We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarind, truly terrific”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 766 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$30 - AU$200
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The pinnacle of dining at The Reef Hotel Casino is the world renowned Tamarind Restaurant. With a coveted Chef Hat award and a recipient of the World Luxury Restaurant Awards continent winner for Fusion Cuisine in Australia and Oceania, Tamarind is celebrated as Cairns’ most awarded restaurant. Treasured by locals for special occasions, Tamarind is elegant and exceptional with its exquisite dishes handcrafted from the freshest local produce. The setting, a low-lit dining room with crisp white linen tablecloths, the gentle glow of light reflecting on the timber walls, creates a sophisticated, enchanting ambience for any evening celebration. Tamarind offer a delectable menu of ‘Australian Freestyle’ cuisine. The chefs embrace cooking styles and techniques from an array of cultures. This brigade de cuisine, with their passion for food, creates a culinary experience to savour. Changing seasonally to align with the season’s harvest, the menu at Tamarind boasts only the finest in local
Reviewed 14 June 2024

This is a popular restaurant and we had difficulty getting a booking but agreed to a late sitting. Decor is quietly elegant with warm colours. We chose the 2 course menu at $89. The scallops and quail entrees were delicious but on the tiny side. The piece de resistance was the baby barramundi with finger licking tamarind sauce. The eye fillet was tender and tasty. We are coming back next week, it was that good.

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Miki Cugini, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mirikie123, thank you for taking the time to leave us with a wonderful review.
The team and I are very happy to hear you have enjoyed food and that you will be back.

Kind Regards
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2024 via mobile

My wife and I always make a point of dining here every time we are in Cairns, however, after the quality of the dishes we had this visit, we will reassess where we will eat next visit.
The menu is a two or three course with choices within each, but both are rather on the pricier side. Disappointed.
Having said that, we love the atmosphere and the staff were as professional and helpful as they have always been.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Miki Cugini, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sear Schlepper1939,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a valuable feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and are sorry to hear about your recent experience. We'll take your comments on board and strive to improve.
The team and I hope to regain your trust on your next visit.
Sincerely
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

We stumbled upon this fabulous eatery while walking in downtown Cairns and decided to give it a try. We didn’t have a reservation but that wasn’t an issue, they accepted us right away. The steak rib eye and chicken fried rice and potatoes were amazing. The deserts were a work of art, the texture and taste were out of this world! A highly recommend Tamarind!

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank RJB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear RJB,

Thank you for the great review of our restaurant, we are glad you have enjoyed the food and service.
I will pass your comments to the team as I am sure they will be happy to hear.
We look forward serving you again soon.
Kind Regards
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

Unfortunately great expectations that didn’t deliver. Obviously understaffed for the night. Friendly but generally poor service by inexperienced staff. One waitress plonking dishes on table as she was so rushed. Scallop entree was cold. Whole fish was dry and generally lacking. Duck curry was ok. Steak dish was ok. Cheese platter was just awful. Worst cheese platter I’ve ever been served. It was like hide and seek finding any cheese. Over $500. Paid $200 more than worth. Average bistro quality at best.

Date of visit: March 2024
2  Thank FitzHour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear FitzHour,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize that your dining experience did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience caused by the service and quality of dishes you encountered during your visit.

We are truly disappointed to hear about the issues you faced with our service and food quality. Please know that this is not reflective of the standards we strive to uphold. We take your feedback seriously and will address these concerns with our team immediately to ensure that improvements are made in all aspects of our service and culinary offerings.
If you would be willing to provide further details about your experience, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we appreciate the opportunity to make things right.

Sincerely,
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO
miki.cugini@reefcasino.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we are in a different place.Good atmosphere and very friendly staff. The food had interesting flavors and presentation.
Will be back.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Voyage00931584905
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear Voyage,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are proud to hear you have enjoyed food, service and looking forward serving you again soon.

Kind Regards
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.