We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel”
Review of Mowbray By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mowbray By The Sea
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We moved to this hotel after a terrible few days at another highly rated Port Douglas hotel. After checking into this lovely place, we were very sorry that it took us so long to do so. The ground floor 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was clean, spacious, well equipped, not to mention well decorated. A huge bonus was the lovely private outdoor area which included a table, fan and small garden.

This hotel has a heated pool and is ideally located near the main street and beach.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    22
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
32
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We've stayed at Mowbray by the Sea two years running - July 09 & July 10. The rooms are great - home away from home with everything you need on hand. Balcony was great for lazy breakfasts and night time wine and cheese infused relaxation. Swimming pool was great, car parking was good and the management are very helpful. It is in a fabulous location - 100m from the beach and surf club and only 5 minutes into the heart of Macrossan Street. We'd highly recommend Mowbray by the Sea.

Room Tip: Just ask for a better price than what they advert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy998, Public Relations Manager at Mowbray By The Sea, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return again in the near future.
Please contact me directly when you find yourself in Port Douglas and I will ensure that we take good care of your booking.
Kind Regards
Lynette Lai
Business Development Manager
Latitude 16 Pty Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordertown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We booked online originally for January . Due to Family illness we had to reschedule for March. Managers where extremley accomodating with change of dates.

Fantastic rooms, very comfortable and unbeatable location. 2 minutes from beautiful 4 mile beach and 2 minutes from the main street. The rooms had all the mod cons and it was great to have 2 bathrooms and a beautiful big balcony that overlooked the park. Fabulous pool area, large spa and BBQ area.

Would absolutley recomend this lovely place to anyone.
Thankyou Lorna and Chris for a truly memorable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I booked online, it was easy and fast. We stayed for 7 nights on level 1 apartment 8 facing the park. We were really enjoying our stay until my husband slipped on the stair landing whilst carrying my daughter and my daughter was concussed!!! PLEASE NOTE: TILES ARE VERY SLIPPERY WHEN WET!!!

Pros: It's in a great location. The apartment was clean and modern. The pool and bbq area is fantastic.

Cons: The room never got serviced. Did not have a personal bbq on the balcony . The gates where never down at night for secure parking. The kitchen equipment needs to be updated. The tiles are very slippery wet! Carrying luggage up a set of stairs, Mowbray needs to install a lift.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHSMOOTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed at mowbray with our two teenagers and one toddler. We couldn't fault the property. It is only approximately 100 metres down to the patrolled beach and 5 minutes into the gorgeous port Douglas village. The location is excellent.

All apartments are 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. They have a full size kitchen and are fully self contained. There was plenty of plates, glasses, cutlery, serving plates/platters etc. It was great to have a kitchen so well equipped with such a large family to cater for.

There is a bath and shower in the master bedroom bathroom and shower in the second bedroom bathroom. The rooms are fully air conditioned, a full laundry and the balconies are huge and all weather.

The pool is just gorgeous and great for kids of all Ages. In particular the shallow area is ideal for toddlers or littlies that aren't competent swimmers. It offers a really large area for them to swim and play complete with lots of pool toys. There is a great BBQ area around the pool also which is kept very clean and tidy.

We would not hesitate to stay here again. The management were great and didn't hesitate to help us with whatever needed.

We loved this property

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CairnsAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.6 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 km away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#31 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray By The Sea

Property: Mowbray By The Sea
Address: 40 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): $175 - $395
Hotel Class:4 star — Mowbray By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mowbray by the Sea offers sophisticated beachside accommodation only metres from Four Mile Beach and a short stroll from Macrossan Street's boutique shopping, cafes and award winning restaurants. The property offers modern and spacious two bedroom, two bathroom apartments. The apartments are fully equipped with kitchen and private laundry facilities. Mowbray by the Sea's quiet location makes it a pleasure to relax on the extra large balconies overlooking the parklands. The property also boasts a 25 metre heated pool, poolside BBQ and complimentary secure undercover carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mowbray By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 16 Mowbray By The Sea Hotel Port Douglas
Mowbray By The Sea Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing