We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW what a difference new manager's make!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centrepoint Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here last year on business so I have seen the before and after. What a difference, still the same efficient friendly reception staff. I lucked out and got one of the newly refurbished rooms, freshly painted and new bedding fitted. The rooms are a good size, bed was very comfortable. The room including the the bathroom was extremely clean. Large screen LCD TV and convenient mini bars now in the room. Found the free Wifi internet great.

Ate at the restaurant, there is a good selection of food which was very nice and well presented. The Restaurant isn't open on weekends. Breakfast can be had either in the breakfast room of the restaurant or you can pre-order to have in your room.

Within easy walking distance are other restaurants and fast foot outlets, The Coffee Club, McDonalds, Subway are just an easy 200 metre walk down the road with Hungry Jacks directly opposite.

I spoke to the Managers about the transformation and they told me that they are halfway through the internal painting and once completed, then the painting of the exterior will be commenced. I look forward to seeing the final result when I return for our next conference.

Conference rooms are large and we were very well looked after by Debbie.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Guesswhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

Unfortunately our tour party was booked to stay two nights at this shoddy excuse for a hotel.
It had none of the features you would expect from a four star hotel. How it maintains this rating I do not know! AND not one of our tour party of eleven had a positive report for this accommodation.
Here is the bad news:
* I got bitten by bed bugs all over my ankles and wrists - this is INEXCUSABLE!
* The toilet and shower were both filthy - hair, mould, dirt all evident.
* My shower (room 1) sprayed everywhere but down - its broken guys - FIX IT!
* The air conditioning was noisy and poorly maintained.
* There were no fly screens on windows.
* There was an extremely bright fluorescent light outside my window and the curtains just didn't cope.
* The pillows, bedding and mattress were old and very uncomfortable.
* The room is small (and smelly) and the TV is old and dodgy.

I asked for a room change on the basis that the fluro light was keeping me awake. They agreed and said it would okay to change at around 6pm but when I came back to do that they said they were fully booked (UNBELIEVABLE) and so instead they just removed the fluro lamp which they first told me they couldn't do because of safety. So much for standards - how about a dimmer safety light for the staircase??
Also, when we returned from our show - one of cars had to be parked across the street because of a lack of spaces.
The carpark was busy all night with people slamming car doors and talking right outside my door - AND THEN the cleaning staff thought it was amusing to run up down stairs and shout at each other at 8am - what a joke!
My advice - DO NOT stay here. This is probably in the bottom 2 or 3 hotels I have stayed in and I have stayed in hundreds in the last 10 years. They need to lift their game. If my accommodation had not been prepaid I would have refused to pay. A guest should not have to pay for the "privilege" of being bitten by bed bugs (bites of which I'm still scratching three days later) and cleaning the shower area so they can use it themselves.
It astounds me how this hotel (and others like it) stay in business.
A better tip - stay on Great Keppel Island.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centrepoint131, Manager at Centrepoint Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2011

Dear Reggiedo

My name is Robert and along with my wife Debbie have taken over management of this Motel as of january 2011. I have just come across your comments and personally wish to apologise for the condition and quality of you rooms To me this is completely unacceptable to you and your fellow travellers We have embarked on an extensive refurbishment of the prperty and i can personally guarantee that the rooms are now 100% clean and very well presented.

We hope that at some time in your future travels and visits to Rockhampton you would gives us the opportunity to provide you with a quality stay and our personal promise of a great frienldy and homely visit

Kindest Regards

Robert and Debbie

Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

This hotel is now known as the "Quality Inn Centrepoint." Quality is used with a sense of irony, perhaps unintentional, on the part of the owners.

Having stayed at the Quality Inn in Townsville I had expectations of a comfortable establishment with a good level of service and amenities. This is regional Queensland so I was not expecting five star service in the vein of a big city hotel.

Walking in to the room it had a smell, like it was previously a smoking room. It was on the ground floor and there was no view or windows that opened on to anything you would want to look at. The last refurbishment would have occured in the 1980s and it would have been a cheap one then. On the plus side I could park my car right in front of my room, handy for a quick getaway.

The interior was very old and the bed was really the worst. As we were only passing through I just wanted to get a good night's sleep. This was not possible as the bed had lost all capacity to support two persons, was saggy and had savage springs that made themselves known in very unpleasant ways.

The breakfast was passable. The continental buffet was very limited but the cooked breakfast, for which you paid extra, was reasonably priced.

I paid $120 for the room as a discounted rate with my motoring association with the standard price being about $130. This is way too much to pay for a hotel that is so dilapidated.

Rockhampton itself is not a nice place and is considered by Queenslanders to be somewhere to avoid. Don't walk around after dark and stay away from the river it is mosquito central. If you must break your journey in Central Queensland choose Gladstone (1 hour south) instead. It is a much more progressive and pleasant city.

On our return journey we cancelled the Rockhampton stay and went to Gladstone. For only a little bit extra we received a large apartment with good views in a modern building.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CharlesDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kurt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vale_p_177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.4 km away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
1.0 km away
Cosmopolitan Motel & Serviced Apts
1.6 km away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Albert Court Motel
Albert Court Motel
#24 of 35 in Rockhampton
74 reviews
1.4 km away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#17 of 35 in Rockhampton
50 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#15 of 35 in Rockhampton
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrepoint Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrepoint Motor Inn

Address: 131 George St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrepoint Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centrepoint Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint Motor Inn Rockhampton, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing