We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Easily one of the best family excursions in town

We’ve just completed the Port Douglas Bike Hire treasure hunt around Port Douglas with our four... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2018
Pippa P
via mobile
A must do

Pleasant staff and informative re routes . Price very reasonable for a 4 hr hire which was adequate... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2018
chrisgE3392MH
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 77 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Port Douglas
from USD 191.76
More Info
from USD 185.61
More Info
from USD 173.67
More Info
from USD 423.31
More Info
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
61
11
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
11
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four mile beach treasure hunt great friendly service excellent road suggested route great afternoon port pedaling
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful day with the two road bikes we hired. Bikes were reasonably priced and in excellent conditions. The guys running the shop were very helpful giving us good tips and beautiful route suggestions. Port Douglas and surrounds are certainly worth exploring on 2 wheels. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank squash2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod J, Owner at Bike Shop & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thanks for taking time to review your experience on our bikes. We are glad to hear you found the information received helpful and the bikes suitable. Hopefully we'll meet again if you visit Port Douglas in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We hired 5 Vespas for an arvo and absolutely loved it! We were a party of 7 Mums on a “Girls trip” celebrating life & friendship for our 50th Birthdays this year. You are never too old to stop having fun. The bikes were cool, reliable,so easy to use and cost us under $2 to refill for over 5 hours of fun! We saw some beaut spots and thoroughly enjoyed our day. The service & value for money received at this shop was fabulously helpful. Highly recommended

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank BJMoresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod J, Owner at Bike Shop & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thanks for the review!! It looked like your group were having a fabulous time and loving life. We are glad the scooters added a little to that. Hope to see you again sometime...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved hiring the bikes and having a look around. Super quick and affordable. Wished we had hired them at the start of the trip. Some places were just a bit too far to walk and the bikes made it super easy. They made great suggestions of where to explore on the map and the beach ride was beautiful. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Lemazintransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bike Shop and H... P, Owner at Bike Shop & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are glad to hear you had a great time in Port Douglas and that our bikes made it easy to explore. Hoping to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

An absolutely wonderful place to do business with and fantastic people who work there too. Rod and Angie and some of the nicest staff on this planet. I cannot gush enough. Honest and caring. Excellent bikes for hire for all abilities. The best way to see the surrounding area and explore. They can and do tell you where to ride if adventurous!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Malcovish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bike Shop and H... P, Owner at Bike Shop & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you and great to hear from you from far away Canada! We had fun showing you around and hope you had a great Port Douglas holiday. I have photos to send you but they keep bouncing back for some reason. I'll have another go. Hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

We were in Port Douglas to scuba dive, but an equally memorable highlight of our visit was renting bikes for a half-day from “Bike Shop & Hire” and riding down Four Mile Beach. Wow! It was so much fun peddling through the surf while watching the waves of turquoise blue water roll towards us. What a great afternoon!
PS: Bike Shop & Hire owner was incredibly friendly and he keeps his bike inventory well maintained and charges very reasonable rates.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Dr_C_and_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod J, Owner at Bike Shop & Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at the Bike Shop. We're happy to hear you had a great time on the bikes as well as enjoying the rest that Port Douglas has to offer. We hope you will visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews