We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience at Lazy Lizard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good experience at Lazy Lizard”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here as part of our trip through OZ with my brother and his wife in two identical rooms. We elected to pay for a week, even though we only stayed for 6 nights since there was a "pay for 5 stay for 7" package deal.

The owner was a very friendly gentleman who seemed very knowledgeable about the area and different tour type things available. We really enjoyed the 'natural looking'; pool and made good use of the grill for cooking our dinner.

Easy walk to the beautiful beach, and a short drive to town for groceries, dinner, and our SCUBA/Snorkeling trips. Could also be done as a long walk if you have the time, but probably better to at least have hired bicycles nearby if you don't have a car.

The included kitchenette was fine for doing our own breaky.

The only negative here was that we found the cleaning was a little hit or miss, given that after a few days we noticed some fairly disgusting garbage from some previous occupants was under the bed. Other than that it was an excellent place to stay, and we would probably stay there again if we make another trip to the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alancurtis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
An apology to our guests! We were really disappointed our cleaning staff had missed this one, we have spoken to the team and emphasised the importance of keeping the standards high. Double checking is so important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    112
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
175
299
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a lovely time at the Lazy Lizard, it is located perfectly to town and the facilities and the owners are fantastic. They helped us line up our tour to the Great Barrier Reef and knew all the ins and outs of the area. Our stay couldnt have been better, Thank you Jim and Penny for a lovely stay. Arnold and Cecilia

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Agree with all the other 5 star reviews and comments. Stayed 4 nights and really wish we'd been able to stay longer. Great accommodation, great hosts, very fair price, loved the BBQ facility.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gullible88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A random choice at the time, this motel proved to be excellent. The units are clean, bright, spacious and comfortable, and each has well-equipped kitchenette and pleasant bathroom. Penny and Jim are superlative hosts, whose easy manner and friendliness come with a generous ability to make you feel at home. They organised our trips out to the reef and to Skyrail, putting all in place efficiently and smoothly. They take considerable thought and care without it ever seeming to be a chore, and enable you to have a very relaxing stay. Can thoroughly recommend this motel as a base for exploring the local area; it is conveniently situated for acess to the town by car and trip organisers will pick you up at the door. We stayed for three nights and found it to be very good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We had a lovely stay here. We came based on trip advisor ratings, and were not disappointed! Nice spacious rooms with a kitchenette, BBQ area if you want to do a meal outside, lovely pool area, value for money, and best of all - Penny and Jim are great hosts. They were very helpful with recommending tourist attractions etc. and really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. We would definitely stay here again and will be telling all our friends visiting the area to come here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.1 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
815 reviews
0.9 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
1.4 km away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
593 reviews
2.1 km away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): $106 - $189
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing