We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand up paddle board in the Daintree”

Windswell Kitesurfing and Standup Paddle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windswell is local company based in Port Douglas offering kitesurfing and SUP (standup paddle boarding) instruction and tours. WindSwell has experienced IKO instructors to accommodate all levels of riders in private or group lessons. All instructors are qualified in first aid and there is a safety boat and first aid kit on standby for offshore trips. All lessons are safe, progressive, fun and great value for money. Our aim is to make our students competent, independent kitesurfers, certifying all our students with the IKO Kiteboarder Card. Using the latest kite surfing gear, all students are equipped with flotation vests, wetsuits, and helmets. New this year is the Instructor/Student helmet-cam radio communications to aid in faster learning. SUP tours explore beautiful Four Mile Beach, Low Isles and the rainforest rivers. We invite riders of all experience and age to join us for our regular social events, Sunday Sessions, epic Downwinders and fitness sessions. 2015 is an awesome season of great events-follow us on facebook or on our website!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

This experience was amazing! We all loved it and wanted to do it again immediately. Gina was awesome super laid back and just a fantastic day! If you have the chance DO IT!

1  Thank DannyandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017

A stunning day. Ollie and Peter were awesome hosts running a special boutique operation - there was just our group of nine on the boat. We were out at the low isles by 0830 and stepping out onto our paddle boards to paddle through the mangroves of Woody Island over sharks, a turtle and stingrays before coasting back to the beach on Low Isle for a snack before snorkelling amidst the spectacular coral and fish just off the beach - Ollie providing expert commentary on what we were seeing. Yummy lunch in the shade as we watch the big tour boats arrive...
A guided walk around the Island with Peter providing history of the area and notes on flora and fauna.
Then back for more snorkelling/paddleboarding before another exciting speedboat ride back to town. Ollie and Peter were relaxed and knowledgeable - all round great guys! We would highly recommend them especially over the bigger tours which have done previously.
Cheers Ollie and Peter! T, M, A, J, E, C, L, W, P

1  Thank Tzung D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We had a beautiful peaceful paddle this morning upstream with Ollie our guide then just floated back downstream. Ollie knew his stuff !! and was so informative about our beautiful surroundings and the local people. We stopped along the way to eat lemonade fruit which Ollie bought along for us and ate wild passion fruit from the vines - delicious !! Just a beautiful morning well worth doing with a very entertaining, environmentally passionate young man . Highly recommended to anyone

Thank Leisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, Manager at Windswell Kitesurfing and Standup Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for the wonderful words Leisa.
I really enjoyed the morning with great company from you and Stu.
Glad you enjoyed your personal experience and I hope you take the memories with you for a lifetime.

Cheers,

Ollie

WindSwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

The tour was a blast. Ollie, the guide, had a great positive energy about him. The river was beautiful. The water was so clear and so clean that you could actually drink from it and could see the bottom the entire time. Overall, a really great time. My only complaint would be I wish the tour was either longer (we were on the water from about 9:30-12:00) or slightly less expensive ($109 AUD).

Thank Harrison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, Manager at Windswell Kitesurfing and Standup Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thanks Harrison for the positive words. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and thank you for the great company.

Cheers,

Ollie

WindSwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We were given this experience from our daughters for our birthday, and what a lovely gift. The launching place is a hidden gem, don't worry we won't share !! Water clarity was perfect, temperature lovely. It was a bit of a challenge paddling against the current, but just a good workout really.

I'm so sorry but the guides name escapes me, but he is a great, laid back guy, and we had some really interesting conversation, which is the beauty of us being the only 2 doing the SUP. It was wonderful to be challenged to try different footwork, and warm enough that falling in wasn't a bummer at all!! Floating back downriver looking at the ferns, kingfisher, Ulysses butterflies, it was just magical, cliched as it sounds. Perfect afternoon.

Thanks again, we will certainly be looking you up next time we are up in Nth Qld, as Adrian now has Sup out on the reef on his bucket list !

Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett W, Manager at Windswell Kitesurfing and Standup Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you Kelly for the kind words, we are stoked you had a beautiful experience in the magical landscape we got to share with you.

We look forward to seeing you and Adrian for a reef SUP tour in the near future!

Cheers,

Ollie

WindSwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windswell Kitesurfing and Standup Paddle also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Windswell Kitesurfing and Standup Paddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing