We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing tranquil friendly”
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing tranquil friendly”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I had such a great few days here, Gigi and Andrea are so helpful, and the sensation of personal attention is much greater than I have ever found in some bigger hotels.
The setting is beautiful, the rooms are huge and all the little touches make it a perfect vacation spot!
Great pool, good position for an easy stroll into Port Douglas, quiet and relaxing, really something special!!!

Room Tip: Take a Villa, its feels so luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    87
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
396
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Found via tripadvisor, highly recommended. Hard to find since the entrance is a bit hidden. But when you enter through the gate a little new universe exposes itself. An inviting open little lounge with free wifi, then a room with books and dvd's, and then a beautiful pool surrounded by high palm trees and a well-maintained tropical garden. Plus a little bar (with beach sand around it) with self-service drinks and music. Beyond that a series of connected bungalows with private little yards and outdoor minipool. Great privacy and a very stylish interior (plenty of space, tasteful furniture), all instilling a sense of romance. Painted in caribbean colors. The hosts, Gigi and Andrea were very nice and eager to help plan our stay. We got a sweet deal on a bungalow, and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We also got very good advice on things to do, tailored to our wishes (see our review of the Aquarius boat trip). On top of it all, Port Douglas is a welcoming place for who is looking for unassuming hospitality, much in contrast with Cairns (we reviewed several restaurants rather unfavorably because of disrespectful treatment). There is some noise from a backpackers place across the street but that stops at 10 o'clock at night. Overall a very satisfying experience!

Room Tip: There are also studios, in the main building. Go for the bit-more-expensive bungalows, they are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

A very unique resort in Port Douglas. Gigi and Andrea have made it very special. They are helpful, friendly, warm and went out of their way to make sure our stay was a great one. The resort itself was beautifully designed and well maintained. We do hope to come back to the resort again in the near future. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_B_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2012

As a single, I recently joined two friends out from the UK for a week in Port Douglas and the Daintree. I can't speak more highly of our two nights (wish it could have been more) at the Pink Flamingo... it's gorgeously colourful with beautiful gardens, each unit having its own courtyard garden with outdoor setting, very clean, comfortable and private. Perhaps what impressed me most after the visuals was the thoughtfulness that has gone into equipping each unit with all the little (unexpected, not usually provided) extras that make a real difference: a "welcome" drink in the frig, mosquito coils and spray (plus matches), CD player with some CDs, torch - even a 'green' shopping bag! It would be easy to not leave the Pink Flamingo and still thoroughly enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: (the above two unmarked were not applicable in my case....) The two units that we shared were both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I flew up to Cairns/Port Douglas for a few days of relaxation & some diving on the Great Barrier Reef after attending a conference in Australia. I found Pink Flamingo on Purple Roofs and thought I would take a chance on it. Besides diving, this was the highlight of my vacation! It's an amazing little resort--beautiful and excluded property. Close enough to walk to everything in Port Douglas. Gigi and Andrea were amazing and so helpful in helping to arrange everything--shuttle service to/from Cairns as well as the diving trip. I will return and will bring friends! This is one of those special, memorable places. The pool area is great and a great place to meet others who are staying there. I only wish I could have had my partner there, but we will return! Thank you for being the highlight of my Australian trip!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgboston_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
560 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.8 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
774 reviews
3.4 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
3.5 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Property: Pink Flamingo
Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): $115 - $191
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing