We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good cheap place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good cheap place to stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

If you're looking for a cheap place to spend the night this hotel will give you a bed to sleep in. The decor is dated and tired but isn't out of character for an older country hotel. The hosts are welcoming and friendly. I stayed in one of the villas behind the main hotel building which cut down a lot of the road noise. For a 2 night stay I wasn't disappointed. The onsite restaurant was not bad either.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    66
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
26
36
12
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Just an average room, my room had a old tv which had some reception problems or the cable channels wasn't working properly, thats the only thing i can really complain about. But if you need an overnight room this will do, no frills. The service was excellent i might add though, very welcoming at reception.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tezza17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
283 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Fortuneately I didn't see the other reviews on this hotel before staying! I see the last review is 6 months ago and the hotel seems to have had a makeover since then. I had an executive room which are the ones recently refurbished and are $10 or so more. Great room spacious, good bed everything new. Car parked infront of room undercover. Nice pool again looks new and a sitting area outside the restaurant. Pleasant bar and restaurant, food good. 1.5km from the centre but I didn't find that a problem

  • Liked — modern, new, great shower room
  • Disliked — noisey airconditioner
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

we stayed in the spa room ,which was nothing more than a unit split in to two rooms cost was $158 a night rip off .bed was lumpy alarm didnt work .oldest tv spa was in a cramped room now bubble bath for spa we were told to use the hair shampoo .we were woken by a knock at the door at 6.30am it was room service for the people in next room ,ps this was my last night of my honeymoon before we headed back to the kids ,not very romantic when the people can here you next door .would never advise people to stay here.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank trishboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,391 reviews
381 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2006

What a dive this hotel is, I would get a divorce immediately if my husband took me here for my honeymoon, but each to their own. The hotel is located on a highway on the outskirts of Rockhampton. It is nowhere near or central to anything except maybe the huge trucks roaring past your room.

We only stayed here because all the other hotels in Rocky were booked out, hence why did this hotel have rooms available. ?? We needed to have a day room to put our luggage in and for me to have a rest in whilst hubby worked for the day.

Our room was entered by a closed in corridor, which had black vertigo slashed blinds, so when you closed them for privacy the room was in total darkness, and you were trapped in the mine shaft, at midday you had to put all the lights on. The room was standard hotel size with a horrible, ghastly double bed with a floral outdated bedspread with pillows that felt like an elephant had sat on them.

The bathroom was small with chipped tiles with one wired window, which gave off a little light to brighten the prison cell. Tea and coffee facilities were available but I chose to get out quickly from the hovel and have coffee in town. If you happen to be a smoker, well you will not have a problem knowing this establishment is smoke free. There are signs posted on every door, in the corridors, around the pool, on your bed, table, reception, and even on the garbage bins. I guess the owners think people are illiterate.

If you do have to stay in Rocky then I suggest you try the Travel Lodge in town or the Coffee House Apartments, they are central and at least look reasonable. There is nothing much to do in this city, so if you are thinking of just visiting I suggest to forget it and go to Mackay instead.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — book the travel lodge
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
1.0 km away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
213 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#10 of 35 in Rockhampton
799 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
1.2 km away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
1.1 km away
The Criterion Hotel Motel
The Criterion Hotel Motel
#21 of 35 in Rockhampton
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton

Property: Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
Address: 28-34 Albert Street, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia (Formerly Best Western Regency On Albert)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rockhampton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rockhampton
Price range (per night): $115 - $169
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the modern, professional and transformed property; BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton.Ideal for the corporate professional or holiday visitor who enjoys a seamless experience while travelling, BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton will not only deliver on the quality of its property, but its outstanding service.The full refurbishment of our rooms provide all guests with modern conveniences we trust you will enjoy; 46 inch smart tv, keyless entry, split system air conditioners, mini bar and undercover parking.Six and Co, our bar and restaurant offers you a unique and modern dining experience, a perfect meeting place and contemporary surrounds to unwind in after a busy day of meetings or sightseeing.Our conference room and meeting facilities provide a number of options for our business travellers while flexible catering options provide further support for your business needs.Enjoying a prime location during your stay in Rockhampton, you will find convenient access to the city centre, airport, showgrounds and the home of Rockhampton rugby. The botanic gardens, major shopping centre and beautiful Riverwalk are all only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rockhampton
Rockhampton Best Western
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing