ryan and Annika were very hospitable. Ryan took us on a tour of the property. He gave us information about the history of the farm and we were able to get a close look at the cattle and saw several kangaroos. The barbequed dinner and basketful of breakfast goodies were delicious.
We would highly recommend this "little piece of paradise".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My boyfriend and I came to Henderson Park as a special short break for his birthday, and it was absolutely amazing.

An easy 20 min drive from Rockhampton took us to the retreat, where Nikki greeted us with a warm welcome and showed us to our cabin. The cabin was rustic, but really comfortable, and had everything we needed - especially the view, which was amazing!

Waking up to beautiful Hedlow Creek every morning, and enjoying a toasty open fire every night was so special - and the fact that each cabin is so far away from each other makes it even better. We also enjoyed canoeing on the creek in one of the canoes provided.

We'll definitely be coming back, hopefully for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billiethebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
26.5 km away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 37 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
27.4 km away
Econo Lodge Citywalk Rockhampton
28.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
26.7 km away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
17.2 km away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 37 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henderson Park Farm Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henderson Park Farm Retreat

Property: Henderson Park Farm Retreat
Address: 88 C.H Barretts Rd | Barmoya, Rockhampton, Queensland 4702, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rockhampton
#2 Spa Hotel in Rockhampton
Price range (per night): $164 - $213
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henderson Park Farm Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Henderson Park Farm Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henderson Park Farm Retreat Rockhampton, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing