We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIGHTMARE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My father and I travelled 15 hours that day. After a very long day we decided to pull up in Rockhampton for some much needed sleep. We check in and went to get a bite to eat. We put the air con on and it was rattling off the wall. On further inspection we found paper shoved between the wall and the air con and blu tac was used to closed the filter compartment. We opened the filter compartment to stop the rattling and found filthy filters. The bathroom mat was growing mould. We finally got to bed. My father’s bed was soaking wet all along the bottom. Not just damp sheets, it was oozing out of the mattress.... Luckily there was an extra single bed in the room for him to sleep on as the office was closed by the time we got back from dinner. I went to see the office early this morning but no one was there so we just left very dissatisfied with the state of the room and the price of $145 per night for pure filth. Very very unhappy. I will NEVER stay at Best Western ever again. I wouldnt give it one dot but thats not an option!

Room Tip: Choose a good room, dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    55
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
46
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
qld
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

stayed at the cattle city for 2 nights , spacious rooms , comfortable , clean , surprisingly the ist room we stayed in was closest to the busy main rd , however little noise heard , great nights sleep , the 2 room was as good, at the back of the hotel .. overall a pleasent experience with helpfull managnment.. will be back , good value for money

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happythoughts2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we see you next time that you come through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bribie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I booked this room after reading all the great reviews, and when I booked it I asked for a room well back off the highway - I am about 6 rooms back but all I can hear is traffic. Not a place for the light sleeper. Check in was friendly. However it is full of mining people - not the quietest. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms way at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladytravellerBribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy1960, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Unfortunately when your office booked for you room 7 was as far back as we could get you. We do appreciate that that you rated our service & cleanliness well, as we do strive to maintain high standards. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed one night at this motel on our way up north to Cairns. If you are driving through and need a rest, this motel is a good option. - If you are a light sleeper - ask for a room further away from the main street. The motel is ery clean and very well kept. The friendly owners are doing a great job here. We also had a very good dinner at their restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I stay at the Cattle City on a regular basis through work and I find that the rooms and service are the best I have ever come across in all my years of staying in motels.
Friendly staff, clean rooms, great food, my home away from home

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
2.5 km away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#10 of 35 in Rockhampton
759 reviews
1.4 km away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 35 in Rockhampton
199 reviews
2.3 km away
The Criterion Hotel Motel
The Criterion Hotel Motel
#19 of 35 in Rockhampton
169 reviews
1.9 km away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
Address: 139 Gladstone Rd | Allenstown, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rockhampton
Price range (per night): $97 - $149
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this recently refurbished Rockhampton motel located close to the city centre, Botanic Gardens and the City Heart Mall. Welcome to Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn located on the south side of Rockhampton, about 5 minutes from the city centre and within easy reach of shopping, dining and entertainment. The Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn offers 34 rooms with Austar cable TV and broadband Internet access. The motel’s fully licensed “Blue Heeler” Restaurant and Cocktail Bar features an a la carte contemporary Australian menu. For those who enjoy a drop of wine, the motel’s extensive cellar is sure to please. From Sparkling to Shiraz, there’s something for every occasion.Adjacent to the restaurant and bar is a function room suitable for group bookings, meetings, conferences, training sessions, video presentations and private dinner parties. This Rockhampton motel’s additional amenities include a tropical pool area and fully equipped gym. For friendly and knowledgeable staff and a convenient location in Rockhampton, make a reservation at this Rockhampton motel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rockhampton
Rockhampton Best Western
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn Rockhampton, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing