We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Valentine’s Day dinner”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 766 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$30 - AU$200
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The pinnacle of dining at The Reef Hotel Casino is the world renowned Tamarind Restaurant. With a coveted Chef Hat award and a recipient of the World Luxury Restaurant Awards continent winner for Fusion Cuisine in Australia and Oceania, Tamarind is celebrated as Cairns’ most awarded restaurant. Treasured by locals for special occasions, Tamarind is elegant and exceptional with its exquisite dishes handcrafted from the freshest local produce. The setting, a low-lit dining room with crisp white linen tablecloths, the gentle glow of light reflecting on the timber walls, creates a sophisticated, enchanting ambience for any evening celebration. Tamarind offer a delectable menu of ‘Australian Freestyle’ cuisine. The chefs embrace cooking styles and techniques from an array of cultures. This brigade de cuisine, with their passion for food, creates a culinary experience to savour. Changing seasonally to align with the season’s harvest, the menu at Tamarind boasts only the finest in local
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

Tamarind excelled itself again with a romantic Valentine’s Day dinner menu. Champagne and oysters on arrival, an entree smorgasbord, a great choice of mains and another smorgasbord of desserts made for a memorable night for two. My Penang Duck curry has to be Tamarind’s signature dish; rich and wonderful! Service was attentive without being intrusive, and the set price of $99 was excellent value for money. This has to be one of Cairns’ outstanding restaurants!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank LynR209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Dear Lyn,

Thank you for your glowing review! We're delighted to hear that you had a memorable Valentine's Day dinner with us. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the romantic atmosphere, the diverse menu offerings, and especially our Penang Duck curry. We're thrilled that you found our service attentive and the set price excellent value for money. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manger
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

If this review came down to a question of ‘….how good was the whole barramundi dish?…’ it’d probably be 5/5 ….or perhaps 4/5 given the occupational hazards of dissecting a boney but lovely fish yourselves!!

But this ‘special restaurant’ for Cairns was not a ‘special restaurant’ for us by a long shot. We felt we purely ticked the ‘fine dining box’, handed over the requisite cash, and left scratching our heads what on earth we’d done to deserve that!!!

On arrival, we were led to a completely dingy table at the back of the restaurant. We’d made a request in advance for a table with a nice outlook. Sure, not everyone gets their wish for good tables but there were several unoccupied at least ‘slightly’ nicer tables available than the one they tried to give us (that no one should be subjected to!) …..so we were granted one of those ‘slightly’ better tables but still expressed our displeasure about it all, and then a few minutes later we were moved to a window table after all - thank you!!

However, that satisfied feeling then fell through the floor again when a) an awful looking and soggy little pair of (supermarket packet!!!!) Melba toasts with lacklustre chicken liver pate on them arrived on the table as appetisers and b) the BOTTLE of bubbles that we ordered was poured as just two glasses from an already open bottle …. and then c) to add to the mess, the entrees landed on the table even before we’d had the chance to think about touching those soggy Melba toasts as we were occupied sorting the bottle vs glass issue. It felt like it was going to be a loooooooong evening in only the first 30 minutes!!!!!!

Essentially, for the price point, we couldn’t get excited about the dishes - taste, presentation, service or originality wise - other than that good ol’ whole Barra, that we had to pull to bits…..

So nothing much more to add here :(
Go somewhere else!!!!!! Tamarind has not grasped the concept of ‘fine dining’.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank LisaMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit to Tamarind. It's disheartening to hear that your dining experience did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.

We understand that booking last minute may limit the availability of preferred tables, and we regret that the initial seating arrangement did not align with your expectations. We appreciate your patience and cooperation as we worked to provide you with a more suitable table. Despite the initial challenges, we were pleased to accommodate your request for a better table with a nice outlook.

Your feedback regarding the appetizers and the handling of the sparkling wine has been duly noted. We apologize for any lapses in service and assure you that we will address these concerns with our team to ensure improvements are made. We would like to clarify that our standard practice is to open bottles of wine at the table and pour them in front of our guests for a more transparent and enjoyable experience. However, we regret any inconvenience caused during the handling of the sparkling wine and will take steps to prevent such occurrences in the future.

We genuinely value our guests, and it's disappointing to learn that we fell short of delivering the fine dining experience we strive for. Your feedback is crucial in helping us refine our services, and we appreciate your honesty.

If you would be open to discussing your experience further or if there is anything specific you would like us to address, please feel free to reach out to me. We would welcome the opportunity to make amends and regain your trust.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a more enjoyable dining experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
miki.cugini@reefcasino.com.au
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024 via mobile

Lovely, friendly service and a beautiful understated elegant dining room. Food was delicious and creative in taste and presentation.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Ninny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

Dear Ninny,

Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted you enjoyed our friendly service and creative food. We appreciate your support and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Ate there 3 times in 2018 and 2020 with good experiences. This review is for Christmas night 2023. 2 people had degustation menu and 1 had matching wines.

Lost 1 star for saltless and tasteless food. Dessert was too rich and too large.

Lost 1 star for being overpriced ($170 per person, $60 for matching wines per person).

Lost 1 star for lack of Christmas atmosphere and overly loud music.

Lost 1 star for unresponsive staff.

For a bill of ~$400 AUD for 2 people, we would not repeat or recommend the experience.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E4t3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Dear Eater,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback about your recent Christmas night experience at Tamarind. We genuinely appreciate your past visits and are grateful for your continued patronage.

We're disheartened to learn that your recent visit did not meet the high standards we aim to provide. We apologize for any disappointment caused by the taste and seasoning of the dishes, as well as the size and richness of the dessert. Your feedback regarding the pricing, Christmas atmosphere, and music volume is also valuable, and we are sorry to hear that these aspects did not contribute positively to your overall experience.

We understand your concerns about the cost, and we want to assure you that we regularly review our pricing to ensure it reflects the quality and value we strive to provide. We will also address the issues you raised about the atmosphere and staff responsiveness to improve future experiences.

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your feedback further and learn more about your specific concerns. If you are open to it, please reach out to me ( miki.cugini@reefcasino.com.au). We value your honest input and would like the chance to make amends.

Once again, we apologize for falling short of your expectations, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tamarind for a much-improved experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024

Amazing set menu package delivered excellent value and full flavour - great service too, we will definitely be back soon

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Reynolds, General Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Dear Modavep,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our set menu package, found it to be excellent value, and appreciated the full flavors. It's fantastic to know that the service met your expectations as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and providing you with another delightful dining experience.

Sincerely,
Miki Cugini
Food and Beverage Manager
PULLMAN REEF HOTEL CASINO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.