We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset Cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady Douglas River Cruise

Lady Douglas River Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lady Douglas River Cruise is iconic in Port Douglas, successfully operating for over 27 years. The relaxing 1 1/2 hr cruise includes, crocodile and wildlife spotting in the wild, spectacular scenery, an informative and entertaining commentary and a complimentary beverage and nibbles. Voted the "Best Tour" award in Port Douglas in 2015. Departing from The Reef Marina, right in the heart of Port douglas. A must do for all visitors to Port Douglas. Very affordable.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Excellent value trip with complementary sparkling wine and beer. Saw a crocodile and sea eagles and a fabulous sunset. The female skipper and crew were very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    125
    18
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Expat in Baku
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We took a sunset cruise and really enjoyed the experience. The guide was very knowledgable and we saw two sea eagles and 2 crocodiles. The snacks were a little limited but to be honest not a big deal. Definitely value for money

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank PushkinExpatinBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

For $30, we thought that this trip was excellent value. Although it felt that the attempt to build up the 'chance' of seeing crocodiles was somewhat theatrical, the crew knew exactly where to find them and delivered 3 excellent sightings, including a large dominant male.

The excitement of seeing the crocs made the snacks and complimentary drink irrelevant.

The skipper also provided extensive information about the ecology of the mangrove swamps and reminded us that the crocs are not the only impressive feature of the cruise. The close viewing, description and feeding demonstration of a wild Brahimny Kite was spellbinding.

We would recommend this trip as equally worthwhile as travelling to the Daintree River (where there are actually fewer crocs/km that in Port Douglas)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip - great value and great way to see the crocs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This trip is great value for the $30 per adult charge. We had a lovely relaxing cruise down the river and enjoyed a glass of wine and some cheese and fruit as we went along. Jenny our skipper gave an entertaining and informative commentary as we cruised and Nikki made sure that we were all comfortable and served us the food and drinks. Both women were simply amazing at spotting the crocs lying in the mud and thanks to their efforts we saw 4 crocs in their natural habitat. It was money well spent and I recommend that you don't miss this trip if you visit Port Douglas.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank margm277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good short trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Informative trip with lovely hosts. Learnt more about the area. Good value for money. Keep it up!

Helpful?
Thank Hodderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lady Douglas River Cruise also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Lady Douglas River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing