We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Well appointed and centrally located '”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra in the Village
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed for 10 nights and found the rooms to be very comfortable, the bed was great but the air conditioner was noisy in the bedroom. The kitchen area was well appointed with everything needed to put a meal together. Television very small to watch in comparison the the size of the lounge area. The spa and the balcony was a welcome treat to have , we enjoyed a spa most nights and enjoyed watching the birds in the magnolia tree out front. Overall a pleasant stay , but could improve on servicing apartments as only serviced our room once in the 10 nights. Never anyone in reception but just had to pick up the service phone for help.

Room Tip: 2nd floor spa balcony rooms are spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maxine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Mantra in the Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

we stay here because it is walking distance to everything, the room had a few problems towel rail was coming off the wall spa didn't hold water had to keep filling up, sliding door to veranda from bedroom didn't open wooden door from bedroom to lounge the slats didn't close sliders on veranda were hard to close no channel 10

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 324melindaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We got the rooms for a bargain on cheaperthanhotels and it was perfect. We didnt want anything fancy - rooms were clean and big, staff were friendly, bbq and pool facilities were great ad the location was right in the middle of town. If you're like us and are looking for somewhere easy to stay (we spent most of our time out) its ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaigeAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We arrived only to realise that the height restriction of 1.8m (my husband's height is 1.8m) would not allow our VW Multivan into the underground parking, so therefore no lift available when you have to park elsewhere and no trolleys available either, so we had to make multiple trips to get out gear into the room. Very frustrating. Luckily it was not pouring with rain.
When we got to the room, it was like living in a prison or dungeon with NO WINDOWS to allow natural light into the room. It's hot and humid with airconditioing required, so all slats closed and lights permanently burning just so you can see what you are doing. No point in opening the slats because a) there are no insect screens so ANY wildlife can visit and b) because the tropics is still quite warm this time of year. The internet stated there is WiFi and laundry but obviously I missed something because when we arrived Wifi is provided at an additional cost and the laundry is communal and you have to pay for it. No washing powder provided either btw. Certainly not enough hanging space for clothing, so we just lived out of our suitcase. Although the room itself was spacious, very little storage space! Overall very disappointing but the weather was good so we did not have to stay in the room...only sleep there! Staff friendly and helpful and the location is good to just walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank luanc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my teenage daughters birthday as she wanted a spa room.
We could've stayed closer to home but decided to drive to Port Douglas to have the spa facility. Unfortunately on arrival we were told the spa wasn't working. When I explained that we were there for a birthday night I was told numerous times that they had other people staying for 2 weeks and there was nothing they could do. I travel frequently and I'm so disappointed to be spoken down to because on this occasion I was only staying one night.
I did ask for a late check out to compensate for the spa and was told no. If I was able to I would've cancelled the room and went elsewhere.
There was no remote for the loungeroom TV and the couch was stained and worn- but otherwise room was okay. The lady in the front desk did tell us about the huge spa on the veranda- which turned out to be a bathtub spa with a slow leak. So we were unable to use either spa in the room.
Waste of time of a drive and lack of service which resulted in a not so great birthday experience. Absolutely no compassion, and not one apology- just kept talking about the other clients staying for two weeks. My business isn't worth less, because I'm staying one night. I'm local and book accommodation regularly.
Not good enough and I won't be booking again. Very disappointed

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 km away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
222 reviews
0.1 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
0.1 km away
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#4 of 56 in Port Douglas
496 reviews
0.5 km away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 56 in Port Douglas
1,334 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#5 of 56 in Port Douglas
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra in the Village

Address: Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $120 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra in the Village 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra in the Village offers a range of accommodation from hotel rooms to self-contained one and two bedroom suites, all rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and cable TV. Our one and two bedroom suites offer the extra convenience of kitchenette facilities as a private balcony complete with whirlpool spa. Featuring a large Roman-inspired pool and spa with mosaic tiling, cascading waterfalls and fountains set amongst tropical landscaped gardens. The resort offers complimentary parking, in-room internet connection and lift for easy access to the car park, rooms and apartments and street level. Port Douglas provides plenty of attractions and entertainment, including local markets on Sundays, the Marina Mirage complex with over 40 specialty shops, restaurants and galleries, and the famous Four Mile Beach. At Mantra in the Village you are perfectly located to explore everything Port Douglas has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra in the Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra In The Village Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra In The Village Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing