We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay in gorgeous PD”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Apartments

Coral Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Apartments
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value stay in gorgeous PD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Great value if you can book a stay for under $100 per night. It is a bit of a walk into Macrossen Street, a good 10 minutes to the beginning, so about 20 minutes to get to Coles. However, in Port Douglas, it is lovely to walk everywhere anyway. However, is handy to the beach, which is about 5 minutes or so away. The unit was spacious, with faded furnishings, but clean and all in order. New TV's I believe in all the appts. However, although my room was on top floor and away from the main road, a lot of the apartments do appear to have pretty unattractive outlooks - into the carpark or the noise of the busy main road, so be aware if booking.
If trying to decide wheather to stay in Port Douglas or Palm Cove, my recommendation would be Port Douglas. There is so much more to do and has a true village atmosphere, which is lacking at Palm Cove.
Also recommend Peppers, which you pass on the walk to Macrossen, for lunch. Lovely restaurant and good value, overlooking the lovely pool.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from main road and top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosmanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and wished it was longer. The position of the apartments is perfect - stroll to beach one way and Marina the other with the shops equal walking distance. We did not take our car out once. Karen greeted us warmly and was available if needed. Apartment was spacious with a lovely balcony and the fitted kitchen had the lot. WM & Dryer in the large bathroom. We liked the cane lounges but faded covers could be replaced. The separate bedroom had mirror robes, nice cane fittings also. The fresh white exterior of the building and the maintained terracotta stairways against lush foliage is very pleasing. There are only 2 stair levels to the 3rd floor - easy wide stairwells. When we travel we research thoroughly and book well in advance. We are rarely disappointed with the value we receive for what we have paid. This one is no exception.

Room Tip: Our room 3rd floor at the back on the beach side had no 'party walls' - very quiet indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiedreamer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

My first time to Port Douglas - I was made very welcome and even had my bag carried up to the apartment - thank you. Lorraine was very friendly, warm and most helpful. While there is not always someone on duty on site, there is a telephone and telephone number available to contact someone. The apartment was spacious and clean. Beach just a few minutes away, and town about 10-15 min easy walking. I would certainly recommend Coral Apartments to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryf2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

I agree with the coments from the review dated Sep 4 2010. Low standard of cleanliness of room, poor service from most of the staff (when you could contact someone), poor communication between staff members, etc. After one week of things going wrong, the final straw was coming back to the room following the replacement of a faulty washing machine (after numerous reports) to find a minor flooding in the apartment due to the faulty connection of a water hose. After much mirth from one of the staff members, enough! We accepted Chris' kind offer of an 'upgrade' to Garrick House, only to find another very tired apartment, poorly serviced and cleaned-food stuffs from previous tenants still in cupboards, ants and other insects having a field day, filthy splashbacks, hygiene product wrappings still on bathroom floor, the list goes on. At least we were able to laugh when we discovered that the reception phone number had been diverted to my mobile phone number which resulted in callers requesting shuttle bus bookings. We understand that sometimes things don't go smoothly, and we are usually very easy going, however we did not spend good money to recieve such poor/lack of service, to be laughed at or ignored. We do thank Chris for his efforts.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afmforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We have traveled to Port Douglas on several occasions staying at a resort further out of town @ 3 times the price.
To us money wasn't the issue but we wanted something a bit closer. We booked with Latitude 16 at the Coral Apartments and couldn't have been happier. The staff are brilliant especially Lorraine & Guy - The apartments maybe old fashioned BUT SUPER COMFORTABLE (who wants to sit on a TRENDY couch when lay back & relax??)
Free Pay TV was an added bonus which we didn't expect. The apartments are clean,well designed, serviced regularly & the staff couldn't be better
I will never stay in Port Douglas again if I can't stay at Latitude 16.
Their friendliness & hospitality was second to none & anyone that could possibly complain should be staying elsewhere & paying $$$$$$$$ just for the name of the resort. If you want to tell your friends that you stayed at The Sea Temple or Bale etc fine ---- BUT if you want a decent,friendly holiday look no further than Latitude 16. if you want TOTAL luxury go to BEACHES but Coral Apartments with Lorraine & Guy was perfect for us. When we go away we want to be close to everything but be able to chill out in comfort.
To anyone that reads this make your own decision - In fact stay elsewhere if you want so Coral Apartments & staff are available to us

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judydv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 km away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 km away
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
Nautilus Holiday Apartments
#16 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 km away
Reef Club Resort
Reef Club Resort
#36 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 km away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Apartments

Property: Coral Apartments
Address: 11 Blake Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Latitude 16 Port Douglas Coral Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): $93 - $219
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Apartments is an excellent affordable option for holidaying at Port Douglas . The apartments are located across from Reynolds Park on a tree lined street away from noise and disturbances. Restaurants, cafes, galleries and boutique shopping are only a short stroll away. Following a meandering tropical beach track you will find the famous Four Mile Beach. The property provides complimentary undercover car parking, a communal barbeque area and swimming pool surrounded by tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing