We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pet Friendly Resort I have stayed at”
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Have stayed at the Pink Flamingo twice and throughtly enjoyed both stays.The resort itself is' slightly' out of town but is a short, bike ride away from the restaurants and beach area. Villas are private and funky and set amongst lovely tidy grounds and come complete with living room, kitchenettes, outdoor bath and shower which is such a great idea. Pool is great and the bar cozy and quaint!!

We took our Dog both times and he had a great time was like a big happy family and sadly enough the only reason we have not been back to this Hotel is cause our beloved Winston is no longer with us.

If i had anything negative to say it would be that there is no gym and no eatery on the premises, but a 20 minute walk into town and you can take your pick of where to eat. This place is really suited to couples and singles who just want to chill and relax with or without their pets ;-)

If a small hideaway resort with lovely personal service is what you seek then stay here.
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you are there in the Wet Season take some Ear Plugs as the frogs are very Loud when it rains :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 356 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in December 2011 and had a really enjoyable time. The villa was even more colourful and comfortable than it looked it the photos. To wake up in the morning and look out onto our garden and listen to the tropical sounds of birds and insects was an amazing experience. if we'd stayed in an apartment or hotel we wouldnt have had the same experience at all. Gigi was so helpful with excellent advice of what to do and where to eat during our stay. Our privacy was respected totally but if we needed help it was there immediately. The location was great for easy access to Kuranda, The Daintree Rainforest, Four Mile beach, the town to name but a few. We had the most amazing day out snorkelling on the Aquarius and again Gigi organised this for us before our arrival. The gardens and pool were wonderful too. We can't recommend a stay at the Pink Flamingo enough if you want to experience this area to its full potential.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleyMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

where to start...?! the romantic out door bath and shower.... the breakfast basket of fresh fruit... the pool and bar... the awesome day bed... the warm and welcoming hosts who helped me out so much.... it was all fantastic and i couldnt fault any of it. i cant wait to go back.
thanks.

Room Tip: both my room and my friends room were great. we were all so happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katsquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Wonderful place to holiday if you want the small personal resort experience. Colourfully private villas, lovely tidy grounds, and the perfect pool! Gigi and Andrea did a perfect job managing being there for us whenever we needed them and being discreet in the background! Their friendly, always helpful, knowledgeable manner made the whole stay easy and effortless. The resort lies perfectly away from the noise and bustle of the centre of town and yet is only a short, bike friendly trip away from the restaurants and beach area. Easy! A perfect little Paradise just tempting us to return!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a great place to stay when visiting Port Douglas and a terrific find for LGBT visitors. The innkeepers, Gigi and Andrea, are friendly and incredibly helpful in arranging tours and transportation. The place itself has lovely grounds and they've done an amazing job in converting a former 1970s-era motel into an affordable-luxury set of private villas, complete with living room, kitchenettes, and outdoor showers/tubs. Only drawbacks? No eatery on premises, though there is a pretty reasonable breakfast/lunch cafe next door. It's a bit of a walk to the town center on Macrossan Street (about 20 mins), though hiring a bicycle from the Pink Flamingo takes care of this issue. Also, for single travelers, it may seem a bit sleepy and private and more couples-oriented -- but with the range of stuff to do in Tropical North Queensland, that shouldn't be a problem at all! Overall, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djedei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
672 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.8 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
912 reviews
11.6 km away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
3.4 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $112 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing