We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Barold
Guildford, United Kingdom
Nice clean apartment but with drawbacks
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2023via mobile
Hotel's Favourite
We liked Bay Villas but our suite was on the 2nd floor with no lift! Something to bear in mind if you're at all mobility-compromised. Separate bedroom and kitchen/diner/lounge. Dishwasher. Laundry in shower room. Good free wifi in room. Nice small pool, very quiet, in well-tended gardens with outside barbecues. No onsite food but plenty of options in town, 15 minutes walk away. You have to pay extra for the room safe (per day) and pool towels and there was no milk in the fridge which felt a bit cheapskate to me.
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$272
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$355
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$699
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$236
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
    AU$236
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
AU$194
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$209
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Northwing Walkway
Booking.com
  • Sheraton.com
    AU$449
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$231
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free parking
Pool
Main pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$424
  • Algotels
12.2 km from Bay Villas Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Port Douglas
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
152
183
71
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
152
183
71
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine bed apartment an easy walk four mile beach pools accommodation studio dryer port
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

Overall this accommodation was ok. We used it as a base for the 3 nights that we were in Port Douglas. Good location to marina and the local town, friendly recption staff. Rooms need a cosmetic "lift". Whilst we appreciate the wildlife, we did find our balcony was infested with flies which meant we didn't use the balcony. Otherwise, good stopping point for a few nights

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank arual29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2023

Very "tired" and not clean. Our feet were dirty from walking on the floor, and worse we had itchy skin, watery red eyes and bites after sleeping in the bed. As for sleeping not the best as the bed was very average and "dipped' in the middle. It wasn't a good experience. The word "resort" is not really applicable for this accommodation. We do love and visit Port Douglas and there is plenty of good and well priced options of accommodation along the same street. I recommend checking out better options. It should only be 2.5 max rating based on how run down it is. Tiny TV, no streaming, but you pay a price that you would expect lots better. We travel a lot and this one you should avoid. Using "resort" in the name....well its nothing like a resort.

Room tip: Avoid this one. Lots of better options and you won't pay anymore for a far better place.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank flashm_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

Things to love about it:
- Quiet
- good bed and shower
- Linen and towels fine
- Short walk into town
- Kitchenette well set up
- Free laundry facilities

For improvement:
- Needs a little tlc eg blinds were a little shabby, the drying rack and luggage rack were both a bit rusty

Dislikes:
- Beach Towels vost $5, which I know is standard in Port Douglas but is annoying

All in all, I recommend Bay Villas - I've stayed here before and would again. It just needs a little care to spruce it up around the edges but this stuff is not enough to put me off staying there/

Room tip: Book early and lock in better prices - Port is an expensive place to visit and stay. Ask for something a little higher up in the building.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pavlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2023 via mobile

Super complex, close to main shopping/dining area of Port Douglas.
Great friendly staff who were most helpful.
We had Unit 2 at the back of the complex, ground floor and close to the pool. Tho other guests need to think about how loud they were in the pool! (not Bay Villa’s fault tho)
Great location & would book again if coming back to Port Douglas.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Woodsy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023

Nice quiet location with comfy beds and nice pillows (always a bonus!). Our one bedroom unit was modern with new furniture and loads of space. It was great having the option to park the car under cover especially during the day. The staff were friendly and helpful too. The only thing that was annoying were other noisy guests especially by the pool, as the sound carries upwards but can definitely recommend the apartments themselves.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SueC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews