We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent

I’m so glad we took this tour! The boat is really nice and the captain and her crew were great and... read more

Reviewed 24 January 2020
Eathereplease
,
Florida
via mobile
Half Day Snorkel / Dive Tour

Highlights Friendly crew Speedy boat Top snorkel equipment Snorkel tour Glass bottom boat Reef... read more

Reviewed 22 January 2020
TDL102
,
Minster on Sea, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 412 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cairns
from USD 122.01
More Info
from USD 138.36
More Info
from USD 73.36
More Info
from USD 79.03
More Info
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
378
27
1
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
378
27
1
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fast boat hastings reef fish snorkel tour smooth ride captain and crew smaller group take photos glass bottom boat board 2000hp instructions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2019

Went for a half day tour to Hastings reef with Skedaddle on Sunday 24 March 2019. As first time snorkeler's we were not very confident. The staff (Shaun, Archie, Em and Zen) were absolutely fabulous and made our experience awesome. I would recommend this activity very highly. The glass bottom boat tour included in this was very informative. The staff really know their stuff. Thank you to them for a great afternoon.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkedaddleCairns, Public Relations Manager at Skedaddle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Hi Cathy,

thank you for your great review. Especially as first time snorkeler it is important to have people around you who show and explain everything you need to feel safe and confident in the water. We are glad to hear you had a great day at Hastings Reef and you felt well looked after by our team.

Thanks again for your review!
Sending you warm wishes from Cairns,
Skedaddle team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2019

This is a great way to make it to the reef and back without tying up your whole day. The crew and boat are awesome! I would highly recommend the intro dive with this group as the best way to experience the reef.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank jeffreyf996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkedaddleCairns, Public Relations Manager at Skedaddle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Hi Jeffrey,

Thanks for your time reviewing your day with us. Our super-fast jet boat gives travellers the possibility to explore the beautiful outer Reef in a shorter period of time.

We're glad you had a great time and congratulations on your introductory dive.

Hopefully until next time!
Skedaddle team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2019 via mobile

I have been on many Reef visits over the years, but this trip was short on time. So we opted for the half day tour on jet boat.
Captain and crew all very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.
Equipment was clean and in good condition. Everyone got full length stinger suits which fit well.
Quick 50 min jet boat out. Snorkel tour showed us plenty of coral, amazing amount of fish and even a little reef shark hanging out down the bottom.
Plenty of free time to explore (2 hrs is plenty really).
Will certainly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Binbi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkedaddleCairns, Owner at Skedaddle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Thank you for taking time to review Skedaddle Outer Reef. Skedaddle is an amazing jet boat experience, enabling you to experience the Outer reef in Half a Day. Our experienced crew love to share there knowledge of the Great Barrier reef and marine life on to our passengers.
Enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2019

This is the reef tour to do. Great experience and fun.
The crew do a great job.
What I will say is, as they like to thump it on the way and even more so on the way back, if your older, not into a boat bouncing or get sea sick, don’t do this trip, we enjoyed it, wanted more but we had a couple that did nothing but complain.

The location of the reef they take you to is excellent.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JetVortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkedaddleCairns, Public Relations Manager at Skedaddle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Hello,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your day on the reef with us, despite the complaining couple.

We hope you can visit again soon!

Thanks again,

Skedaddle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019

Took this half day snorkeling tour when our cruise ship landed in Cairns. It left the berth at 1 pm amd we were back shortly after 4. There was just over 30 of us. Had some great instruction on both the boat safety and the snorkeling. This is a jet boat that took 45 minutes to get to Great Barrier Reef where others can take an hour and a half or three hours to get there. We went in March and we were provided with stinger suits because of the jellyfish threat. That was a nice touch and they were free (something we never got in the Caribbean). When we got there, half of us went snorkeling right away and half of us went on the glass bottom boat tour. Snorkeling was great with lots of narrative by the guide. Safety is a top concern for these guys as two people had to be rescued. One right off the back of the boat - employee had to dive in and bring him up and one that a rescue dinghy had to pick up a 100 ft or so off the boat. Were 6 or 7 employees for our group so lots of help and even took a young boy out with his parent and a guide. Great staff, great equipment , great boat. Best snorkeling experience we have had yet,

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank FrauMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkedaddleCairns, Public Relations Manager at Skedaddle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2019

Hello,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your day on the reef with us. You are right in mentioning our focus in safety; we make a special effort to make sure everyone feels safe and comfortable in the water, whilst providing great customer service.

We hope you can visit again soon!

Thanks again,

Skedaddle team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews