We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant evening cruise with crocs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady Douglas River Cruise

Lady Douglas River Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lady Douglas River Cruise is iconic in Port Douglas, successfully operating for over 27 years. The relaxing 1 1/2 hr cruise includes, crocodile and wildlife spotting in the wild, spectacular scenery, an informative and entertaining commentary and a complimentary beverage and nibbles. Voted the "Best Tour" award in Port Douglas in 2015. Departing from The Reef Marina, right in the heart of Port douglas. A must do for all visitors to Port Douglas. Very affordable.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening cruise with crocs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was a very pleasant couple of hours on an inland waterway cruise so nobody close-by being seasick! The folks who run the boat work hard to make sure everybody enjoys themselves and provide a very informative commentary. We saw 2 crocodiles and 2 sea eagles, and had a very relaxing cruise along with a few glasses of wine while looking for anything lurking in the mangroves. Good value and very enjoyable.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaside-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    126
    18
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Inlet cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had a great cruise on the Lady Douglas .. the husband & wife crew were very attentive, friendly and well informed about the life on the inlet inland from Port Douglas .. We saw crocodiles, saw a sea eagle and a Brahmah hawk feed and distant fruit bats on the way back amongst other things. Good value for money

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Nice way to see some crocodiles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We probably would not have done this if we knew that our tour to the Daintree included a crocodile cruise, but anyway, we did this first on the recommendation from our hotel. It's a nice paddle steamer but quite ordinary, doesn't go very far but you do get to see crocodiles and birds. Crowded with children and families with babies. Too much screaming.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ingiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Excellent value trip with complementary sparkling wine and beer. Saw a crocodile and sea eagles and a fabulous sunset. The female skipper and crew were very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expat in Baku
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We took a sunset cruise and really enjoyed the experience. The guide was very knowledgable and we saw two sea eagles and 2 crocodiles. The snacks were a little limited but to be honest not a big deal. Definitely value for money

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank PushkinExpatinBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lady Douglas River Cruise also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Lady Douglas River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing