We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect tropical getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Pool at Dusk
Al fresco Dining
Lounge & TV
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Douglas, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea G
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect tropical getaway!”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This property is huge, has every amenity you could possibly look for, and was immaculate! All the bedrooms are large with t.v's, en-suites and air-con. We spent most of our time in the stunning pool or relaxing with a vino on the top deck admiring the peaceful tropical views and wanted for nothing. Perfect for family's (pool toys and games were happily supplied) or 4 couples who would have plenty of privacy. We are already looking at when we can return! Thanks to Sharon, Grant and Lisa... until next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
We are so happy you had a real Tropical Getaway Andrea, you were brilliant guests and always welcome! The bedrooms and villa are so spacious its ideal for families or couples as you say. Glad you liked the tropical views also from the pool :) also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest6055...
1 review
“Perfect Private Sanctuary”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Everything you could need and more is available at Sanctuary at Thornton for a memorable holiday in Port Douglas
The villa is beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms and walk in robes to every room are fantastic. The gardens are lush and the view is beautiful. We made use of everything from the private pool, PlayStation, Foxtel, Wi-Fi, weber BBQ, the comfortable living and outdoor areas and fully equipped kitchen to having a TV in every bedroom and much more.
We hired a car and the villa provided easy access to the garage and a drive only a few minutes to Macrossan Street.
There is so much to do in Port Douglas. We went snorkelling at the low Isles, went to Cape Tribulation and Mossman Gorge, a cruise on the Lady Douglas, enjoyed many restaurants, walking along the beach and much more but the highlight was waking up and coming home to the beautiful Sanctuary at Thornton villa each day.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Sounds like you all had a great time in your very own sanctuary and around Port Douglas - so much to see and do! Glad our villa layout worked well, ensuites and TV's certainly make holidaying relaxing especially with kids! The pool and the lush gardens are so relaxing and perfect for those wanting a tropical oasis. We would love for you all to return one day to your very own Sanctuary / Villa - welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This holiday was made all that much better by having the opportunity to sway in this house. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms with an ensuite for each were fantastic .. No more waiting for a shower. My favourite thing of all was the coffee machine! Didn't have to fight a crowd to get a coffee each morning down the street! Also having the pool heated was well worth the money and we made very good use of it. I recommend this house to anyone wishing to have a luxury stay with a homelike comfort

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Juli, we are thrilled that you loved the Villa, the beds and the coffee machine!! Each bedroom with its own ensuite really is lovely when holidaying, making mornings quite peaceful and luxurious! The pool heating in the winter months is a good idea, we are delighted that your family enjoyed the pool and the Villa. We hope that you can return again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael95...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Large well equiped comfortable villa in ideal location”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

There were 7 of us staying here in an extended family group. Everyone had their own ensuite and walk in robes with ample space. Everything needed was provided including washing facilities, laundry, various outside entertaining areas. A weber BbQ was excellent and the beds were large, clean and comfortable. Fly wire screening enabled leaving the rooms open to the clean tropical air and rainforest ambiance. Secure double garage. Set in beautiful tropical gardens. It was all clean and new, tidy and ideal location, 30min walk from Port Douglas or a couple of minutes by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open areas where we could come together as a family but then the bedrooms were we were on our own. Perfect setting.
Liked least: Sand Flies!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely words Rachael. We are really pleased you enjoyed the Villa and that you made the most of the "tropical ambience".
Please come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K7006MNto...
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
“great time”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We found the house clean and fitted seven adults very comfortably. We had a great time especially in the pool. Definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
We are thrilled to hear you all loved Sanctuary at Thorntons! It certainly is very spacious and a great villa for entertaining. We would love you to stay again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing