We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$409
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,414)
Filter reviews
2,414 results
Traveller rating
1,314
680
260
104
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,314
680
260
104
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa suite lagoon pool one bedroom suite the main street amazing pool caravan park beautiful resort our honeymoon close to town full kitchen four mile beach relaxing stay macrossan st the ground floor family holiday swim up bar fantastic location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,414 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2024

The hotel advertised buffet breakfast included in the stay that was actually a limited a la carte menu ($30 per meal with machine coffee offered and luke warm juice that you had to get yourself). However, the hotels website was advertising a buffet breakfast. When questioned on this, the hotel advised that the buffet ceased a month or so prior due to a buffet using more water than a la carte option (?). The hotel then offered a credit of $20 pp per day to be used at the hotel, that could only be used for the remainder of the stay at their restaurant, and the remaining breakfasts removed. Bait and switch anyone??. The breakfast options offered were grossly overpriced, with choices of Nasi Goreng and corn fritters at $30 worth. On one morning, a dish that was supposed to include crispy kale did not arrive with the crispy kale, and it was a visibly annoyed chef that then put some in a bowl. On tasting the dish, it was also riddled with chilli, a detail left off the menu until the first bite. More 2 star than the 5 star this hotel purports to be.
On the last morning, with the thought of facing another lacklustre breakfast, we went to the Sheraton down the road, who did not have an issue with water (?) that served a great buffet breakfast. Peppers need to have a look at the Sheraton for guidance on what 5 stars look like.
The room that was booked was a 2 bedroom deluxe suite with a Plunge pool. We arrived at night for the first night, but next morning on inspection of the pool it was green, with a dirty floor and sides and leaves in it. A call to reception resulted in more chlorine being added, that took until the late afternoon to finish. The pool water was clear but was still green on the sides, and a good scoop required.
The main hotel pool was oddly warm (32 degrees celsius) and not refreshing and had mould visible in spots.
Overall for my first holiday in 5 years, I found this to be below the standard of any other 5 star hotel. Beer accommodation at a champagne price.

Room tip: Call before you book to verify the amenities offered if considering this place. Better yet, don't book here at all.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

We had a very relaxing five nights, nothing was too much trouble from your amazing staff. Very helpful and friendly. Despite the water cut off supply to town, they made sure we were accommodated and things went smoothly. They kept the communication up so we knew what was happening. Such a beautiful environment. Perfect for doing nothing, but also perfect for accessing all the amenities of Port Douglas.

Room tip: The shuttle bus around town is very handy
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

My advice would be not to book here. My husband and I checked in to our room - eventually! Couldn’t open the door so had to return to reception. The door was really stiff and hard to open. The room smelled really badly of damp and the wardrobes even worse. The balcony door didn’t open and close properly. We were shown 2 other rooms which were just as bad so checked out! The reception staff were as helpful as possible but the rooms are dire.

Room tip: Parking is in an underground car park with a very smelly lift to take you back up. All the rooms are a long walk from everywhere
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elspeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Whitworth, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Dear Elspeth G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your experience at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas. We appreciate all types of feedback as it helps us as a business to improve.

It was disappointing to read that your expectations of our rooms were not met, and therefore, decided to depart from the property. We hold a high level of standard for the condition of our rooms, and the fact you were shown three separate rooms and still decided to leave is concerning. We will certainly take this on-board, living in a tropical part of the world can present challenges due to humidity so have ensured those rooms were thoroughly re-inspected by the housekeeping team.

Once again, thank you for providing us with this feedback, and should you be back in region again in future, would love for you to give us another chance perhaps at a drier time of year.

Sincerely,
Luke
Operations Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2024

Water failed on the first night. This made the hotel virtually uninhabitable. We moved out immediately. Carrying buckets of pool water to flush the toilet is not what you expect for “1st world” standard.

We read that water was still a problem days later for the whole town.

We understand that this failure was highly predicable

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Connector55815512928
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Whitworth, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

Dear Connector55815512928,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas.

As you mentioned and to elaborate further, water for the entire Port Douglas Region was shutoff due to breaks within the water mains. The region was given approximately one hours notice to prepare, although the warning text message was only received at the time of the shutoff. This happened on a Sunday night, and was rectified by the Tuesday. Understanding the impact this would have on guests, we worked to a resolution with any guests that wanted to depart. If this was not the case in your circumstance, feel free to reach out to us directly so we can assist further.

Again, appreciate the review, and hope that you would give us another chance under better circumstances.

Sincerely,
Luke
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

This property recently went through cyclone jasper. You can’t tell but there were less guests than there would normally be.

We had a 3 bed suite with a private pool. Great for our family group.

We have spent most of our time in the lagoon pool which has cocktail service directly to your deck chair

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 825kimberleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Whitworth, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Dear 825kimberleyj,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas.

We are glad to hear you had a great family holiday, what more could we hope for! Spending your day by the pool, with cocktails being brought direct to your sun lounge sounds perfect.

Again, thanks for the review and we hope we can see you back here again soon.

Sincerely,
Luke
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews