We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Great Barrier Reef Liveaboard”
Review of Spirit of Freedom

Spirit of Freedom
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Spirit of Freedom is a luxury dive liveaboard that offers 3 nights, 4 nights or 7 nights trips to remote parts of the Great Barrier Reef - Ribbon reefs & Coral Sea.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Dove the 3-day Cod Hole trip and had a fantastic time! The crew is amazing and takes care of everything you need to enjoy yourself on this trip; at points you feel bad because they are doing *so* much to make sure you have the best experience possible! The dive sites are great and the crew does a great job trying to pair single divers up with similarly skilled buddies.

I hope to come back and do the 4-day Coral Sea with Spirit to complete the whole reef!

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"osprey reef"
in 24 reviews
"ribbon reefs"
in 15 reviews
"cod roe"
in 35 reviews
"lizard island"
in 30 reviews
"dive trip"
in 24 reviews
"dive sites"
in 23 reviews
"minke whales"
in 10 reviews
"shark feeding"
in 7 reviews
"chef sam"
in 5 reviews
"safety sausage"
in 4 reviews
"engine room"
in 5 reviews
"great diving"
in 11 reviews
"the great barrier reef"
in 33 reviews
"experienced divers"
in 11 reviews
"the ocean view room"
in 2 reviews
"extra assistance"
in 2 reviews
"larger than life"
in 2 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2018

Hi, I had a great time on the Spirit of Freedom, I am Dive Instructor and i have more than 5oo dives. I did the Great Barrier Reef/ Cod hole tour. The Food, dive sides, the boat are very very good! Everything is very very good! The onnly negative reason was, that I asked to do a one way dive with the sodiac and they said it is not possible because everyone wants to do it. So we did a normal boatdive. The dive sides are perfect in shape! No coral bleaching! The sides are simular to the red sea but the red sea is a bit nicer! So all in all it was very very good!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 762jrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Had a fabulous time on SOF - cod hole trip. The diving was amazing and so well organised, the food was incredible and the staff and service were excellent. 10/10 would dive again! The boat was super comfy, very clean, very organised. The hire gear was excellent, 3 divemasters in the water every dive, loads of marine life and corals to see, tons of 5 star food to eat (second breakfast was a bit of a highlight!), they take the photos so you can relax and dive if you want, the crew took fabulous care of some less experienced divers.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Nattl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We experienced an awesome time on SOF! The crew is phenomenal, the food delicious and the diving sensational (during the night dive we even saw hunting sharks)! Highly recommended!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank DarioA1493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

I spent 4 nights/4 days on SOF from the 12th of April to the 16th, it was such an amazing experience ! The boat is clean, organised. The dive sites were various and beautiful.

Tony, John, Carina, Sam, Ellis, Jared, Taku, Kris, Miranda, Antonia, I would like to thank you once again for your great work and professionalism.

If you expect quality AND quantity in themes of food, you won’t be disappointed (thanks Chef Sam !).

I’ll definitely be back, on a 7 days trip next time !

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank sol_neg139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit of Freedom also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Spirit of Freedom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing