We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambassador Motel
Nearby Hotels
USD 101*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 152*
USD 129*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton(Rockhampton)(Great Value!)
USD 79*
USD 77*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102*
USD 87*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 83*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 121*
USD 118*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 88*
USD 86*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Q Motel Rockhampton(Rockhampton)(Great Value!)
USD 66*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 94*
USD 92*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 93*
USD 87*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
14
32
28
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
32
28
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat dogstayed hereunder new managementfur babyroom was clean and comfortablebruce highwaygood sizelaundry
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I am not sure where the last reviewer stayed but it certainly does not reflect our experieince. We booked suight unseen as this is the only motel in Rockhampton that allows pets in the room. We thought it was going to be terrible but was pleasantly surprised by how spacious and clean the rooms were. No hint of dog smells - tiles on the floor. We were pretty tired so ordered room service and had the best (and largest serve) of steak sandwiches and chips. We were on the highway and could hear the occasional truck rumble by but not to the extent it was distrurbing. Cable TV. Shower a bit small but a good size bathroom area. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were families, older people, couples and workers booked in - didn't see anything unsavoury and didn'e hear any of the other guests. Higjly recommend this motel if you are travelling with pets.

Room Tip: If you have pets, it is better to stay on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Myself, along with 5 other ladies stayed at Ambassador Motel over night to attend a concert in Rockhampton.
Before we even reached the motel, we were turned off it. We asked 2 people for directions, and both responded with "Do you mean Ambassador Motel, the hooker motel?" Once we arrived at the Motel, it looked overall clean. But as we are all cleaners, after a more detailed look over, the room was extremely dirty.
During our night at the concert, we were continously asked if we were hookers once we said what motel we were staying at. Everyone simply assumed it as the motel is well known to house hookers.
When we arrived back at the motel to go to bed, we pulled back the bed covers and saw the sheets were covered in patch work. Instead of buying a new sheet because of the tears all over it, they simply patched the sheet up at least 50 times. I soon realised I was sharing my bed with baby cockroaches, and the other girls had bed bugs all through their bed. Majority of us woke up and were covered in beg bug bites.
The staff were both nice and rude. Some were polite to us, however, there were some that were quite rude. They were extremely fast in giving us a refund once we mentioned bed bugs as they knew they had a problem with them but hadn't gotten it fixed.
As the motel is located on a main road, we were kept up by the trucks driving past all night long.
The Ambassador Motel would have to be the worst motel experience any of us had ever experienced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Latarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We decided to stay at the Ambassador Motel after finding out just how hard it is to get a last minute room mid-week in Rockhampton... The staff were OK in their demeanour but effective in what they did. The Motel itself was quite busy and booked out the night of our stay; however, it wasn’t abruptly noisy by any means. This was mainly helped by the thick concreted walls within the unit, although the door wasn’t as sturdy... Our room was also newly tiled which was nice, but still quite old – still quite adequate though. Unfortunately the sheets were well used; with several patches ironed on to cover the cigarette burns/holes… Overall, both my wife and I had no great problems or issues with the place AND it helped with our return back to North QLD with its north-Rockhampton location on the Brue Highway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear to reduce the Highway's traffic noise; upper levels also reduce the vehicle noise of residents when they leave (very applicable if your staying during the week with the tradies).
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here after reading reviews on the website, so essentially sight unseen. We were suprised at how much better it was then what we expected. We requested an earlier then normail check in as one of our children was ill in the car and were told to "come on in". It was great to know that we could get our little one sorted in the privacy of our room and not some service station toilet. I was a little scared seeing that animals (ie dogs) were allowed to stay here, but the rooms were fantastic, so very clean you would not even know if there had been a dog in the room or not. The rooms are airconditioned, tiled and our room had one double and four single beds (over two rooms). We had our own little private balcony at the back of he room and all walkways were covered, which was handy because it rained the whole time we were there. The road noise was a little annoying, but to be honest with you it was only for the peak hour time period, after that you only heard the occassional "nimrod" that wanted to play silly buggers on the wet roads. We were very happy with not only the room but also the staff, they were all very friendly. We will stay here again if ever in Rocky. Point of note, we noticed that some of the rooms seemed to be in the middle of upgrading ie new airconditioners etc granted the rooms were very clean and comfortable and from what we could tell quite recently painted, but I can understand if renovations of the units were underway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MumsTheWordOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My daughter and myself, together with her two border collies, stayed at the Ambassador Motel in July 2011 as a stop-over on the way to Mackay where she was relocating for work. The motel in on a very busy main road opposite a large cemetery. We were on the ground floor with our back to the road. We heard a few trucks during the night but the noise wasn't too bad. It is wonderful to find a motel which allows dogs in the room. We did think it a bit steep that they charge $20 per dog. The motel is fairly old and the room was a bit run-down. It had a tiled floor and a large bathroom with a very small shower. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We ordered dinner to our room which was very tasty as was the breakfast. I would recommend this motel if you are travelling with your dog but if not, I am sure there would be much better options in Rockhampton.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews