We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra in the Village
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The location is excellent. No more than a 10 minute walk to restaurants, pubs, marina, Coles, etc. We had a 2BR inter-connected room which was nice. The pool area was also nice with a free BBQ as an added touch. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful...when they were there.

There were however a couple downsides that would make me reconsider staying here again. The main one was the noise. We stayed on the Grant St side which was exceptionally noisy. We stayed for 10 nights and every day we were woken up by either the leaf blower at 7am, people on the street after the pubs closed or noisy neighbours upstairs (one night they were partying until 6am). The other downside was the staffing of the front desk. There was hardly ever anyone there. On 3 occasions the desk was unstaffed when we needed beach towels. I could see them behind the desk but couldn't get to them. If the desk is going to be unstaffed during the day then leave out a sufficient amount of beach towels. Or at least don't tease me by leaving them in sight but out of reach.

Other downsides - no dishwasher. I would trade the spa bath for a dishwasher. Had to pay for wi-fi.

Overall, I have stayed in better places in Port Douglas but none in a better location. If you prefer location then this place is perfect...just request an inside pool facing room. If you prefer a larger pool and peaceful then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Request inside pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Usaussie0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016

Boutique hotel in central Port Douglas with easy walk to everything. Lovely pool area. Room was clean and comfortable, small balcony. Others had larger suites with spa on balcony and sitting area. Parking undercover. Quiet and convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Great location but sadly our room was a tad run down. Both bathrooms unclean. Spa outside was great though. I think our room was cleaned in a rush and was a tad disappointed as its was expensive in school holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank staceyo826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This Mantra is in a great spot, however fairly basic in terms of 2 bedroom apartments. Our corner suite had a fairly small living space and pokey kitchen. Pool is sufficient but again very small.

If you stay here, make sure you request a room on the inside (facing the pool) Our room facing the street was VERY noisy. We were awake most nights with people yelling and carrying on outside in the early hours and the street sweeper/blower came through every morning at 7. The room only has louvers, so it felt as though it was in our room! Not restful at all. The other bedroom was sheltered and had a full glass door so that was fine. Also WiFi is not free - bit disappointing too.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jjackson72015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Location is fantastic! Many restaurants only a minute walk away. Double room with spa was very spacious & clean. Reception were very helpful.
Only bad thing would be that the rooms located around the stair well/elevator just reek of curry from the curry restaurants down stairs. Fortunately we were at the other end of the hotel so our room smelt fresh, however would be quite over powering if you were located in any of those rooms - so request a room away from the stair well if you can!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D3893LBdaniellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
530 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
248 reviews
1.6 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#14 of 42 in Port Douglas
907 reviews
2.1 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1 km away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 57 in Port Douglas
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra in the Village

Address: Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $99 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra in the Village 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra in the Village offers a range of accommodation from hotel rooms to self-contained one and two bedroom suites, all rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and cable TV. Our one and two bedroom suites offer the extra convenience of kitchenette facilities as a private balcony complete with whirlpool spa. Featuring a large Roman-inspired pool and spa with mosaic tiling, cascading waterfalls and fountains set amongst tropical landscaped gardens. The resort offers complimentary parking, in-room internet connection and lift for easy access to the car park, rooms and apartments and street level. Port Douglas provides plenty of attractions and entertainment, including local markets on Sundays, the Marina Mirage complex with over 40 specialty shops, restaurants and galleries, and the famous Four Mile Beach. At Mantra in the Village you are perfectly located to explore everything Port Douglas has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mantra, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra in the Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra In The Village Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra In The Village Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing