We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2006

Mandalay Apartments were absolutely brilliant. Close to the sea and the centre of Port Douglas. A lovely pool which we had to ourselves most of the time. The apartments are beautiful, clean and classy. It was a wonderful week - part of an amazing month long trip to Australia with our children (aged 5 and 7). The whole trip was organised very efficiently by Trialfinders.

Helpful?
6 Thank Spudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    99
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
306
119
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2005

we stayed at mandalay/shalimar apartments for a week in October after picking them out from comments on here. The apartment was fantastic, everything was in great condition and they are in a good position for the beach and town. from what i saw i think they would be hard to beat. I actually had people coming up to me as i was walking in to the grounds form the beach asking how i had booked them and what did they cost as they were so envious.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Travelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mandalay apartments during an all too short trip to Australia last Easter. I can honestly say the apartment was the most beautiful we have ever stayed in. As soon as we walked in we knew we had made the right choice. The kitchen, bathroom, bedroom were all lovely and it was tastefully furnished and immaculate throughout. Port Douglas is a lovely, peaceful place and this was a good place to stay, a short-ish walk from the centre of town and near the long, natural beach. The only downside was the limited hours of the Reception. I would also say that the Reception staff were not that helpful, you almost felt they felt they didn't need to try as the accommodation sold itself and they were probably right.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Goldcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2005

Our family of four had 3 great nights here in July 2004. The staff were extremely helpful & obliging, to the point of contacting the company who we were visitinf the reef with & asking them to send a speacial bus at extremely short notice to pick two of us up who thought we were too ill to visit the reef & changed our minds 20 minutes before the boat was due to leave. The apartment was very well maintained & had far more than we expected. We had a lot of e-mail contact from England before we went & they were always very quick in replying & got us some good deals on trips.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
45 Thank alantheyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.4 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
4.1 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Property: Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): $269 - $570
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing