We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible end to a lovely evening”

Villa Romana Trattoria Cairns
Ranked #56 of 766 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$10 - AU$42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is the Cairns Italian restaurant, for lovers of fresh and fabulous Mediterranean cuisine. Traditional & innovative homestyle menu & daily specials board. “VILLA” as it’s known by the locals, delivers the freshest meats, seafoods & local produce, enjoyed by guests from around the world. Villa is Family owned and operated since 1999. Open 7 days a week, breakfast, lunch & dinner from 6.30am till late. Fantastic views, piazza style, this is the place to see and be seen in Cairns – you never know who you might meet!
Reviewed 10 October 2023 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here on Sunday night. Food delicious, staff very attentive. Went to pay the bill with a gift card and was told by the cashier that ‘he hadn’t got the patience to scratch the card to reveal the PIN’ so we would have to pay all the account with our normal debit card. We were shocked at such service as we have frequented this restaurant on many occasions. If staff haven’t got the patience to serve customers in a respectful manner, then they shouldn’t be working there. This episode and attitude spoiled our evening and we won’t be returning. The cashier in question was also rude to the paying customer ahead of me. I did mention this to the concierge as we left. Hopefully he spoke to the cashier so that he doesn’t spoil anyone else’s evening.

Date of visit: October 2023
1  Thank Travelwisetwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2023 via mobile

Only rated 1 star because I can’t do 0.

My partner and I lined up for about half an hour to then witness who I assume to be the manager come out. Two ladies with a teenager sweet talked the manager who then sent someone out to take them straight in. There were at least 10 tables ahead of the women who had just joined the queue and essentially flirted their way to a table. Left immediately after that. Not sure what the food is like, but not worth the wait when our time was clearly not valued.

Date of visit: October 2023
2  Thank Gemmaa_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023

We were starving after exploring the Mossman gorge and the Cairns night market on one sandwich. Chanced upon this restaurant. Glad we went in. Was extremely busy but the staff was proactive in getting things quickly. Didn’t have to wait long for anything! The food was beautiful, especially the vegetarian gnocchi, the spaghetti bolognese and all the desserts…(we ate a lot). Shall return!

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Supchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

The food was great and served in good portions. Overall, it is a little pricy, especially the desserts, but the service was nice and food tasted great.

I would recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

Fabulous. Fast friendly service and clearly the most popular restaurant along the Esplanade or perhaps in all of Cairns. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was heavily booked so we grabbed an early table at 5:00pm for a drink and dined without being rushed and left by 6:30pm. Open all day.

Date of visit: August 2023
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Villa Romana Trattoria Cairns also viewed

 

Been to Villa Romana Trattoria Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.