We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
AU$214
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
AU$235
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 June
Agoda.com
AU$235
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 June
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kirstyandsav
Gold Coast, Australia

Beautiful big rooms, but otherwise average

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jan 2024via mobile
Look, it’s okay. But it doesn’t suit our needs as a family and we won’t be back.

Firstly - the hard sell of the time share. The minute you check in, you’re invited to a glass of champagne and to “complete the check in process”. I have three young children in the car waiting, so I was able to use this as my excuse and bail out. Then every time I pop back to the counter it’s mentioned that I haven’t “had my glass of champagne and finished checking in”.

Management take note: People don’t want to be bothered with this on their holiday - for those that do, put a sign out and let them come to you! The facilities mind you, are just okay - so if I were to look into a time share - it wouldn’t be here.

The rooms to be fair, are spacious, well appointed, modern and appear freshly renovated. The beds are comfortable and there was a full kitchen and two full bathrooms in our apartment. All of the furnishings looked new and modern. There’s no balcony however, others have mentioned this, but also, no washing machine or dryer. So how do you dry wet pool towels / bathers? You can hang them on the inside line but they never dry, leaving you with constantly damp, soggy pool togs laying around.

I chose to do a nightly trek down to the onsite laundry and use the machines (for $10 a pop mind you) so that we would have dry togs/towels for the next day. Like again, it’s fine, but just another minor inconvenience that takes away from what should be a relaxing holiday.

The pool. The reason we booked this hotel. The pictures are very deceiving and make it look like a big long lazy river style pool. It’s not. And it’s much smaller than they make it seem, and with the dining tables on one side, and the pool chairs on the other, you very much feel like you’re fish in a fish bowl being watched constantly.

The partial “room service”… why bother? The housekeeping basically just come in, make your bed and leave. They don’t take any of the rubbish away, or clean anything / vacuum etc. It’s just odd.

Then the “beach access” which is just a path to a deserted neighbourhood street (and it’s a couple of blocks to the actual beach).

Overall, it’s not bad, but could be improved, and for us, we won’t be back. Pay a little more and stay somewhere else.

Side note: we found a cafe because of these reviews on the last day and it’s gorgeous. Do yourself a favour and head to St Crispins cafe, it’s so gorgeous and peaceful.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Check out St Crispin’s cafe. It’s gorgeous. And if you have kids, the Hartley’s Crocodile Tour...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hani Daher, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this review
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Sorry to read that the Ramada Port Douglas wasn't the destination for you.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review and comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
AU$202
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$204
  • Vio.com
    AU$187
  • Expedia.com
    AU$246
1.3 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$459
  • Priceline
    AU$415
  • Vio.com
    AU$368
  • Expedia.com
    AU$459
3.3 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Resort Entrance
Booking.com
AU$690
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$690
  • Vio.com
    AU$690
  • Agoda.com
    AU$690
3.1 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$498
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$498
  • Vio.com
    AU$467
  • Expedia.com
    AU$498
3.2 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$269
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
  • Vio.com
    AU$250
  • Trip.com
    AU$269
2.6 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$231
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$231
  • Hotels.com
    AU$231
  • Expedia.com
    AU$231
0.7 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Northwing Walkway
Sheraton.com
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Priceline
    AU$479
  • Expedia.com
    AU$479
  • Hotels.com
    AU$479
1.6 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$187
3.4 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$295
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$286
  • Expedia.com
    AU$295
3.4 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$238
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$227
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Port Douglas
Reviews (1,457)
Filter reviews
1,457 results
Traveller rating
551
556
225
73
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
551
556
225
73
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar pool area barramundi shuttle bus four mile beach hotel room minute drive town centre the main street rainforest port queensland tours units dishwasher
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,457 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2023

Hotel is so nice, I like the wooden pathways that leads to your hotel room and to the pool. Room is big and clean. The shutlle bus $10 round trip makes it easier to go to town. Bike are free to use so try to explore outside and come back in the hotel and eat ice cream.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1971RustyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hani Daher, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2023

We are very delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience.
We hope to see you return to Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Ramada resort for three nights. The rooms are built around a courtyard with lots of lush tropical plants, small rippling pools with fish, and a mid sized swimming pool. We ate at the restaurant every night and found the food and the service pretty good. It wasn’t haute cuisine with no pretension or aspiration to be anything but middle class tucker, but well prepared. Tables are well spaced in a semi open area. All the staff are very pleasant. Our room was airy and fairly large, but a bit dark given the trees and its position. Wi-Fi was a little slow but worked well. The resort is also close the famous beach.
My only gripes are as follows: there appeared to be only one lift and we had a long walk from the front door to its entrance. And then another long walk down the corridor to get to our room. I rang the resort to book our accommodation rather than booking online as I wanted to stress to the person I spoke to that my husband has a disability which renders walking difficult. This clearly fell on deaf ears.
Gripe #2: While you are there you will be approached by a very friendly woman who will offer you $100 plus dining discounts if you’d be willing to attend a 90 minute presentation designed to ‘publicize Wyndham resorts world wide.’ Naively I thought this was a pretty good deal, although I did wonder why such publicity would take so long. Long story short - this is a hard sell designed to promote time share properties at Wyndham resorts. Had the very nice woman mentioned ‘time share’ I would have refused. As it was it resulted in a lot of embarrassment and annoyance (from me) and very pissed off presenters because they obviously deduced I was there under false pretences. And they were right, as we have absolutely no interest in time share properties.
Having said all that we would go again. It’s just a really nice place.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hani Daher, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and comments.
We apologies for not meeting your expectations with your room allocation,
and that you did not find the presentation informative and helpful on how you could be
on a vacation with your family every year.
We hope to see you return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

When we arrived at 6.30pm we were offered a glass of champagne. It was a nice touch and exactly what we needed. Although as we were checking in, the lady then assisted someone else and the other receptionist suggested we come for our champagne tomorrow before we check out. A very weird start. When we got in the pool it was 7.30. We went to go to the swim up bar for a drink and there were two signs “Swim up Bar Hours - 12pm - Late” and another one next to it “Swim Up Bar Closed”. It was 7.30 on a Saturday night? The pool is open till 9? Then the kids were playing in the pool, and a staff member came up (I did get her name but I won’t publish it publicly) and quite rudely asked our boys to stop hitting the pool noodles in the water because people are trying to have their dinner. At 8.45 we asked to order a milkshake for the kids but we were told they had already cleaned the blades. When we got back to the room we went to eat some Thai that we ordered for dinner, but there were no forks in the drawer. We rang reception and we were asked if we could come and collect them as they were quite busy. The resort is great, they just need to improve some minor service issues. We only stayed for one night. Perhaps if we stayed for more it might have improved.

Room tip: Bike hire is great if you like your exercise. $5 an hour.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jetseta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hani Daher, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and comments.
Kindly accept my sincere and personal apology for the few hiccups during your recent stay with us.
I have shared with the relevant department for improvement.
We hope to see you return for a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2023

Our stay in this beautiful resort was amazing. All staff were kind friendly and helpful. Was an amazing place to relax and enjoy with great food and drinks. The beauty spa treatments were relaxing and left you feeling amazing.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rtrmhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hani Daher, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

We are very delighted to read that you had a memorable stay with us.
Hoping to see you return to Port Douglas and Ramada in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2023 via mobile

Room quality clean & to expected standard, good amenities, pleasant lagoon pool & plenty of options for sun/shade. Helpful front desk staff. More regular clearing of tables/pool area would have improved general appearance. Easy to access other attractions/operators via shuttle. Suitable for solo traveler (or couple/family).

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Juli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hani Daher, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and feedback.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to see you return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews