We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad choice for the price”
Review of Ambassador Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Motel
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice for the price”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have stayed several times at the Ambassador, both through work and privately. It is located at the north end of Rockhampton as you are heading out of town. Not to far from petrol stations, some eateries and shops.

I have always found the staff to be friendly and the room of acceptable cleanliness.

I like the fact that the parking is easy and under cover, not like some of the other motels where the parking is so tight you are in danger of hitting other cars.

Another reason I like to stay here which may seem a bit strange is that it is justs across the road from the cemetery and it is a nice quiet place to go and walk or jog around to get a bit of exercise away from noisy, smoggy traffic.

The other place I don't mind staying at in Rockhampton is the Golden Fountain - which is on the southern approach into town. People there are always friendly, good parking and good price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    30
    25
    13
    14
See reviews for
26
28
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I am not sure where the last reviewer stayed but it certainly does not reflect our experieince. We booked suight unseen as this is the only motel in Rockhampton that allows pets in the room. We thought it was going to be terrible but was pleasantly surprised by how spacious and clean the rooms were. No hint of dog smells - tiles on the floor. We were pretty tired so ordered room service and had the best (and largest serve) of steak sandwiches and chips. We were on the highway and could hear the occasional truck rumble by but not to the extent it was distrurbing. Cable TV. Shower a bit small but a good size bathroom area. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were families, older people, couples and workers booked in - didn't see anything unsavoury and didn'e hear any of the other guests. Higjly recommend this motel if you are travelling with pets.

Room Tip: If you have pets, it is better to stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Myself, along with 5 other ladies stayed at Ambassador Motel over night to attend a concert in Rockhampton.
Before we even reached the motel, we were turned off it. We asked 2 people for directions, and both responded with "Do you mean Ambassador Motel, the hooker motel?" Once we arrived at the Motel, it looked overall clean. But as we are all cleaners, after a more detailed look over, the room was extremely dirty.
During our night at the concert, we were continously asked if we were hookers once we said what motel we were staying at. Everyone simply assumed it as the motel is well known to house hookers.
When we arrived back at the motel to go to bed, we pulled back the bed covers and saw the sheets were covered in patch work. Instead of buying a new sheet because of the tears all over it, they simply patched the sheet up at least 50 times. I soon realised I was sharing my bed with baby cockroaches, and the other girls had bed bugs all through their bed. Majority of us woke up and were covered in beg bug bites.
The staff were both nice and rude. Some were polite to us, however, there were some that were quite rude. They were extremely fast in giving us a refund once we mentioned bed bugs as they knew they had a problem with them but hadn't gotten it fixed.
As the motel is located on a main road, we were kept up by the trucks driving past all night long.
The Ambassador Motel would have to be the worst motel experience any of us had ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Latarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockhampton hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We decided to stay at the Ambassador Motel after finding out just how hard it is to get a last minute room mid-week in Rockhampton... The staff were OK in their demeanour but effective in what they did. The Motel itself was quite busy and booked out the night of our stay; however, it wasn’t abruptly noisy by any means. This was mainly helped by the thick concreted walls within the unit, although the door wasn’t as sturdy... Our room was also newly tiled which was nice, but still quite old – still quite adequate though. Unfortunately the sheets were well used; with several patches ironed on to cover the cigarette burns/holes… Overall, both my wife and I had no great problems or issues with the place AND it helped with our return back to North QLD with its north-Rockhampton location on the Brue Highway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear to reduce the Highway's traffic noise; upper levels also reduce th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here after reading reviews on the website, so essentially sight unseen. We were suprised at how much better it was then what we expected. We requested an earlier then normail check in as one of our children was ill in the car and were told to "come on in". It was great to know that we could get our little one sorted in the privacy of our room and not some service station toilet. I was a little scared seeing that animals (ie dogs) were allowed to stay here, but the rooms were fantastic, so very clean you would not even know if there had been a dog in the room or not. The rooms are airconditioned, tiled and our room had one double and four single beds (over two rooms). We had our own little private balcony at the back of he room and all walkways were covered, which was handy because it rained the whole time we were there. The road noise was a little annoying, but to be honest with you it was only for the peak hour time period, after that you only heard the occassional "nimrod" that wanted to play silly buggers on the wet roads. We were very happy with not only the room but also the staff, they were all very friendly. We will stay here again if ever in Rocky. Point of note, we noticed that some of the rooms seemed to be in the middle of upgrading ie new airconditioners etc granted the rooms were very clean and comfortable and from what we could tell quite recently painted, but I can understand if renovations of the units were underway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumsTheWordOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
3.9 km away
Centrepoint Motor Inn
Centrepoint Motor Inn
#25 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.0 km away
Cosmopolitan Motel & Serviced Apts
23.4 km away
Henderson Park Farm Retreat
Henderson Park Farm Retreat
#4 of 34 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
No photo provided
Metro Motel
#31 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
5.4 km away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
0.6 km away
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
#2 of 17 in Rockhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motel

Property: Ambassador Motel
Address: 353 Yaamba Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4701, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price range (per night): $101 - $140
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ambassador Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Motel Rockhampton, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing