We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
So damn good

Little wonder these guys are so well regarded. The food , the dive sites, the safety culture, the... read more

Reviewed today
JennaLawso
A fabulous experience

The boat was very clean and spacious, the dive deck and gear was very well organised, the food was... read more

Reviewed 15 December 2020
468grahamej
Read all 403 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cairns
from USD 168.90
More Info
from USD 145.33
More Info
from USD 129.62
More Info
from USD 350.33
More Info
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
372
23
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
372
23
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minke whales coral sea cod roe lizard island shark feed spoil sport great barrier reef standard cabin restaurant quality strong winds night trip every meal great diving live aboard experience diving experience great trip well oiled machine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Amazing dive sites,Rediculous amount of food and quality of food,professional but fun crew,great work space for photography equipment with knowledgeable and helpful staff with s huge dive deck.
I’ve done the 4 night which was amazing with the shark dive,3 night dive sites amazing with the best night dive I’ve done,tons of giant Travelly and sharks.

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Colinmc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeBallDive, Marketing at Mike Ball Dive Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hi Colin,

Thanks for travelling again. Much appreciate your loyalty and happy to hear that we are able to top your last great experience.
Hope to see some of the pictures. If you use Instagram, please ensure you hashtag #mikeballdive #spoilsportlive

Tropical regards,

Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Absolutely amazing, great crew, very friendly and ready to help. My cabin was Club. Luckily, I didn't have to share with anyone, otherwise it would have been rather small. And the rest on the trip was top. Special thanks to the chef Katie, the food was fantastic!

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank tonya z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeBallDive, PA and Marketing at Mike Ball Dive Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Vlad,

Merci beaucoup for your positive review. It is the occasional luxury when travelling at this time of year that you can spread out on the boat even more. Though, don't we all spend hardly any time in our cabins? I hope so!

J'espère te revoir à bord!

Tropical regards,
Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is a once-in-a-lifetime sort of trip that I hope to do again one of these days. The crew was amazing, the boat was great and the diving was other-worldly. I did my advanced diving course on the trip and only regret not having done this years ago. If this trip isn't already on your bucket list, it most certainly should be.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ShariL970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeBallDive, PA and Marketing at Mike Ball Dive Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Shari,

thank you for your review. I love your description "other-worldly". I think it nails it! The Coral Sea just offers such a different experience.

Tropical regards,
Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We did the 3 night cod hole trip and it was absolutely amazing! Before we even booked or arrived, the email communication from Bre in the office was excellent and very helpful then the trip itself was second to none. The boat is good - we were in an internal cabin without windows but you’re in there so little of time, it didn’t bother us at all. You can always pay more for a better cabin if that’s important to you. We hired all our dive gear too and it was all good quality and everything we needed. The dive sites were amazing with some quite varied places and marine life. What really makes this trip extra special are the staff and crew. They are absolutely brilliant. Kerrin was our trip director on board and went over and above to make sure everything was the best it could be. I was quite nervous and worried about some aspects of the diving and he was quick to make sure I always had the support I needed. The dive briefs were always detailed and clear - and unmissable thanks to Kerrin’s ‘dive brief’ calls he seems to enjoy so much! Whether you are an experienced diver diving solo or with a buddy or someone who prefers to dive as part of a guided group, this trip caters for everyone. The other staff were excellent with their dive equipment preparation, always willing to help out or make sure everything was ok and completely brilliant! I’d particularly mention Ricardo too, who dived as a guide on our first dive and realising how nervous I was and my terror of sharks, helped me hugely with his support on the evening’s nightdive as he was so keen to help me and show me the sharks while keeping me reassured. It was probably my best experience on the trip and all thanks to Ric for encouraging and accompanying me into the water for the Gotham City night dive. There aren’t really any negatives ... the cabins can get a little damp but that’s to be expected really. It can be difficult to keep the water from the bathroom/shower from getting onto the cabin carpet outside the door so maybe a mat would help. Towels are changed daily and every effort to keep things dry is made. Also, despite the name and photos to advertise the trip, there don’t seem to be any of the truely huge potato cod left in the cod hole - still some impresssively large ones - and other good marine life - but I don’t think the massive ones are there anymore. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this trip - it was absolutely amazing in every way. Thank you very much!

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Pippa021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeBallDive, PA and Marketing at Mike Ball Dive Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Pippa,

thank you for your fabulous review. We have also received your email and would like to thank you for your appreciation and informative details on your experience. Its great to hear that our crew is doing a great job in addressing their tuition and expertise towards personal requirements of our guests. Especially when they stand out like Riccardo on your dive. I really hope you have lost your fear for sharks and will enjoy your future dives with sharks in all comfort.
Thank you for your suggestion on an improvement of our bathroom facilities. The floors in the shower should allow for good grip. But we will keep an eye out for this issue and see how we can improve.
The image I guess you refer to about the diver size potato cod was taken last year on the expedition. We frequently release our videos from the most recent expeditions on our website (section: Reef Reports) to demonstrate what to look forward to.

Thanks again for your fabulous review.
We look forward to welcoming you back on board in the future.

Kind regards,
Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

A really excellent trip, well organised, with great dives, food, and crew. Loved it! Would highly recommend it!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank MikeBlenkinsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeBallDive, Marketing at Mike Ball Dive Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank You so much for your review, Mike!

Much appreciated!

Kind regards,
Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews